We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alojamento Local Santo Tirso
Ranked #205 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2013

steep stairs, friendly stuff, very central, small rooms, toilets outside the room, free water, free coffee, but very economically, it is at the central place, neat bus and metro stations, cheap cafes and restaurants nearby!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Brigitte U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 116 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfrend for 3 nights. The location was great in the middle of the city. Yes There were some steep stairs to get there, but the room was very clean, decent size with shower. The owner and receptionints are very friendly and helpful. Night was quiet that we had no problem to sleep. If we going to lisbon again, we gonna go back here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coyoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for a few days with friends while going to a football match, the staff were very friendly and the room was basic but we had a shower room and sink and had a communal toilet down the corridor which was kept very clean. The stairs to the rooms are quite steep and this place would be no good if you were immobile. The location is what this place is all about, we had views right across the Rossio Square and the tube station is 1 minute away. We walked around the place and found that we were really close to all Lisbon had to offer. If you like Indian food there is a nice restaurant 3 streets up on the right as you come out of the front door to the hotel. There is also a 24 hour reception so the rooms are safe to leave your belongings in.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but 44 looks over Rossio Square and it has it's own shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading some reviews of the place and for the very very cheap price it offers.. We have to climb sooooo many flights of stairs . There was no lift . The reception was very helpful , carried our luggage upstairs . the room was very clean but no hot water running in the bathroom. . Anyway we only stayed there for the night . The guy on the reception , both in the morning as well as the evening duty were both nice and very helpful except that the facility is really lacking . the location is good , it is near the metro and right across is a plaza. for kids on a strict budget this is good for just a day stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearl254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed two nights here and our host could not have been more obliging. Our room was small but clean and while the window opened onto a busy lane (Rua 1 December) it did not disturb us too much at night when we closed the roll down shutters. The price makes it a very reasonable option but you are still accorded privacy and security which are not often available at similar priced hostel style accommodation. The desk is manned 24/7 and you need to be buzzed into the entrance to the accommodation levels after coming in off the street in Rossio. This is very reassuring and did not pose a problem. The person on duty sees you alight the stairs and presses a button to release the lock.
There was a shower and wash basin in our room but the toilet was a shared one just a few metres away. There did not seem to be any peak hour problems and we hardly saw any other guests during our stay though other rooms were occupied. The landlord kindly allowed us to stow items in the fridge in a shared kitchen area and we could also have used the kettle there.
As others have mentioned, for convenience, the metro station is just in Rossio Square out the front of the building. You can therefore get there very conveniently from the airport with a single and simple change of line. It takes about 20 minutes to do this with decent connections. There is also a patisserie nearby which beats the original one in Belem for the most succulent custard tarts where we had breakfast for a very reasonable price and good service (Confeitaria Nacional in Praca Figuera 188).
We loved staying here for the convenience of walking as much around old Lisbon as was possible in the time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foreignforays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked a triple room with private bathroom and i have to say that for the price we got a good accommodation but the best value was the location, facing rossio, metro and bus station just in front of the hostel and the main attractions at walkable distance, except belem of course. keep in mind that you're joining an hostel, so basic accommodation but great and easy welcome, and a little smell on the room. don't choice it if hate stairs: the hostel is at 4th or 5th floor without elevator, but as all lisbon is.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lafedenelweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in different small hotels in the centre of Lisbon on our holiday, they both had very small rooms and were quite hot at night. This Pension was quite OK and the staff were friendly and helpful but the room was really small and had the bathroom behind a kind of glass partition - rather than a separate room. It was OK just for one night but I wouldn't want to stay there for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cz4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#155 of 255 in Lisbon
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#79 of 255 in Lisbon
2,066 reviews
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#135 of 255 in Lisbon
1,193 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alojamento Local Santo Tirso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alojamento Local Santo Tirso

Address: Praca Dom Pedro IV 18, Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal (Formerly Pensao Santo Tirso)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Hotel Class:2 star — Alojamento Local Santo Tirso 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Alojamento Local Santo Tirso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Santo Tirso Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing