We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy & Best Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #41 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Trendy & Best Location”
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We booked this hotel from the reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed with our choice. The hotel is in the historic part of the city and even though the building is old, the inside of the hotel is not. Matter of fact the hotel is quite trendy. Our room was extremely modern, comfortable and quiet. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the square and walking street. The staff was very friendly and helpful with helping us enjoy the sites. We suggest to take Tram # 28 to get a great view of all the different areas of the city. The location of the hotel also made it easy to walk the city. It is a 10-15 minute walk to the water. The metro is a block away and it is easy to get to other parts of the city. One day there was music and dancers in the square near our hotel which we enjoyed. The breakfast was delicious. You can order a hot breakfast and still enjoy all the bread, meat, cheeses, cereal, yogurt and desserts. No need for lunch after this breakfast. When we return to Lisbon there is no doubt what hotel we will be staying at, The Internacional Design.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    447
    70
    20
    9
See reviews for
154
899
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

The location of this hotel is great - it's right by Rossio and an easy walk to most parts of town. There are also lots of restaurants/cafes etc. nearby. Staff at reception were incredibly friendly and helpful, and spoke brilliant English. They made sure I had everything I needed and really made my short stay completely hassle free as well as offering good advice on places to eat etc. The rooms themselves are themed, and I ended up in a Tribal room. I was initially a bit sceptical, as theme rooms can be badly done, but actually it was subtly decorated. Although not huge, the room was well designed and very comfortable. It had decent storage, a desk area, well equipped bathroom with powerful shower, comfy bed and free wifi. I thought minibar and room service prices looked reasonable too, compared to other hotels I've stayed in in Europe. The breakfast room was really beautiful - light, spacious and very sleek design. Breakfast was included in my room rate (which was just over 80 Euros, a good deal!) and had a great selection of savoury food, pastries, juices, fruit, yoghurt etc. It was very pleasant to look out over the square while enjoying breakfast.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who like stylish rooms with a modern feel in a central (can be a little bit noisy) location. I will definitely stay again on my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HattieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Everyone working there we encountered was friendly and helpful. The hotel is (as you'd expect) beautifully designed - the different designs on different floors thing is a fun idea and we chose an Urban room to stay in, which had graffiti artwork, beautifully soft grey walls and a bright orange bathroom, complete with orange loo roll!

The bar/breakfast area is beautiful and breakfast was a nice buffet - various pastries, cold meats, cheeses, quiche etc with hot dishes made to order. We had a drink in the bar one night (which was pricey) and it had a nice vibe but didn't get very busy.

The free wi-fi was a nice touch, most hotels seem to charge for it.

The location is great as well, right on the Rossio and Lisbon is so small you can pretty much walk anywhere from there - over to Alfama, up to Bairro Alto etc.

Great hotel, and we'll definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLondon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I have just returned from 5 nights at the Internacional Design hotel which i booked soley on the positive reviews on trip Advisor. I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is very central (on a narrow road between two large squares), very well designed - lots of artwork and soft lighting, all very clean and modern. We were on the Zen floor and our room, although hsmall, was perfectly adequate and had everything we needed. My only complaint was that there was no shelving in the bathroom and we ended up putting our things on the floor. our room faced the square at the front of teh hotel and after the first night we changed to a quiter room at the side of the building because I found the traffic noise kept me awake. There was no problem with us changing rooms, in fact, the hotel staff were always friendly and polite and spoke perfect English. Breakfast was included in our price and was excellent - plenty of choice, really good coffee (something many hotels can't seem to do well) and we really loved the mini custard tarts. The breakfast room is light and airy with lovely views towards the square.
From Lisbon airport an airport shuttle bus costs 3 euros 50, on the way back to the airport there was no bus due to the Pope's visit and a taxi cost us less than 10 euros.
I recommend this hotel for its convenient location, relaxed atmosphere and tasteful design. It is a 4 star hotel with 4 star facilities.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

The hotel has different kind of rooms in various sizes, depending on your budget. The rooms are beautiful, clean and practical. They are equipped with Wi-fi and come at an affordable price. Booking online even allows for substantial savings. The staff is very friendly, fluent in English and offer outstanding service. The hotel is located right in the city centre and is therefore ideal for exploring the city by foot. This is a five-star hotel at the price of a four- or even three-star.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Great value. Cool with the different themes. Also helful staff and great location in the heart of the city centre. I really liked it. If you can afford it (a bit expensive if you want to spend your money on something else than your hotel stay...not too expensive, but above average I would reckon...) try it:)

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbe1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights for hubby's 55th birthday. Loved the hotel one of the best city hotels we have stayed in. We had a ZEN room with balcony overlooking the rua and could see the praca Rossio and the Arco da Rua Augusta from it. The bar and dining room have a lovely atmosphere. As said before it is so close to all the sights.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cityrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
1,493 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
750 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 247 in Lisbon
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
587 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#21 of 247 in Lisbon
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#36 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing