We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice zoo, great dolphin attraction” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lisbon Zoo

Lisbon Zoo
Book In Advance
$33.90*
and up
Lisbon Zoo Entrance Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #24 of 407 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Lisbon Zoo features 2,000 animals and a dolphin show.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice zoo, great dolphin attraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The highlights of this zoo are the dolphin attraction which is a must see, and the cable car ride which is a nice way to have a first impression of the zoo.

The zoo itself is rather cramped with animals and small living spaces. It's clean and well managed but not that nice looking. Not a lot of information or interactivity. In itself its a nice visit, maybe a bit expensive because you can easely see everything between 1 to 2 hours.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank joostbevernage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,540
    826
    203
    51
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“See also how Dolphins peform under the water !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Unlike in Sandiego, here you can see how the Dolphins move around under the water giving excellent views. With one entry ticket of 16 Euros, you get entry to almost all attractions like Dolphin Show, Bird feeding, Cable Car etc., .. Value for money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bandaru75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Tour not to be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I recommend a visit a sunny day of spring. The Zoo of Lisbon is quite large and may take a whole day to visit him. It is advisable to plan the route in order to take advantage of the different attractions available and coordinate their schedules (dolphins, birds, sea lions feed, reptiles) beyond the Teleferico journey. A new zone of primates, after reconstruction, was quite beautiful and educational. For lunch there are plenty of restaurants with varied cuisines. The price of entering the zoo seems a bit exaggerated.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JoseGoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a fantastic day here with our 3 1/2 year old daughters. We first say the dolphin show, which was amazing, although very little is in English. We then explored the zoo, which was a good size for children of this age, I can imagine older children might find it a bit small. The cable car ride above it was great and a good way for toddlers to see a lot quickly. We also went on the little train ride which was a few euros extra and was good when our girls were getting tired of walking around. We had lunch in mcdonalds just outside the zoo but still in park settings. There was a crocodile in the pond next to it! The ticket price was reasonable for this type of attraction, what surprised us was how heavily sponsored everything was in the park. A lot of enclousures had a corporate sponsor and the dolphin show has the walls logo everywhere, but I guess there is less funding from government currently so this is the only way to keep the park affordable and viable. Doesn't really detract from the zoo and everything is very well maintained.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LMcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We came here on a sunny day in early Nov. and had a lovely time. The zoo is very big but extremely beautiful as well so you really feel like you're taking a long walk in the woods. There are many kinds of animals and they all seemed very happy and well taken care of. Take the cable car ride around to zoo - it's a lot of fun and the view from above is breathtaking. We were two adults and we really enjoyed ourselves and this really is the kind of zoo that's enjoyable at every age.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LB294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisbon Zoo also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Lisbon Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing