We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel! Perfect location :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #41 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel! Perfect location :)”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely long weekend in Lisbon. This hotel is great - perfect location within walking distance to the castle and cathedral. A taxi to Belem only cost us 7 euros! So would def recommend for short trips where you want to do lots of sightseeing. One tip - I didn't realise how hilly & cobbly lisbon is so wear sensible shoes!

The hotel itself is very modern and clean. The bar was quite quiet but they do amazing cocktails (especially the piña colada!). We even got to try some local port for free!

Can't fault the staff at all. They were all so friendly & helpful with restaurant recommendations & directions.

The one negative I would say but I think this is because I'm a light sleeper - as you're practically on Rossia Square it can be a little noisy at night with people coming in from nights out at 3:30am. Obviously there is very little the hotel can do about this but just thought I'd mention for the other light sleepers out there :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ptosh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    447
    70
    20
    9
See reviews for
154
899
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. It's a stylish little hotel, with friendly, multi-lingual staff. It's in a great location, close to bus and tram stops. The rooms are good sized with nice big beds!

Room Tip: Make sure to tell the staff if you're on your honeymoon. We got upgraded to an exterior view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location to visit Lisbon; you are located by the main square where you can easily catch tram 15 to Belem or 28 to the castle. Only negative remark, the architect preferred style to practicality. For instance: there are only 3 electricity sockets in the room and 2 are at the floor level, there is no lighting for the desk area (so you have to rely on light coming from outside), if you are at the desk the curtains must be open (so you loose privacy), in the bathroom you have two bath robes but 1 hook, there you find only 1 shelf where you can put your stuff of 30cms x 10cms (which they use for the 2 glasses). This is definitely not an hotel for business travelers but great for holiday makers. I liked the nespresso coffee machine in the room (superior with square view), but the view was just sideways to the square (I would update the hotel description on booking sites). Breakfast was great in terms of variety and quality (basically almost all was home made, liked particularly the fruit juices) and staff at the front desk was extremely helpful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catello L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We went there to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and I must say, it was a fantastic choice!!!
First of all, the staff was hyper helpful and professional!!! They knew it was our anniversary and we were treated on the highest possible level! We got a rooftop suite as we have a little daughter and we used the little coffee room as an extra bedroom for her.
The location can't be better! Its very close to lots of shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. everything was within walking distance so we barely used our car.
The room was super modern, new and very clean.
The prices of the hotels are 100% fair and you get what you are paying for or even more.
The design of the hotel is great, very clean, fresh and trendy.
The only suggestion for them would be to improve the quality of the food menu in the restaurant(very poor menu, below average salads and sandwidges) and play some music to create some atmosphere(2 out of 3 nights there was no music in a restaurant and it was a bit awkward)
To conclude, WE WILL DEF BE BACK!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohmyaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Gerente geral at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your friendly review of our hotel.
Our team’s goal is to provide our guests the best possible stay and I am glad we could make your wedding anniversary a memorable visit to the beautiful city of Lisbon.

Regarding the points you mentioned about the bar, we are working on it. In the last months we have been preparing a new menu and renovating the kitchen to open our new restaurant by end of May. Furthermore, we accepted your suggestion and increased our list with traditional portuguese food and drinks, while we don’t have the restaurant working 100%.
The music has been improved too.

I hope to welcome you again at Internacional Design Hotel in your next trip to Lisbon. Please don’t hesitate to contact us directly to plan your reservation. We will be more than happy to give you our best offer.

Kind regards,

Sara Freire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Internacional Design Hotel mainly because of the excellent location and the amazingly friendly and helpful staff.

We opted for a street view room on the third floor and are so pleased that we did. The view from our room was stunning over Rossio Square and the street leading down to Commercial Square. We loved the little balcony off the room which allowed us to see these views.

The hotel staff both on the front desk and in the bar were extremely helpful and had a vast amount of knowledge regarding the local area which although we had done our research really helped us.

The hotel décor may not be to everyone's' taste but it was very relaxing. It was a pleasure to return to our room as it was very well cleaned and always smelt so fresh. (It was a Zen room).

We were unlucky with the weather during our stay (heavy rain restricted our going out some evenings) but we enjoyed sitting in the bar with drinks and looking out of the windows at night time. The views were magical in each direction. One evening they opened the balcony doors in the bar and had a cellist playing. This was a wonderful touch and really added to the atmosphere inside and outside the hotel.

When we did venture out we were delighted that we were only 5 mins away from Chiado by foot. In fact, the hotel location was perfect for nearly all the places we wanted to see and visit.

There were some minor negatives regarding the design of the room such as that for a stay of our duration (6 nights) there was insufficient wardrobe/drawer space for the amount of clothing and belongings we had brought with us and the few shelves that were in the wardrobe were difficult to access because of the positioning of a bedside table.

The ensuite bathroom in our room was small with a sliding frosted door which didn't afford much privacy and there was a full length mirror on the bedroom wall almost opposite the bathroom door the reflection of which added to the lack of privacy. These design scenarios can arise anywhere and we have to say that the management has responded constructively to our feedback so please do not let this deter you, just be aware that even the best of places can have minor issues.

Having said that, we found the room to be very relaxing and the sleep quality 100%. Coupled with the perfect location and the amazing staff we would not hesitate to return to stay at the International Design Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

our first time stayed at this hotel , was bit dissapointed thats because they gave us a room which on the 2nd floor and it was very noise from out side resto n you can hear peoples talk , laughs n banging from out side .. the room was very small but very stylish deco n clean as well , perfect location. But still disturb us when we tried to sleep :( but we felt in love with the cleaness n perfect location .

second visit we were just surpise , we had the room on the 4th floor , very nice clean as always and most of it you have a litle balcon window so you can have alook out side.
breakfast was Fab nice yummy and if you like champange for breakfast ... they have it.. as well

would love to go back there as i miss early in the morning when you open the window , this mellow sad or happy traditional portugese song that the restaurant on the street play and i kind of like it hehehehe....

ohh forget to mention the amenities are just divine ,i asked the lady who clean our room for a new one , she come and gave me 2 botles of body lotion and i took them back home as a sauvenir , due to the smell of them ...

the only thing i miss is the pool.... wonder if they have pool on the roof top and it would be perfect

Room Tip: higher room on the 4th floor are just the best... dont stay on the 2nd floor too noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putra76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel was so modern and was in the perfect location. We had an interior garden room which was great. Very spacious and modern for a european hotel. The metro is a 5 minute walk and there are plenty of restaurants in the area. The morning breakfast was definitely worth the price and had everything you could want (eggs, bacon, cold meats, cheeses, yogurt, pastries, coffee, cappuccino, espresso, etc). The staff was friendly and gave us a great restaurant recommendation. At night we received a pastry or cookie delivered to our room. They even helped book our tours for us. We ended up staying an extra night and they checked on hotels.com to make sure they were giving us the best rate. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: They have rooms that face out on the plaza or interior rooms that have a window to the "garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJChelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
1,493 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
750 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 247 in Lisbon
2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
587 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#21 of 247 in Lisbon
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#36 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TravelUp, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing