We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice modern option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #39 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice modern option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a cute hotel with good staff and a great location. As others have noted, rooms are on the small side but we were upgraded to one of the larger rooms so can't complain. The location is terrific, right on a major square and a short walk to the trams, waterfront, train to Sintra and the shops and nightlife of Bairro Alto.

The front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful whenever asked for directions or a restaurant recommendation. Bar/breakfast room staff were also good, although I note that at breakfast, they didn't do a great job of keeping up with stocking the buffet. I did wonder what it would be like during peak occupancy. Also, although overall we liked the breakfast buffet in terms of variety and quality, the "hot" items were barely room temperature both days, and even after we pointed out to someone the second day that they needed some warmers under the serving dishes, nothing was done about it. On the plus side, the breakfast delivered to our room before our very early flight the last morning was well above expectations, some good fruit and they'd even warmed the bread in the bread basket.

A couple of other random comments - limited space in the bathroom to set toiletries was a negative, as were the stingy pours in the bar. Bar location with big windows overlooking street action was a plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSsummerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Gerente de recepção at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some of your time to review our Hotel.

We do our best to assure all guests are as comfortable as possible, and we always strive to go all possible extends to find a room that suits your expectations.

You can always depend on the staff to get the directions you need, whether for sightseeing, dinning, shopping or just wandering in our lovely city of Lisbon.

Thank you for sharing your opinion on the breakfast service. The staff thrives for a flawless service, but we apologize if on the day some issues that still need attention. The road to perfection is a never ending one.
Good to know that you enjoyed your farewell breakfast, we do try to let you go with a smile on your face and warm feeling in your stomach. Not only the bread was warm, it had been fresh baked at the time.

Let us know if you are planning another trip to Lisbon. We will be more than welcome to assist you with whatever you need.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    434
    66
    20
    7
See reviews for
152
882
86
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at this hotel. We stayed in a large room facing the square and it was well worth it. The first night we stayed in room 206, the tribal themed room, and the 2/3 nights we stayed in room 306, the zen themed room. The rooms are on the corner and very large with a good view. There is even a jacuzzi facing the square, and you can look out and admire the view from the tub! The staff were all very nice and were very genuine and gave us some great sightseeing tips. They even told us where to find an awesome kebab! We have stayed in many hotels around the world, and this was our favorite! We will definitely return and already recommended it to many friends!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Gerente de recepção at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team I would like to show our appreciation for the positive remarks you left about our Hotel.

We agree that our corner suites are indeed a very nice option to stay in our beautiful city of Lisbon.

Our team always tries to find recommendations that suit your preferences and expectations. Glad we could help find your kebab, but apart from that, there are a lot of good options for your meals while you stay here, just a few minutes walking distance.

Whenever you or any of your friends wish to stay here with us, let us know so we can help in planning your trip.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
406 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel is really good for a city escape in Lisbon, may not be cheap but believe me you will me in the heart of the city with a BIG plus.
Each room is different, the breakfast is really good, and the staff amazing.
If you are tired of going to same hotels that look a like, than this is hotel provides the chance for something different.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Gerente de recepção at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was with great pleasure we read about your level of satisfaction with your stay in our Hotel in beautiful Lisbon.

We do make a point of being different from the “traditional” style hotels. Our decoration allows us to find a room that suits each guest’s preference.

On behalf of the entire team, we extend you the invitation of returning to Lisbon. We’ll do our best to accommodate you according to your preferences.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is a little gem tucked behind a small nondescript door on the main square in Lisbon. This is in the central part of the tourist area. The rooms are of small size typical to big cities like NY, London, etc. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Clean showers, toilet, facilities. Taxis right outside always. No room service, minibar choices ok. Rooms facing outward overlooking the main square and fountains..right there, great views, ambiance. Staff were especially helpful and pleasant. Everything a short taxi ride away. A great home base and experience for the Lisbon visitor.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Rua Betesga and/or the main square and fountain for best views and experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGE5R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Gerente de recepção at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for such positive comments about our hotel.

We have to agree our prime location is very important when planning a trip to Lisbon, and it is easy to organize small, big tours or only just wandering around the heart of our lovely city.

Given the choice of possibilities within our room types we also recommend choosing a room with exterior views. It will make the overall experience much nicer.

Our staff, helpful as always, is waiting for your contact to help you plan your next visit to Lisbon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Good value right on Rossio Square! Near both major train stations and the metro make exploring the city and day trips a breeze. Most of the rooms are small though, so if that's a factor be sure to book a larger room. The restaurant is not fully open yet so only tapas and deserts along with a decent wine and drink offering. Most NOT included in the "welcome drink" selection though. Next door to the best candy shop in town too, if that's your thing. Beware the numerous coke vendors on the central district streets in the evenings. Generally harmless as long as you're ready with a firm no. Don't know how safe if you answer otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is honestly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. It was a refreshing change to the usual formula of business hotels and offered a unique atmosphere in a very central location. Every floor is individually themed and the attention to detail is wonderful... the owners clearly have a passion for art/design and this comes across throughout the hotel. Finally, the service on reception couldn't have been better... the staff were very friendly and helpful and recommended a number of excellent restaurants/bars. I would highly recommend the 'Onda Jazz Club' in Alfama if you want an alternative to the live fado music evenings...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel. Modern, funky design inside a gorgeous old world façade. We were in the pop concept. A beautiful (large) room with 3 Juliette balconies overlooking Rossio Square. Walking distance to many things including great restaurants and beautiful tourist attractions! The staff were phenomenal and could not do enough to help us with anything and everything we needed. The breakfast was AMAZING with windows surrounding offering a wonderful introduction to your day. As with other reviewers I almost didn't want to review as it will just add to the popularity and lessen the availability but I just had to as this place is such an absolute gem and needs it's recognition. We only stayed for 1 night November 14-15 as we were heading out on a tour of North Western Portugal but we were more than a little sad to leave. The welcome drink is the icing on the cake. I recommend the Urban drink. Delish! As a Travel Agent I am torn between sharing this with my clients and friends or saving those rooms for myself, but alas, they deserve every compliment and referral they get. Obrigado IDH, I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_trvl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#12 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#34 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing