We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location”
Review of Pensao Londres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pensao Londres
Ranked #152 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had a recent weekend break with 2 other couples. As others have commented, the londres is basic but clean and situated in an ideal position for the bairro alto which is crammed full of great bars and restaurants. I would definately recommend this hotel as a great base for visitng Lisbon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeme b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Pensao Londres
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 547 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with great views of the city. It is clean and well decorated for it's price range. The breakfasts are delicious with homemade croissants and hot chocolate (the coffee and tea aren't so good). The beds are so comfortable; had some very good sleeps here.
It is a family run business. The staff are excellent and speak good English.
I really enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robynka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Four night stay here - very basic but very clean. Staff great. About 2 minutes walk from Rossio Square - so vet handy for the Tram and underground. If you want a cheap clean place within walking distance of numerous restaurants then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordonandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've stayed at the Pensão Londres several times and would definitely recommend it. It's a traditional Portuguese establishment, simple but clean and friendly, in a great location in the Bairro Alto. The rooms have a heavy traditional feel, but are very clean. Some rooms overlook a major street so there is some traffic noise, but that can be reduced a lot if you close the windows (there is air conditioning). My room this time, on the fourth floor, had a sublime view across rooftops to the Estrela Basilica on the horizon, and the Tagus river. I like to have the windows open, and there was some street noise but not enough to bother me. The breakfasts are perfectly adequate, but can be a bit monotonous if you're staying a long time. Free in-room wifi is now available in all rooms. The hotel is in the Bairro Alto, with lots of restaurants and cafés in easy walking distance. There is a panoramic look-out over the city just five minutes away. Walking to the city centre takes about 15 minutes. Two blocks away are a taxi rank and a beautiful park.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The location of this Budget Hotel is the most important advantage of it (apart from the price which very affordable).From the hotel you can walk easily to Barrio Alto,Principe Real,or take "Elavador Gloria" (Special Tram) which will connect you down town,so it's a central point to go everywhere (there is no Metro station close though).Just a few steps from the hotel there is a look out spot overlooking the whole city,really a spectacular view.Try to get a room with a view. I got one like this and the view was wonderful !! (as you can see on the pic).as for the rooms they are quite big and very clean (no mini bar or coffee making facilities though).The breakfast which was included was a continental one and very basic so don't expect too much (dining room was very pleasant) as for wi-fi connection it didn't work properly on the 4th floor ,however,you can use your lap top near the reception for example .if you have a smart phone i highly recommend you to buy a local sim card right in the Airport (there's a Vodaphone store in the Arrival hall ) if you buy a prepaid sim card including data usage( like internet etc) you can turn your smartphone into a router and then you don't really need the wi- fi of the hotel for your lap top).have to mention that the staff was very friendly and helpful as well.Overall i was very satisfied with the hotel.It gives you a good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingManIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is possibly the first hotel I've stayed in that was better than the photos on the website. I loved the cage elevator - The room was generously proportioned with three large beds (we were expecting singles), three balconies and very clean and tidy. Despite being in the middle of Bairo Alto, we weren't disturbed by noise after calling it a night ourselves - and it was so easy to get to the touristy part of town the next day. If I was forced at gunpoint to say what could be improved, I would have liked a broader range at breakfast (just juice and cereal really) and I'm not a fan of kit bathrooms (that said, this one was large and again, very clean). Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Well. We couldnt have found a better place to rest. The hostel is beautiful - our room small but perfectly formed. Secure - with a gorgeous art nouveau lift and features throughout. The staff were helpful. the breakfast standard - but FREE. Right next to the best drinking hole in the city with the best views and cocktail huts overlooking the sprawl and the sea. Barrio Alto is fabulous and so close but without the noise of staying in it. The Cable car - became a necessity rather than a beautiful nostalgic journet - but i wouldnt mind travelling that way every day. It is a bit hilly - so definately for the mobile. We went for a music festival and stayed on another 4 nights - and have completely fallen in love with Lisboa, its people and its hills.
the hostel (as someone who travelled for 2 years) is one of the best ive stayed in - basic but immaculately clean - ideal location - the shared bathroom was modern and sparkling at all times.
Housemaids amazing -

don't hesitate - if you don't have massive 5 star expectations you will be very happy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifiwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Residencial O Paradouro
#145 of 254 in Lisbon
236 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#69 of 254 in Lisbon
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Safira
#167 of 254 in Lisbon
70 reviews
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#77 of 254 in Lisbon
1,974 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#197 of 254 in Lisbon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Londres

Address: Rua Dom Pedro V 53 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1250-092, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#79 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#83 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $41 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensao Londres 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pensao Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Londres Lisbon
Pensao Londres Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing