We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pensao Residencial Geres
Ranked #126 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

My brother, sister and I stayed at the Pensao Residencial Geres for 4 nights in early November. The hotel's location is very good. At the intersection of the eating lane and the shopping area. It is within walking distance to everything. I read some comments about the unsavory neighborhood of the hotel. Not so. Lisbon's African population does get together to socialize in a square by the hotel but that did any issues. We were not harassed or bothered in any way. Not an issue. My only concern of the location would be the noise level of conversations of the square below in the summer time.

The hotel itself: We had a room with 3 beds. The room was still large enough to get around. The bathroom was small. No bathtub. The shower stall was very small and had a hand held wand with a shower curtain. Not ideal. The room cost us $70 euros. The noise outside was a bit of an issue. No TV...no temperature control that I remember. Overall the place was fine. We later returned to Lisbon and stayed at the Pensao Residencial Roma. It was $10 euros cheaper with a nice bathroom, large room, temperature control, TV, and quieter. While I liked the Geres location better I would recommend the Roma instead.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    66
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
17
59
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

My partner and I were in Lisbon for 4 nights in June 2009. I had had difficult time choosing a hotel from website because I had felt Lisbon's prices were quite high (even compared to Paris where we live!) so we finally found Geres in a French guide book and booked it for two nights. We thought we would find something better once in Lisbon, but we didn't, and since we were very happy with Geres and its excellent location, we stayed the entire sejour there.

We paid 50E times 4 nights = 200E total for a room with a bathroom (tiny) and a double bed.

Getting to the hotel: We took an airport bus that cost around 2E50 and it stopped at the Rossio square -perfectly next to Geres!

Reservation: I sent an email but got no answer, so I called them a few days later. Not everyone speaks English there so you may have to call a few times.

Reception: We arrived late at night, 23h, but they had kept the room for us, and appointed a very good Indian-Nepalese restuarant across the street (Everest I think is the name of the resto). We went to this resto twice bc we felt it was an excellent value for money again, and the food was really like we had had in India.

The only neg. point was that our 1st room (I think it was the room number 201) was right in front of the main door/"gate" that brings guests to the 2nd floor where rooms are located. This door makes an awful sound every time some gets in, and we didn't sleep all night. In addition we wanted to keep the window open, but the street was giving too miuch noise. Next day we changed the room and even if it was a tiny bit smaller and faced a sort of a courty yard (1meter times 1meter space..) we were very happy and slept well the remaining 3 nights.
My only suggestion is that you strongly avoid the room directly in front of the entrance door!!

Before we arrived in Lisbon we thought we should maybe find a hotel near Bairro Alto bc all the guide books talked about it as The Place To Be In, but in fact our favorite quartier turned out to be Alfama where we returned every day. It is much more original than Bairro Alto. We ate three times at the restaurant called "PATIO 13" in Alfama.

Some other ppl have mentioend the area is not safe, but we had no problems getting back to the hotel late at night. It is true this corner of the Rossio square seems to be the hanging out place for African immigrates, but for anyone who has traveled in the world this should be nothing shocking... The hotel is literally on the square so there is nothing to worry about.

Should we return to Lisbon, we would definitely consider staying at Geres again for 50E/night...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lapyska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

My husband, my two teenager sons and I are just back from the Easter holiday in Lisbon where we spent 6 nights at Pensao Geres. If you are in a budget (and if you are not too oversized) I recommend this place. The rooms are tiny and the shower incredibly small. The advantages are a clean place, friendly hosts, comfortable beds, well insulated walls in a beautiful area, very busy during the day but very quite at night. It was a pleasure to stay at the balcony looking the people in the street. The Pensao is very central, close to everything (and transports: trains to Sintra, busses, metro, Electrico 28, bus 91 to/from the airport and taxis). Somebody says that the area is not safe but we never felt unsafe neither during the day nor at night. They do not serve breakfast and I consider this an advantage as, for few Euros, you can eat at one of the many fantastic Pastelaria in the neighbourhood (being Casa Brasileira in Rua Augusta our preferred choice).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michela09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

This is a no frills place, but it is very clean, the staff are very friendly and it is extremely good value. 40 Euros a night (March 2009) for a twin room in a European capital just can't be beaten. The rooms are small, the bathroom smaller, and there is no food served, but the location is superb; just 2 minutes walk from the central square, 2 minutes walk from masses of bars, restaurants and cafes in the lower town, 2 minutes from Rossio railway station for trains up to Sintra. We had a room at the front of the hotel but did not find it at all noisy. The beds are quite hard, but not uncomfortable.

One point worth making: Another review comments on the number of 'dodgy' characters hanging around outside the hotel at all hours of the day and night - this is simply not true. The square off which the hotel is situated is a meeting place for Portugal's immigrant communities from Mozambique, Angola, Guinea-Bissau, Cape Verde etc. There are lots of people meeting up, chatting, socialising, playing chess - the square is a centre for immigrant community businesses, grocers, hairdressers, communication centres etc - I have to say that this did not feel at all threatening - it is just a normal area of town. We felt extremely safe in Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiel9495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

My wife had booked a three night stay without having an idea what to expect. It was our first time in Lisbon and we had our two kids with us, 4yrs old and 14 months, plus another couple of friends. At first, looks from the outside ,the place looks dodgy ... but in contrast to our first negative reaction, we had an unforgettable stay.

The ambience in the interior of the hotel and in the rooms reminded of the description of places in Gabriel Garcia Marquez's books... tall ceilings, tall door-windows, clean white walls, a smell of clean bed linen and towels in the rooms, old doors, floors with old tiles kind of colonial style, big beds with old-style hard but excellent quality mattresses - my son loved it jumping and playing non stop ... staff and especially cleaning maids were very friendly dressed in old style black and white outfits ... not to mention that the hotel is in a location that you just cant get more central, being literally close to everything.

The main street that leads to the hotel is most times of the day packed with Africans just standing and chatting their own way ... nothing dodgy and not the slightest suspicion of danger ... its a buzzing spot because of the internet and cheap call shops that actually adds positively to the ambience of the whole setting ...

The only minus if you have babies is there is no lift and having carry all the paraphernalia of a tourist plus all the kids staff (prams etc) this might a bit of a pain especially when you come back exhausted having had a full day.

I will definitely go back to Geres one day ...

  • Liked — Atmosphere - Clean rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KostasBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2008

This small, older hotel is just off the NE corner of the main square in the old city. Our room had a tiny balcony and a partial "view" (twist your head a bit) of the north end of the square. There was some noise in the square at night, but the room had very thick, multiple-pane windows that kept almost all the noise out (I was impressed at how effective the outer windows were at cutting the noise...I'm a *very* light sleeper, so I always bring earplugs; with earplugs I heard nothing; without them, the noise was not bad). However, there's no air con in the room, so if it's hot whe you're there, you will probably have a choice between hot & quiet (windows closed), or cooler and noisy (windows open). We were there in late September and it was *almost* warm enough that we wanted air con (we asked, and they gave us a fan - that helped a lot).

The neighborhood looks a little dodgy at night (there are some homeless/people sleeping/hanging out on the streets) but we never were bothered by anyone and always felt quite safe.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, although they didn't speak much English (enough to get by) and I don't speak Portugese. Many stairs, though (no elevator) so be prepared to huff it up and down the stairs (steep) with your bags.

Room was quite small (just big enough for the bed and a little space to walk around it) but that's typical for older hotels and we expected it. Bathroom was OK but the shower was about as small as one could possibly be (it was functional enough, as long as you have low expectations and are not very large).

Overall - not fancy, but a good value and it met our needs. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location & price
  • Disliked — No major complaints. Expect a little noise and some steep stairs.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nwflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

Good location, very central to all of the sites, bathroom was tiny, but everything was clean and we never had any problems,

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyhoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#191 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#65 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
#137 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#163 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#148 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Residencial Geres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Residencial Geres

Property: Pensao Residencial Geres
Address: Calcado do Garcia 6, 1 & 2 | Baixa, Lisbon 1150-168, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pensao Residencial Geres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Geres Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing