We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Day at the Zoo - Lisbon”
Review of Lisbon Zoo

Lisbon Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.37*
and up
Lisbon Zoo Entrance Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #25 of 422 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LISBON ZOO – GO AROUND THE WORLD IN JUST ONE DAY At Lisbon Zoo, we invite you to travel around the world without leaving Lisbon. Find the Sumatran Tigers in the dense vegetation of the Rainforest, observe lions, giraffes and elephants behaviour at the dry African Savannah and dazzle with the majestic flight of the colourful birds of South America. Our mission is to develop and promote a zoological and botanical park, as a centre of conservation, reproduction and reintroduction of endangered species, through scientific investigation and environmental enrichment programs. Along with education is a strong entertainment component that will ensure a great family time, always with the conviction that when visiting Lisbon Zoo you’re contributing to this great project of conservations of endangered species and their habitats.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A Day at the Zoo - Lisbon”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A trip to Lisbon Zoo was fun for us all, three adults and two-year old Megan. We started with the train ride to get a feel for the site and later on my wife and I did the cable car ride over the zoo to see the enclosures from above. It was definitely worth the visit.
Trying to find a zoo car park was a nightmare however and improvements to access signage are needed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanMichaelWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,658
    900
    223
    55
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent Old-Fashioned Zoo, Good dolphin show”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice old school zoo with plenty of animals. Primate section seems to be the most modern. Bonus is that they have a dolphin and sea-lion show. Not as good as Valencia's zoo but if you like zoo's you'll like it, if you don't you won't

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyGNCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Good Conservation & Breeding Ideals.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Lisbon Zoo.
Despite the prospect of inclement weather we took the train from Estoril to Cais do Sodre and changed to the Metro to the Jardim Zoologico station. (1 change)!
As expected we encountered during the morning, light rain and sunny spells.
Over the years (too many to tell) we have visited zoos, good and bad in several parts of the world.
We enjoy good zoos, especially those that make a contribution to conservation, breeding and reintroduction. We hate small, smelly zoos that house and treat the animals badly in the interest of profit!
The Lisbon zoo, fortunately, falls into the first category and is excellent. We loved it.
At first we thought that the price of €14 each (seniors ticket) was a little high but soon realised that it was going to be worth every cent.
First of all, before you reach the ticket office there are many small cafes to assuage any thirst or hunger you may have. There are also some water features so that you can sit and drink your coffee whilst watching black swans and ducks.
Once inside of the park you soon realise that it is very well laid out. Being a city zoo, obviously space is at a premium. The layout is excellent making good use of what space there is. The exhibits are given the priority of what is available and, with the exception of one tiger, none of the animals seem cramped or at all distressed.
For the visitor it is easy to find your way around and follow the paths.
I won't go into details about the animals except to say that many had young which shows that they have a viable breeding programme.
For a morning or a little longer this is a good choice. Especially if you have children to entertain as there is a small train and an overhead cable car.
There are also a couple of small "watering holes" for humans dotted about on the way round.
Peter & Jean. :o)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PRO69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Short visit, saw most animals”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The dolphin show is great and overall the zoo is well-kept and pleasant.
Some animals don't seem happy. Lots of kids, but that's to be expected.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a funny experience”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

as soon as you overcome the shock of the wire wagons that fit two people standing above all the animals the overall experience is magic. you get to see everything from a close distance. Do not leave lisbon without seeing the Zoo!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank theobeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisbon Zoo also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Lisbon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing