We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Internacional Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #38 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Imagine yourself in a city where you're in the centre of all activities! Well, this hotel gives you exactly that! Location, location, location! In the centre of the bustling and energetic capital of Portugal. We stayed in the hotels smallest room, Cocoon Room. The room is small however we had sufficient space for our needs. The bathroom is however tiny but with a flair of fun - cerise toilet paper! Possibly the best feature for us was having the free use of the Nespresso machine where we were given 3 free pods daily! Cleanliness is of the highest standard, the staff where friendly and always ready to assist - recommending good restaurants, booking theatre tickets, advising us on transport options, providing us with maps. Wonderful staff - from the ladies who ensured that our room was always clean and tidy to the reception staff who where always pleasant and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauladca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    426
    65
    20
    7
See reviews for
151
874
85
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel being member of the Small Leading Hotels of the World is no small feat. Having been here I can attest to the highest of standards this organization abides to. Rooms are chique and fresh. Service is superior no matter how high is your standard. Location simply cannot be better with all taxis and transportation at your feet. And I cannot start to mention the breakfast. I have great difficulty remembering ANY breakfast better than this. My mind is made up to stay here every single time I return to Lisbon. And because of it be sure I come back often!

Room Tip: Try to get the corner suites. Incredible view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macmsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a Zen room which was comfortable and well kept. If we had any criticism of the room it would be the rattle on the glass door to the bathroom, although this was pretty minor. The staff were all very polite and helpful and our trust in their restaurant recommendations turned out to be well placed. The hotel is ideally situated to walk out of the front door and start exploring Lisbon.

The hotel included complimentary cocktails on the first night and the bar, where you also have breakfast, has a pleasant view across a square. Speaking of breakfast we thought this was done well and it is worth trying the various little breakfast pots they make up as well as the inevitable pastel de nata.

All in all we would recommend this hotel and would be happy to stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MorganSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Located in Rossio Square, this hotel's location doesn't get any better. We walked everywhere! This hotel is clean and modern. Our room was fairly large considering the age of the building. The breakfast was fantastic with a beautiful view of Rossio. Great, friendly staff that went out of their way to make sure we didn't miss out on anything Lisbon has to offer. Special thanks to Nuno for the fantastic restaurant and nightlife recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KV328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived in Lisbon on 14 May after a Long haul flight of over 26 hours, we were exhausted to say the least. We were booked for 5 nights a few blocks away in an apartment. However on arrival we found that their reservation system had booked us for 2014 instead of 2013.Tired, smelly and grumpy we found the Design Hotel by pure chance and Ana ( our saviour). She gave us a special rate in one of their suites and moved heaven and earth to keep us in the same room for our full stay ( Lisbon was full ) The location was fantastic. The breakfasts, the best of our 6 week European trip staying in 4 and 5 star Hotels.The beds and pillows ( feather as opposed to awful sponge ) were all top quality and very comfortable. We loved, loved loved it Don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliMur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I loved this hotel as it is right in the centre of Lisbon (it overlooks Rossio square and is near metro stops and is close to the train station), the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you, the rooms are modern & clean and the breakfast is amazing. All in all we cannot recommend the hotel more if you want a quality stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you like quality and comfort, friendly staff and delicious food, as well as being right in the heart of the city, within walking distance from all the main attractions, then this is the hotel for you. There is nothing to fault and I haven't stopped gushing about it to all my friends since I got back. Look no further and book it already!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing