We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Portuguese food, tapa style”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Petiscaria Ideal

Petiscaria Ideal
Reserve with
Petiscaria Ideal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #154 of 4,049 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous Portuguese food, tapa style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very creative way to serve Portuguese food - delicious, and service was fantastic. We liked it so much, we went back again before leaving Lisbon!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaskNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    92
    18
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food in non turist Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were referred to this small restaurant on a small street near the French Embassy near the Janelas Verdes area..A small eclectic restaurant simply decorated but do not let this fool you..
Petiscaria Ideal specializes in a Portuguese twist on Tapas. Basing there dishes on some famous traditional Portuguese dishes with modern twists and additions.
We shared one starter type dish as well as having two mains type dishes. Each dish was much larger than typical Tapas and all very delicious. We will definetley return

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PedrinhoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good, not as yummy as Taberna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We came here after having dinner at its sister restaurant, "Taberna Ideal" (same owner) a few nights earlier and were not as pleased with the food. The "tapas" are a bit small for the price. I understand that tapas are small, but they are usually priced lower as well, bc of the size. These tapas were each around 10 Euro! Taberna Ideal seemed like a much better value.

The food was pretty good. We got 4 tapas dishes and two were great and two were not too good. Stay away from the cuddle fish. The black pig stew with pepper something or other was great. The cod and potato dish was also good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelitis00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsofit
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Petiscaria Ideal a great little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Visiting in Lisbon for couple of days for business, my Portuguese friend took me last night to Petiscaria Ideal. This is a small and packed place, non-formal, with a family ambiance atmosphere.
The theme of the place is "sharing" (like the Spanish Tapas Bars) -- you share a table with other people, you share the plates with your friends. So I had a chance to taste 3 different dishes (enough for couple of people). The food is delicious. The staff is very friendly and out-going. Definitely not a place that the typical tourist will find on his own. Prices are more than reasonable (3 dishes and beers) - 30 Euro for both of us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meyrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Go with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The great thing about Trip Advisor is it helps you find some great restaurants, like Petiscaria Ideal when you are visiting a new place. The bad thing is everyone else can read the reviews and its tough to get into a well rated place for dinner.

This is a great place to go with a few friends and share some interesting and well prepared dishes. But there will be names on the list on the wall and you'll have to wait.

There are a few small tables for 4-6 and two long tables that seat around 16 people and its definitely a family style environment with people sitting right next to you. But this can be very nice as you can meet people a little and then go back to your own groups conversations. Or just focus on the people you are with.

The menu has some great choices and as a solo dinner I was only able to sample a few, which were great. I'd love to go here with a bigger group and be able to try a bigger range of the dishes. My neighbors dishes looked yummy.

Note that everything is Ala carte, even the bread and olives. So just recognize that if you want them you have to pay for them. A little strange to some of us, but that's they way they do it. its also a little strange that they wrap them with food wrap and have them on the table, a weird presentation of some nice olives. I think they could just ask you if you want them and bring them over.

Right next to Taberna Ideal, what looks like another great place to eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MackStWgns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petiscaria Ideal also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Petiscaria Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing