We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Museu de Marinha
from $23.00
More Info
from $10.50
More Info
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveler rating
194
175
52
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
175
52
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maritime history royal barges ship models on display great museum life size modern times large museum museum takes chronological order jeronimos monastery worth a visit portuguese explorers interesting place belem area lisboa card boats
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I don't like boats but I was impressed by the historical info I got in the museum. It is very interesting to visit such place and learn more about Portugals history.

Thank 60vladimirv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really nice museum is one wing of what was Monastery of St. Jerónimos, in Belém. It is organized in chronological order and I think it would have things to appeal to a broad audience. I particularly liked the globes and maps. I also enjoyed the Royal barges at the end of the museum. On the way out there is the gift shop, big surprise, and a nice cafe where you can sit and look out towards the water.

1  Thank txtfa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On the waterfront of Lisbon sits a museum dedicated to the ships that once ruled the Seven Seas. Of course in the 8th century, perhaps only 3 were known at the time. You can see miniature and full scale size ships across time. Ask for Wi-Fi before starting the tour if you're on social media. Great for kids young and old.

Thank gregoryp652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped in here for about 2 hours since we didn't want to wait in line at Jeronimos Monastery. I'm glad we did. Lots of artifacts, maps, science/engineering-based information about the ocean conquests and history that Portugal has experienced. Lots of costumes, jewelry, and even a neat stateroom display. We really enjoyed it and felt the entrance fee was appropriate.

Thank Erin_leigh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

museum that goes on and on, room after room. All of the exhibits are well staged and presented. Only a few displays are poorly lit. Most displays also have excellent descriptions and explanations. Be sure to wander outside past the boats and into the adjoining gallery with the Royal Barge and aircraft.

1  Thank wwglobetrotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

This is an excellent museum. We gained a lot of information about the amazing Portugese navy as it progressed through the ages to the present time and left feeling very satisfied with the experience.

Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This museum really does bring the seafaring history of Portugal to life. It is laid out in chronological order. There are some brilliant ship models. The main part of the museum is housed in part of the monastery buildings, so that is interesting in itself. As you come to the rooms devoted to more modern times there is one room filled with some interesting paintings of boats. A corridor then joins up with the new hall which contains royal barges and other seafaring craft.We had a very interesting time there. You exit the hall into the cafe which then leads to a shop. We stopped for a coffee. I wish that I had planned to have lunch there as the food looked very appetising, especially a bean salad with cod.

Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

To be in Lisabona and not visit "Museu de Marihna"? You simply can't do that! And please, take your time! Don't hurry!

Thank Mihai_Petru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

There are two significant areas in this museum: an extensive display focusing on Portuguese discoveries in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries and - in an adjacent large hall - a collection of royal barges and many other interesting small ships, seaplanes and even a jet ski that travelled for 600 miles. The ship models are beautifully made.

Go to this museum if you would like to bone up on Vasco da Gama etc. but do not expect a comprehensive survey of Portugal's immense contribution to maritime history.
Add an extra blob if you have a special interest in the early modern world. Either way, it is so close to the Jeronimos monastery that you might as well take it in. They have a welcome cafe.

Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

This museum has very good displays showing the history of discovery voyages in Portugal's past and the ships that were used. Everything is clearly explained and illustrated. There is also a display of beautiful royal barges and the shop and cafeteria provide an excellent conclusion to the visit.

Thank susiedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews