We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Instinctus Wine

Instinctus Wine
Ranked #1,209 of 4,047 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: European, Portuguese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Description: Lunch and Dinner - Wines Tasting Food and Wine Pairing only typical portuguese flavors. Booking request by email or phone.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Really lucky to stumble upon this terrific little wine bar. Good food and selection of Portugese wine. Friendly and efficient service make this a wine bar to remember!

Helpful?
2 Thank Billthornthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    30
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming gem, treat yourself!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

When strolling the lovely city of Lisbon, we stumbled upon this lovely wine bare. It's located in a very small street near the Catelo de Sao Jorge. Even in this time of the year, the owner invited us cheerfully. We kindly reclined as it was early in the morning, but came back the other day. And we are so glad we did! This is a hidden gem! The lovely owner is passionate about the wines, giving great advice without being pushy. As January/February is a very slow month, the menu was limited. We ordered white wine, some cheese with fig compote, and tapas. We got the sardines with tomatoes and the tuna with orange. To us, these combinations were new (we were expecting the 'usual' small sardines in tomato sauce) and we were absolutely pleasantly surprised!
We had a great time, very delicious Portugese style home made food, and some great tips to visit. So, when you are lucky to visit this beautiful city, we highly recommend Instinctus!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Travelled to Lisbon to celebrate New Year and chanced on this wine bar when wandering around the streets close to the Castelo de Sao Jorge on hogmany. Lovely food and wine in an intimate setting; wine bar for 8 / 10 people. As a party of four we felt very lucky to stop by when the only table for four was free! Lovely tapas style dishes were all very tasty, so much so we had to order more of them! We travelled up to the Castelo by tram for 5 euros for an all day ticket and as well as eating the "tasty" dishes we sampled some very excellent wine too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dratic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highlight of our day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stumbled upon this tiny little wine bar when wandering the idyllic streets of the Santa Cruz district. We were attracted by the beautiful guitar music coming from the inside, and although it was empty at the time, we wandered in and were given an amazing reception by the owner. What followed was a charming little lunch. The menu is not extensive because the main focus is Portuguese wine - and delicious wine it was too. But the food we had - bacalao and sardines - was just delicious and beautifully presented. When the owner prepared the food for us, it felt like we were in her home. We felt utterly cared for and the whole experience was like entering the embrace of a Portuguese family. It was, as a result, definitely the highlight of our day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicoDLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Enjoy local food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Like other reviewers, we stumbled across this tiny "hole in the wall" cafe while wandering around near the Castelo. It is tiny, but very well presented and run by a local woman who is very keen to promote traditional food and Portuguese wine.The simple tapas style dishes she prepared for us were very enjoyable and accompanied by an excellent wine of her recommendation. A couple of complementary port tastings rounded out the meal nicely.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sangio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Instinctus Wine also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Instinctus Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing