We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All oceans in one Building”

Aquario Vasco da Gama
Ranked #53 of 426 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“All oceans in one Building”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

You can make a trip trough all oceans and seas of the planet. And kids can experience sleeping with the sharks :) outside the Tank of course. unforgettable experience

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    244
    97
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This is NOT the Oceanario”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I noticed many people reviewed this aquarium thinking it was the huge aquarium in Lissabon with the seaotters, the penguins, the huge tank with sharks etc. This is NOT that aquarium. It is named Oceanario de Lisboa and is on the other side of town!

Now, as for the REAL Aquario Vasco da Gama, it is a small public aquarium in Belem. It is by no means spectacular of breath-taking, but it actually still a good visit. The aquarium might be small, the 4 euro entrance fee is worth it. And you get a zoological museaum to go with it as well.

You can easily spend an hour or two watching the fishes, crabs, starfish and many other creatures in this aquarium. There are some really cool and bizar looking species, like slipper lobsters, toadfish and weevers. There is also an amfibian room which features many (rare) species of frogs and salamanders, mostly from the Iberian peninsula.

I am not rating this aquarium 5 stars though, and this is because there are also sea turtles and fur seals here, but they are kept in enclosures that are too crowded for them. The only downside to this otherwise great little aquarium

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank 121Ralph121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

It is an exotic and nice place to visit when you come down to Lisbon. I was truly inspired by the name Vasco da Gama. The collection of fishes was great and I loved the aquarium so much. I myself have more collections of tropical golden fish and Morph varieties. I was so thrilled to check this place out as it had great collection of aquariums and rare fishes. My kid enjoyed this place very much and we took lots of photos. I will again visit this place with my kid next summer to enjoy the place. It is now close to my heart in Lisbon. The area was cleanly maintained.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joyce0R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia, Spain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Worth The Visit”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Have been here before and thoroughly enjoyed our vist. An amazing circular aquarium and a delight to walk around and watch the fishes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Tallbear55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful and perfect for a rainy day in Lisbon”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We spent hours there and we don't even have small kids anymore. But adult parents and a teenager had a wonderful time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquario Vasco da Gama also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Aquario Vasco da Gama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing