We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit this zoo!!”
Review of Lisbon Zoo

Lisbon Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.31*
and up
Lisbon Zoo Entrance Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #26 of 425 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LISBON ZOO – GO AROUND THE WORLD IN JUST ONE DAY At Lisbon Zoo, we invite you to travel around the world without leaving Lisbon. Find the Sumatran Tigers in the dense vegetation of the Rainforest, observe lions, giraffes and elephants behaviour at the dry African Savannah and dazzle with the majestic flight of the colourful birds of South America. Our mission is to develop and promote a zoological and botanical park, as a centre of conservation, reproduction and reintroduction of endangered species, through scientific investigation and environmental enrichment programs. Along with education is a strong entertainment component that will ensure a great family time, always with the conviction that when visiting Lisbon Zoo you’re contributing to this great project of conservations of endangered species and their habitats.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Visit this zoo!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I took 2 children ages 11 and 12 to this zoo and we all had the most wonderful day. The animals were all out and about and so we were able to see and take great photos of almost every animal. The cable car is a must but be warned it is not for the faint-hearted as it travels over the lions cage that has no roof! This was thrilling for us as we were traveling over it at feeding time....The cable car compartment is small and you stand up for a very long ride so it is recommended not to squish in as many people as possible which we did! The zoo is well maintained and we found staff friendly and helpful. The dolphin show of course is wonderful and we also enjoyed the sea lion feeding time. The added bonus is with your ticket you can get a stamp to leave the zoo for lunch or coffee just outside the gate where there are countless cafes to choose from. This meant we could enjoy a total 7 hours at the zoo easily and take our time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank zecc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,687
    912
    226
    57
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“zooprak”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Visited with family Lisbon Zoo. It was interesting. Animals fed, well-groomed. Particularly impressed by cable car, when the whole zoo with obitatetelyami can be seen from above, and to the beasts you smoltryat below. And it seems that carnivorous predators Ulubaev. Unexpectedly came upon a pet cemetery. This is - surprise! Right "Pet Cemetery". In general, zooprak liked. I recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KIAMIL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I really had higher expectations from this Zoo... There were parts under constructions so we couldn't go close to some of the animals. Also, the habitats for many of the animals were very small and looked neglected. For example, the grass was very dry, some of the animals that needed to be by the water had a small little muddy puddle... also, some of the animals looked too thin. The zoo was very empty when we went and I asked one of the ladies if this is was normal and she said yes. Unless you have plenty of extra time in Lisbon or don't know of another zoo that you can visit later, I suggest spending your time doing something else fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tarams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I've seen better...”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Lisbon ZOO is a nice place in the middle of Lisbon.

There are some highlights, such as lion family (little cubs are the cutest things I've seen in a while), elephants are nice and the primate area is also worth visiting (my kids loved the gorillas and the orangutans). The rest of the ZOO seems a bit shabby. There were renovations going on at the time of our visit, so it might have had a negative effect. We appreciated that food and beverages are reasonably priced and the fact that there are quite a few eating option in front of the ZOO (including McDonalds). The fee for the ZOO seems a bit too pricey.

What makes this ZOO stand out is the funicular - it offers a different view on the ZOO, my kids certainly enjoyed it.

My final verdict is: if you are in Lisobn, it's worth visiting it, but don't expect too much. We've visited Bioparc in Valencia in May and it's miles ahead from the one in Lisbon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ajetamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for the kids”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Clean, well run, fun, animals well looked after. Medium sized zoo. We returned after having visited before.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angelique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisbon Zoo also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Lisbon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing