We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #50 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Excellent location, decor in need of a refresh though not uncomfortable. For a supposedly luxe hotel, little details we overlooked (wash cloths and toiletries not replaced in the rooms after the first day i.e. there weren't any!) there was only one available power point/outlet in the room (on the desk) so for a couple with a few phones, iPads, laptops between them, not much use. The bathroom door was glass with the toilet right up against the door, add to that the only full length mirror was opposite the bathroom door = no privacy. Simple things (like move the mirror!) would make all the difference. Tea and nespresso in the room is a nice touch, again much more enjoyable when housekeeping actually replaces the tea and coffee. Staff are friendly and helpful on the whole, but were not interested in taking any feedback (basically a "too bad" attitude). On the whole, for the price I paid, I was happy but would be giving a different review if I'd paid full price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarppsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel which is very well located and we enjoyed our stay there.
First, the location of the hotel is great as very close to the subway, shops and restaurants.
Also, we visited several places in Portugal and the staff at Internacional Design Hotel were among the best we met during our trip. They are really pleasant, nice and could not have been more helpful, provided we were traveling with our 5-month old child.
Our room (called "strength") was amazingly designed and the whole hotel was decorated with a lot of taste. The room was very quiet despite the noisy environment outside the hotel.
I would definitely go back to this hotel if my path returns to Lisbon someday !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a city break in March, we had my elderly parents along too and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful with any requests that we had - they were fabulous! Our rooms were lovely and were well equipped with comfortable beds. The hotel location cannot been beaten - it is in the heart of the city centre and is very handy for siteseeing and all transport links. We had breakfast included in our rate and enjoyed it each morning. The only negative I had was that the bar was a bit cold - both in temperature and atmosphere, the staff member who was on the evening we had our complimentary drink wasn't very friendly. All in all a great stay and I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This boutique style hotel is right in the center of town on Rossio Square, Lisbon. The somewhat dated homage to American pop is not necessary: the location and core architecture doesn't require it. The staff were most helpful, the room (OK, we got a suite) spacious, the bed and its trimmings very comfortable, the bathroom well appointed. And to top it all we expected the noise level to be high due to its location on the square and were disappointed - it was quiet once we closed the balcony doors and drifted off to a fine sleep. When we awoke and made to the breakfast room we were well pleased with the breakfast and service provided.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelled_from_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Located in a great spot, overlooking two of the grand squares in central Lisbon. It's only a five minute walk from the waterfront and just off the main shopping streets. Each floor has a different theme and the bar/restaurant on the first floor has a lovely view with it's wall of windows. We stayed in one of the 'small' rooms, this was more than big enough.The building from the outside is old but the interior is fully modernised. The restaurant was closed when we were there but the bar was great for a pre/post dinner drink. Staff were faultless, breakfasts are worth paying extra for and a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodgreener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property is fun, boutiquey with an excellent location. Very helpful staff and the best breakfast buffet for a small property. Rooms were clean and well presented and 'fun' with their themes. Free room upgrade was appreciated. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

One of the best hotel experiences in our travel life! Very nice hotel, The Best staff you can find! Helpful, attentive to your needs, very friendly and always welcoming and smiling! Clean to perfection, great breakfast (also great staff and service there) with beautiful view on Rossio square. You will not find better place to stay in Lisbon!
Hope we can come back to Lisbon soon and stay in this hotel again!
Thank you everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
1,634 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,899 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#35 of 255 in Lisbon
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#45 of 255 in Lisbon
1,562 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#45 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $69 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing