We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Internacional Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #23 of 239 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Worth every penny! We really enjoyed our stay...the staff are super friendly and helpful! Breakfast was wonderful, yummy! The shower was fantastic! The bed soft yet firm...everything was just perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    368
    56
    10
    6
See reviews for
127
779
77
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

There is no better location in Lisbon. Period. Everything is walking distance and the neighborhood is lively and happy.

This is a quirky very cool place. So many things to look at just inside your hotel. The owners apparently were fascinated by Alice in Wonderland and it shows. I'll leave it at that.

I did do a little exploring, visiting the other themed floors of the hotel. We were on the tribal floor and I think I might have liked the pop music floor but we had a great indoor 4 story faux garden complete with birds singing. (I did not see any actual birds). We did have one of the smallest rooms - i think they call them cocoons... It was not horribly small by European standards but if you are one that likes your space, opt for a larger type.

The staff is amazingly helpful and friendly. I accidentally ripped my hop on hop off ticket in half and the receptionist staff insisted on finding tape, repairing it and even walking me halfway to the bus stop (which is directly across the square). When we checked out, a different receptionist called our cab, took our luggage to the taxi, and instructed the driver where to take us and how much to charge us. Above and beyond for sure.

Their breakfast is also good - not spectacular but certainly substantial.

Finally - BOOK EARLY. While we were there a few people walked in and tried to get rooms. They were told the hotel had been booked up since June (we were there in Sept).

Room Tip: If size matters - don't choose the smallest option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Internacional Design Hotel for 3 nights. Such a perfect location. You reach the best restaurants and bars within walking distance. The Sightseeing Buses are just few foot steps away. The staff couldn't have been nicer and helpful. Wonderful breakfast buffet. Overall, phantastic experience, and everywhere great welcome.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Plaça Dom Pedro IV
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 707elvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Dear Guest,

I would like to express the entire staff’s appreciation of your fantastic review about our hotel. We are always willing to help you and to give you the best recommendations to ensure you have the best possible stay in Lisbon.

We will be more than happy to welcome you again to our beautiful city.

Just let us know when you are coming back, so we can help you to once again have a memorable stay with us.

Best regards,

Diogo Heleno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent the last leg of our honey moon in this hotel. Location was perfect and the hotel staff helped when ever requested. When I handed my passport over they were shocked that I had Portuguese last name, so much so that they sent up some little snacks and a bottle of wine at no charge! very friendly staff!

Room Tip: Book Direct with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel on february/2013. The location is great (near many attractions with easy access to transportation) and comfortable accommodations. What surprised us was the service. The staff were very attentive. Expressed an attention to detail: On Valentine's Day, the breakfast was themed and each table was decorated with a red rose. Great hotel to stay in Lisbon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuziRocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I was on Holidays with one of friend to visit Lisboa some days the first week of september We were looking for a good hotel -tripadvisor gave such good comments about thi hotel-to continue our journey.In the hotel we were we booked just 2 nights.we tried to ask at the reception desk for a double room for 4 nights.unfortunely for that period the Hotel was at complete but my friend and and I we have been so positively impressed about the man, Riccardo at the reception desk.He has been so kind and available to our question and giving us good information to pass the rest of time inLisboa that the next time we will book in time to get a room in this very confortable Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedrullaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Having been in 130 countries in 100's of hotels, this one is Outstanding for these reasons:
1. The staff is fabulous totally willing to help in any matter. Alex, the owner, personally came with me to help me drop my rental car. Manager Sara has a great team in all departments to assist you.
2. Location is perfect-just where all the action is. As a base to go out from to experience the wonderful area, we found our time well preservedd by being in the center of everything.
3. The breakfast offering is good. The staff is very efficient.
4. The room we had was fine.
5. The price was very competitive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Design_Hotel, Owner at Internacional Design Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Sir

On Behalf of the entire team,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with such a kind words. it is the best advertising we can have - Word of mouth.

I personally feel very proud about our staff. They are committed to provide the best service and experience both inside and outside the Hotel.

Please let me know about any future visit to our beautiful city, so I can assist you once again and provide you with a very pleasurable stay. This offer can be extended to your family and/or friends.

Warm regards,

Alexandre Martins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 239 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#18 of 239 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 239 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 2,141 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#10 of 239 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing