We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Internacional Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #24 of 241 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a city break in March, we had my elderly parents along too and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful with any requests that we had - they were fabulous! Our rooms were lovely and were well equipped with comfortable beds. The hotel location cannot been beaten - it is in the heart of the city centre and is very handy for siteseeing and all transport links. We had breakfast included in our rate and enjoyed it each morning. The only negative I had was that the bar was a bit cold - both in temperature and atmosphere, the staff member who was on the evening we had our complimentary drink wasn't very friendly. All in all a great stay and I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    373
    56
    10
    6
See reviews for
130
786
77
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This boutique style hotel is right in the center of town on Rossio Square, Lisbon. The somewhat dated homage to American pop is not necessary: the location and core architecture doesn't require it. The staff were most helpful, the room (OK, we got a suite) spacious, the bed and its trimmings very comfortable, the bathroom well appointed. And to top it all we expected the noise level to be high due to its location on the square and were disappointed - it was quiet once we closed the balcony doors and drifted off to a fine sleep. When we awoke and made to the breakfast room we were well pleased with the breakfast and service provided.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelled_from_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Located in a great spot, overlooking two of the grand squares in central Lisbon. It's only a five minute walk from the waterfront and just off the main shopping streets. Each floor has a different theme and the bar/restaurant on the first floor has a lovely view with it's wall of windows. We stayed in one of the 'small' rooms, this was more than big enough.The building from the outside is old but the interior is fully modernised. The restaurant was closed when we were there but the bar was great for a pre/post dinner drink. Staff were faultless, breakfasts are worth paying extra for and a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodgreener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property is fun, boutiquey with an excellent location. Very helpful staff and the best breakfast buffet for a small property. Rooms were clean and well presented and 'fun' with their themes. Free room upgrade was appreciated. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

One of the best hotel experiences in our travel life! Very nice hotel, The Best staff you can find! Helpful, attentive to your needs, very friendly and always welcoming and smiling! Clean to perfection, great breakfast (also great staff and service there) with beautiful view on Rossio square. You will not find better place to stay in Lisbon!
Hope we can come back to Lisbon soon and stay in this hotel again!
Thank you everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

You can't beat the location of this beautiful hotel. At Rossio square, you are steps from the metro, Rossio train station, meeting points for tours, and central to all of the city's main attractions. The suites have all of the modern comforts and conveniences you need. The building's exterior has beautiful architectural features and is easy to spot from a distance. The location may be a bit of a disadvantage at times because you're in a tourist trap area, but it's worth it to save on transport. As a general rule, avoid a meal in the area. The neighbouring cafes in the square however are great for drinks and people watching.

The breakfast exceeded my expectations, with both hot and cold choices and an elaborate spread. The breakfast room is bright thanks to its large windows, with amazing views of Rossio square.

There is free water, a welcome drink per guest in the hotel bar, and a Nespresso coffee machine. Some people have complained that the rooms are too small, but I guess they haven't experienced many other hotel rooms outside of North America because I found it to be quite standard. I stayed in a cocoon room and didn't feel cramped in the least. You can pay extra for a larger room. I wouldn't consider myself a budget traveler, but I don't understand why anyone would spend the extra money for more space during a temporary visit that you could otherwise spend on another bottle of wine or port! Perhaps if a room with a view is important to you, but I don't spend much time indoors.

The staff, like everyone I've met so far in Portugal, are incredibly friendly and helpful. The service is outstanding.

Don't look any further...just stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jet-set-happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This modern design hotel is filled with beauty and humorous twists. It's located in the heart of an old district of Lisbon that allows easy walking to numerous sights and many dozens of restaurants within a perimeter of a few blocks. It's in a flat area easy for all to walk in but near hills that lead to interesting buildings, museums, a castle, etc.. The breakfast bar from 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. has variety that will suit many nationalities and the food is fresh, well prepared, and delicious. The staff are lovely people, eager to help or provide information. The bar also serves light food in the afternoon/evenings such as salads, soups, & sandwiches, nicely prepared and fresh. Staff recommendations were outstanding--they sent us to high quality places with reasonable prices. The seafood in this area is to die for.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter but the ones on the street sides provide lovely views and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#18 of 241 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 241 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#11 of 241 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 241 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 2,175 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#29 of 241 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing