We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Ranked #66 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed there in August 2011. Location is just perfect, right in the city center, near metro, tram and Bus Turistico stations, overlooking a nice square full of shops and cafes. The place looked recently renovated and offered lot more than a usual Portuguese pensao does. Very clean, nice rooms, bright comfortable bathrooms, lovely view. The square is a bit noisy, however, the windows are well isolated. Aircondition was in a perfect shape too. If you want to experience Lisbon on foot, this is your place - really close to Bairo Alto, Baixa, Chiado, Sao Jorje Caste, Praca do Commercio, etc. Last but not least, prices were really worthy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elias11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    219
    60
    4
    3
See reviews for
92
191
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This place was everything that we needed for a four night stay. The ensuite shower was great and the room was clean and airy. The toilets in the hall were also spotless. The air-conditioning worked a treat and the management was most helpful. I do not know why people are mentioning it is dangerous and the like-no one offered us drugs near the hotel entrance (maybe we look too 'straight') and there always seemed to be a policeman on the steps leading up to the reception area making any type of criminality difficult. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING GOOD ABOUT THIS PENSAO!!!! BEWARE OF THIS PLACE!!!

The only good thing was the location being convenient.. right in the middle of the city and close to the metro.. however the actual street of the entrance to the Pensao was shady, to say the least... people constantly offering drugs right outside the entrance.
-In room shower leaked.. before i realized it, my bags were soaked!
-The Air Conditioner had a pipe that dripped into the shower and made a loud dripping sound against the hollow shower bottom all night long! Reminiscent of Chinese water torture. The air conditioner also made a horrible clicking sound all night.
-Beds were small and uncomfortable.
-Room & hotel smelled like mildew.
-No safe, and door had a meager lock - did not feel safe leaving anything important in the room.
-Incredibly loud street - single pain windows, could hear a coin drop outside. Could her people talking and we were on the 3rd floor! (no elevator by the way).
-Drug dealers tried to sell us drugs pretty much every time we entered/left the Pensao right in front!
-We had a guy follow us up the stairs to the entrance and try to get us to let him in... obviously he wasnt staying there!
-The Pensao shares the building with some other apartments or offices - there were constantly shady characters roaming the stairs and hallways - you know, the crackhead looking type.
-We were so uncomfortable staying there for more than one night, we decided to cancel our last 2 nights... we called booking.com to change our reservation.. they took care of it without issue (in fact they were incredibly nice and helpful - highly recommend booking with them!!!).. then the front desk called me down to "talk." They told us that we had "made a huge mistake, by not contacting them (the hotel) directly to change our reservation" ... that we "made a bad move" essentially it sounded like they were threatening us!! I could not believe how UN-professional that was!!! Not to mention unnerving!

BEWARE OF THIS PLACE!!!

There are regular hotels just around the corner for the same price and MUCH nicer!!! we ended up moving to Turim Suisso Atlântico in a double upgraded room for the same price in a really really nice room (with its own bathroom) in a normal, very modern hotel!! Even had a bar with free Fado music every night! it was only $80 per night.

STAY AWAY FROM PENSAO DA FIGUEIRA!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else! No room is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldTraveler_CA1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I was really happy about this hotel, located right in the city centre. I actually stayed there twice - at the beginning and at the end of my trip. The rooms are perfectly clean, and shared bathroom are even cleaner. It looks more like a big apartment than a hotel, which makes you feel like home. Location is great, the first time my room had a great view on the square, it was a bit noisy during the time, but the view was so great I really didn't mind . Staff was always helpful and spoke very good english. Breakfast is not included, but there are so many cafes aroud it is really not necessary. For the price you pay, I really think you cannot get any better!

Room Tip: ask for a room with view on the square, if you get 4th floor you will also have a small balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HekeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Airport bus or even 745 and 44 to Rossio Square next door. 15E to Congress Center, 28E to Alfama/Castello, plus Lisbon is a walking town. No elevator and alley can be noisy, but overall clean and pleasant with good common areas, Wifi weakish upstairs but adequate

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimCCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Good things:
• Great location – right in the middle of things! Everything is within a short walking distance. This is the hotels greatest asset.
• Lots of cafes and restaurants in the immediate area.
• The rooms overlooking the square have incredible views on life in Lisbon.
• A hop-on/hop-off bus stops almost right in front of the hotel.
• The common toilet on my floor was kept clean.
• The girls manning the front desk were always helpful.
• They have different categories of rooms: a conventional hotel room with a full bathroom, and another type of room with only a sink & shower (toilet in common area). It’s nice to have an option a grade up from a hostel, but not pay for a full hotel room.
• Free WIFI internet – and it worked great!

Bad things:
• You need to talk up 3-4 flights to your room – ugh! And these are tall steps because the building has tall ceilings.
• My room was tiny with only 1-3 feet walking area around the bed – literally.
• The hot water is mostly non-existent. I stayed there five days and got hot water only in two-minute increments (and I had to wait 5-10 minutes before getting anymore). I reported this issue several times to the front desk, and the owner was in my room one time for 15 minutes trying to fix it, but he was unsuccessful. The floor I was staying on uses an electric insta-hot water heater and it kept tripping off for some reason. I learned to take really, really quick showers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSTgst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I was very plesant with this "Pension", I can say it's more an "hotel " than "pension", the sataff was perfect, the rooms very very nice and clean, the WI-FI it's good to, and the situations perfect, excelent place to stay, I will be back again, thanks to every body.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivisou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#132 of 247 in Lisbon
517 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Residencial Florescente
Residencial Florescente
#85 of 247 in Lisbon
1,454 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#145 of 247 in Lisbon
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#59 of 247 in Lisbon
1,368 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Portuense
Hotel Portuense
#138 of 247 in Lisbon
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Praca da Figueira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Praca da Figueira

Property: Pensao Praca da Figueira
Address: Travessa Nova de Sao Domingos 9 3 | Baixa, Lisbon 1100-372, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#56 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Pensao Praca da Figueira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Praca Da Figueira Hotel Lisbon
Pensao Praca Da Figueira Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing