We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well above average and unique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #49 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We choose this hotel ( for 5 nights) because of its central location and free internet... (we refuse to pay for internet acsess and will no longer stay in hotels that do charge for internet no matter what.).
Breakfast was outstanding, a special treat, without a doubt it was second to none and was included in the reasonable price of about 100 Euros.
The staff was well trained and always ready to please. Especially Anna.

We travel often and 3 weeks plus at a time.

While the owner must have had fun with the design of the hotel which is a unique property to see and experience with all the special details to be found everwhere.
However I recommend that he/she take his/her partner along with two suitcases and stay a few nights in their hotel to find out the small but important details that are still missing in the rooms/bathrooms that would make a guest's stay more home-like and comfortable.
We ofcourse enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xeny43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,554)
There are newer reviews for Internacional Design Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Staff, location and breakfast = excellent. Well worth the money.

Our room on the other hand was small and noisy (1st floor, just above the very busy Rua da Betesga). Air quality was also quite humid and stale despite the central air-conditioning. Windows got fogged up and the room had a distinct moldy smell to it each time we came back from making the rounds in Lisbon. Not something one would expect from a luxury design hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms located on the second floor above Rua Betesga.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on recommendation of friends, and really enjoyed our visit. Front desk service was excellent, and were happy to recommend local restaurants, and to arrange transportation to the airport for a very early morning flight. The welcoming drink in the lovely lounge was a nice way to start our visit. The hotel is very well located, and the themed rooms are really fun. We stayed on the pop art floor. Rooms are small but well laid out, and the bathroom has lovely amenities. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OakmondeVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The staff is very competent and very kind, especially at the reception
The breakfast is royal
in general the hotel gives a hight quality service and a perfect location in Lisboa, close to Bairo Alto and Chiado.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

What a pleasant experience. Everything was fabulous. From the unbeatable central location, to the unique "themed" rooms, and of course the ever so helpful staff. Always smiling, always ready with suggestions. Just wonderful......a real asset to this hotel.
We were in a "zen room" with an incredible view of the square all lit up for the Christmas holidays.
Impeccably clean, we had a "small room" and it was large enough for a comfortable experience. The nespresso machine is a nice touch as well.
Breakfast was fantastic with a nice assortment and variety.The bar/eating area is surrounded by windows and is great place for romantic encounters. The two gentlemen running the bar were very attentive. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lisbon. Two thumbs up all the way.

Room Tip: Have the staff show you an example of each theme. It's really a matter of personal preferrence...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeC965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights & am very pleased with my first experience in Lisbon thanks to its helpful/friendly staff & central location. I stayed in a Zen room & it was notably clean & quiet with nicely appointed amenities, i.e. Nespresso coffee maching, rain showerfall, 42" Sony flat screen, safe, free wi-fi, etc. Great view of the main square from my balcony too! Amazing gourmet breakfast buffet included & def worth getting out of the comfortable bed for! I had a rental car & was able to park across the street in a garage w/ unlimited in-out access for only 15€/day.
I will definitly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon & would more than likely choose to stay here again for any future visits.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ucfhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

very nice hotel, great location, good price, too small rooms. internet for free and good connection. no lobby at all, but with a nice bar. interiors are new and nice, real design stuff. very big and nice shower.

Room Tip: ask for the biggest room available cause the normal one you cannot stay in two people.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luca c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 253 in Lisbon
1,558 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#31 of 253 in Lisbon
819 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#24 of 253 in Lisbon
992 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#55 of 253 in Lisbon
1,580 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 253 in Lisbon
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $137 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing