We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best price, best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Ranked #66 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best price, best location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

+ Location next to Rossio square
+ Wi-fi
+ Price
+ Views from the room
+ Helpfull staff
+ Nice room and great sleep quality

- Nothing to claim, We enjoyed our time there!
- Deep stairs

I would definetly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juusofin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    219
    60
    4
    3
See reviews for
92
191
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Located close to the action
A very warm welcome with a glass of port and a nice chat with a nice man who can speak half a dozen of languages :)

Very clean room & towels
Shower & sink in the room with toiletries
Small TV
Nothing fancy but clean and practical

The breakfast was a nice surprise! Sunny breakfast room and a large, varied, continental breakfast.
Quiet city & view on a large place, yet again very quiet

I would recommend it without hesitation to anyone looking for a room in this price range

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGallerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

The entrance is not very prepossessing, but the rooms are clean and well equipped, the owner is extremely friendly and helpful and best of all the location could not be bettered - right in the heart of town, metres from the metro. Breakfast is good and included in the price, owner will happily look after your bags after checkout (not always true of budget places). Only slight negative is the wifi which although free seemed to struggle with demand at peak times and dropped out quite a bit.

Overall though, an extremely good value stay that is highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyGuano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014


This review is a bit late in coming, but this is the first opportunity I've had to write it.

I've stayed at this place twice now: by myself in October 2013 and, with my son, in December 2013, and when I next return to Lisbon, I'll likely stay there again.

What I liked most about this family-run pensao was, in fact, the family who runs it: very warm, very welcoming, and very accommodating.

This is an historical building, located in the older section of Lisbon, and, like many other historical buildings, has no elevator. (The information I myself received from the pensao clearly stated that there was no elevator. I think at least one of the booking agencies also mentions this as well, so people who book at the Figueira, then arrive with huge amounts of luggage and start whining about the place having no elevator warrant very little sympathy.)

The building is also very secure, being locked from what seems dusk to dawn. Security cameras ensure that only registered guests (and the pensao's employees) who upon pressing the buzzer are allowed in.

The rooms I had were spacious, clean and comfortable. The TV had about six channels, all in Portuguese, but that was of minor consequence because if I wanted a news update, I could simply access the pensao's free WiFi service and check out the news on my iPod.

The location of this pensao couldn't be better. It's right on the perimeter of Praca da Figueira, close to buses, subway, trams, taxis and cafés. It's also within very easy walking distance of several major tourist attractions. And, it's very close to the airport bus stop.

When I stayed there in October, there was no breakfast option, but that wasn't a problem as there were several nearby pastelarias.

By the time I returned in December, the pensao was being renovated and a breakfast option had been introduced.

To the extent possible, the staff answered most of my 'touristy' questions. I think it would be unreasonable to expect them to answer every possible question a tourist might have, particularly given that there is a tourism bureau less than a 5-minute walk away.

Special praise to the young woman (with the little daughter) who mans the front desk mostly during 'off hours' - great smile and very helpful indeed! (Sorry, I don't think I ever caught her name.)

Would I recommend this place? Without a doubt!



  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank starlightShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
696 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The beat thing about the place is the location, you cant ask gor a better placed hotel, the prices were not that out of budget and it included breakfast, that while it was average, still was abundant.

We tiok a toom with shower only and jt had a balcony to the plaza, it was veeery small but fair for what wr paid.

Staff is very helpful and fiendly!

Helpful?
2 Thank DonCesar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lawrence Kansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Pensao Praca da Figueira is ideally located at the heart of Old Lisbon, and is convenient to many popular sites, and is a short walk to the Lisbon Metro station Rossio. There is a market just down on the Praca, and there are a number of very reasonably priced cafes in the immediate vicinity.

We initially had some difficulty finding the property to check in. There was seemingly nothing on the street that remotely resembled the pictures on the hotel web site. When we did find the entrance, it was in an unkempt area, with plenty of graffiti. I am providing a photo of the street level entrance.

We were initially very uneasy with the property, however, once we made it to the front desk, we found the pensao to be delightful.

The entrance to the pensao is on the second floor, and is secured behind a locked door which is controlled by staff 24/7.

Upon arrival, we were immediately made to feel welcome, and were shown to a small but well cleaned room which appeared to have been recently painted. The room had a great view, looking out over the Praca da Figueira. Our room even had a small refrigerator. [Having cold beer in your room is quite a treat in warmer climates!!!] There were no coffee/tea facilities, in the room, however, none had been advertised. The complimentary wi-fi worked well. There were no english speaking television channels.

The staff at the facility was friendly, cheerful, and helpful. I could not have asked for a more pleasant group of people to be working with.

Of interest to travelers with mobility difficulties is that the pensao is on the second floor; and there is no elevator. Also, the shower requires quite a large step to get into.

We found this establishment to be delightful, and would favorably recommend it to the frugal traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Praca da Figueira
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillLawrenceKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#132 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Residencial Florescente
Residencial Florescente
#85 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#145 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#76 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#59 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Praca da Figueira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Praca da Figueira

Property: Pensao Praca da Figueira
Address: Travessa Nova de Sao Domingos 9 3 | Baixa, Lisbon 1100-372, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#56 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pensao Praca da Figueira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Praca Da Figueira Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Praca Da Figueira Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing