We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, clean and contemporary hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #41 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Central location, clean and contemporary hotel”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Slap bang in the centre you really can't fault the location of this hotel. Only half an hour's taxi ride from Lisbon airport too. All the staff were very polite and helpful. The decor is quirky with each floor having a different theme. We were on the Zen floor and our room was on the corner looking out over the square. The room was large enough for a city break. All our room was in white apart from the unusual bright green toilet paper! Larger than normal bathroom too which was good. We paid for breakfast one morning and it was excellent - a really large disPlay of all sorts of goodies including the custard tartlets which Lisbon is known for. We were given a voucher for a free drink but didn't get round to having it unfortunately! Overall a very nice hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorienstanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    447
    70
    20
    9
See reviews for
154
899
87
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I choose this hotel with high expectations: they have been totally fulfilled.

Having been in Lisbon already three times I knew the location was perfect, you can jump on the tram scenic N.28 and climb the steep hill of the Alfama during the day and walk to the animated restaurants and bars of the Barrio Alto at night.

The room was absolutely amazing, on the edge of the spectacular building, with three door windows and balconies. The room is carefully designed to impress but it is not just beautiful, it is also very practical and comfortable. I have been in larger rooms in very expensive hotels but I don't remember one so well designed. I indulged in the room a pair of hours in the late afternoon because I was tired and it was raining, I immediately felt at ease.

The service is great even if I prefer a polite but slight more informal acceptance even in luxury hotels but it is down to personal tastes, nothing to complain about it. We also got a welcome drink served in the comfortable bar located at the first floor.

i booked online though the hotel site 2 weeks before the trip and I got a very interesting rate, great value for money. The regular rates I saw at the reception desk are higher but still absolutely adequate for the class of the hotel.

I will surely choose it again the next time I will go in Lisbon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Picked this hotel based on reviews here, so thank you Tripadvisor. Rarely do you stay in a hotel where you keep finding features that make you smile until the very last day. Even the lift has its little comment to make. The design might not be to everyone's liking but if you are tired of the "standard", and to my mind boring chain hotels, then try this one.
The staff were without fail smiling and helpful and I cant find any fault with them. To name one, the barman Goncalo, who kept us well supplied with a variety of different drinks (my wife loved his gins) and also information on restaurants. Our favourite seat was by the window looking out over the square. Thank you Goncalo and I hope you get a job away from Portugal one day, as you said you wanted. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the restaurant. It would be nice to have a meal there but the restaurant only serves breakfast.
The room was apparently the smallest one available but was more than enough for two adults, how much room do you need after all? We liked the Nespresso machine so much we bought one on our return to the UK! Lack of a balcony didn't really bother us because the lounge was so close and friendly. It was a nice bathroom with a proper bath and plenty of gels, soaps etc for free. Dressing gowns and slippers a nice touch.
A bit of advice if you want meals in the city is to head for the Bairro Alto. Near to the hotel are the tourist ones with limited and expensive meals in most cases. Two to try are Louro and Sal in Rua da Atalaia and Fidalgo in Rua da Barroca. One to avoid is the Museu da Cerveja You will have to get used to climbing stairs though, we counted 270 from the Rail Station to the Bairro Alto. On your way up stop at the Lisbon Bar and enjoy a lager.
Lisbon itself is absolutely full of things to do and as usual it's worth taking the Citysightseeing bus to get your bearings. A climb up to the castle is interesting and the views are beautiful. It is a very busy city but quietens down very quickly after midnight when most bars and restaurants close. For late nights you'll need to find the discos on the waterfront.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank millomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The location of the hotel is really perfect. The rooms are clean and stylish as you would expect from a small luxury design hotel. The staff is very very friendly and is doing a really fine job. Breakfast was really fine. We had an L-size "Pop"-room and we loved it and the view is also amazing. I will definetely rebook this hotel when I come back to Lisbon.

Room Tip: We had a pop room and our kids a zen room. Both in L-size and both were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackmage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I spent there two nights on my way back from Lagos. The hotel is very clean and an interior designed in very interesting and nice way. I found staff to be very helpful, we were given a map when checked in and basic instructions regarding Lisbon. We spent one evening in the bar but the drinks they served weren't very good. The location is great, it's close to st. George's castle and other must see places in Lisbon. Practical advice, there is a spot you can park a car for few minutes when checking in, despite the fact that a sign says something different. You will find it easily as it's on the main road outside the hotel and most likely there will be kind person helping you to get in to the place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Excellent Hotel. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. If you call room service, they are at you door in minutes. Breakfast is excellent. Try to have a room with a balcony, those rooms are really romantic, and to get breakfast included. Location can not be better: a few steps from the tram, Metro, trains, boat tours, tourist buses, and in the middle of Alfama and Bairro Alto. You can't beat that. Dozens of restaurants around but some of them to touristic. Go to Bairro Alto to eat. More adult than family Hotel. Gay friendly. Chose the Zen or African decoration. Avoid Pop deco. Cocoon rooms a little small but "S" rooms are perfect. Ours was S room and Pop wich looks a little like a child.s room.

Room Tip: The rooms have good windows and sound proof. Don't be afraid of not sleeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medecin_au_travail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend and it was so good that we re-booked for this past weekend as well.

Location is excellent. Two free/included drinks is a nice touch to make guests feel special. Breakfast buffet is very tasty and above average for Europe.

We received a no charge room upgrade to their Zen floor on the 2nd visit. Very comfortable room and atmosphere.

Excellent and accomodating staff!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamis_Duffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
1,493 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
750 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 247 in Lisbon
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
587 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#21 of 247 in Lisbon
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Property: Internacional Design Hotel
Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#36 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing