We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to airport” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp Lisboa Oriente Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tryp Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Ranked #102 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close to airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed one night prior to an early morning flight. Hotel staff were professional and efficient, and the room was spacious. It was also quiet despite facing the railway station, as we were located on an upper floor with double glazed windows and an extra door to seal out hallway noise.

All the usual hotel amenities were provided including free Wi-Fi, A/C and room safe. However for a business-oriented hotel there was a notable lack of electrical outlets in the room.

We ate in the restaurant for dinner but the food was bland and unremarkable. For exhibitionists there is a floor to ceiling window next to the bathtub -- we left the shade pulled down!"

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elinor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Manager at Tryp Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sir

We are sorry to know that we did not fulfilled your special request and we understand your discomfort.

I already have delivered the message to our kitchen staff so they can improve.

Hope to see you next time in one of our TRYP Hotels.

Best Regards,
Mário Covas
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    539
    190
    43
    20
See reviews for
276
357
88
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I arrived really late and tired and couldn't face changing rooms, but ending up by default in a smoking room was not great. However all facilities were good, breakfast was excellent, and it suited my purposes for a massive 6 hour stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Manager at Tryp Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Greetings from TRYP LIsboa Oriente

I would like to start off thanking you for your nice words! We really like to take advantage of these opportunities to greet you once again and thank you for keeping counting on us!

In fact we are thinking on a "Free Tobacco Hotel" because we are thinking on all guests and the enviroment issues.

Hope to see you again in Lisbon,

Mário Covas
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Had four nights here with work.

Room was clean.
Bed was comfy.
Bathroom clean.
Shower was powerful and didn't do the hot/cold/hot/cold thing you can sometimes get.

Free wifi throughout.

Breakfast was self service buffet style. Nice and fresh and with offer that could wake the dead :-))

Would definitely consider stating herd again.

Only 7-9 w
Euros by taxi from airport and with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby....and the big de Gama shopping centre and train station nearby too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Woollypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Staff of reception is very good and willing to help and answer any of your question, after testing. Location is super good, 1 minute walk from the train and metro station and also 1 minute walking from a big shopping mall. In that mall there are super market, electronic mall, department store and some food stores inside so actually you do not worry about anything. Room is not big but it's a modern design with great view. If you can book a room at the end of corridor you can have view of both side of the building: one side is the train station and the other side is the river of tejo. Free Wi-Fi is around 8 times faster than we have experienced in Spain. Of course it's outside of city center of Lisbon so you need to take metro to get to the city center. Breakfast is average, do not expect too much.

Room Tip: Higher floor has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Addicted_to_scenery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Clean, excellent service, comfortable bed, good a/c, the breakfast is delicious with plenty of choices. Located conveniently close to a metro and train station. Im on the third floor but i think the highest floors would probably have a nice view of the water. I highly recommend it and would gladly come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank northernheather
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tryp Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen us and having also the time to evaluate us.

We invite you to revisit us sometime soon!

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on our last night in Lisbon after a 3 week stay in Portugal and we found it to be very average compared with other hotels in the area. See below:
Service- Very good. The concierge arranged for complimentary transport to the airport the following morning and generally was very friendly.
Rooms- we requested a non-smoking room but were given a smoking one anyway. The smell was pretty terrible but we opened all the windows to air it out and that made it a bit better. If it was the beginning of our trip I would have complained but we were too tired to bother. Disappointing nonetheless. Other than this the rooms were okay. The beds were comfortable but the top blanket had weird stains so we removed it from the bed. Bathroom was very good and had a solid bathtub/shower combo.
Location- great location for the airport and regional trains, not so much for getting downtown. Only stay here if you are traveling shortly after your stay (1-2 day max). Also is near the Vasco da Gama bridge which was cool to check out.
Value- very poor. The price was over 100 euros and did not include a complimentary breakfast (could be added for 9 euros). Compared to other stays in Lisbon and area, this was not on par especially considering the cleanliness/comfort aspects mentioned above.
Overall-3.5/5.

Room Tip: Stay here only if traveling via airport or regional train. Stress that you want non-smoking rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tryp Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We take the opportunity to thank you for choosing us and rating as well.

In what regards the smoking rooms, yes we do have them, and that means that when the Hotel goes full we always have to give them to non-smoking people. And the risk of people complaining is obviously high. It always depends on how much the previous guest smoked and how well the room is aired after that. We can learn from this, though.

We hope that in a near future this matter is bettered and a factor to consider on your satisfaction.

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Let's step back a bit. Before we stayed in this hotel for 1 night, me and my husband was a victim of the Summer 2013 strike at Lisbon. We were coming from Madrid, on a night train to Lisboa and then bam! we were whisked away from our trains, to a bus. It was insane. Good thing is that my husband communicated with the hotel that we will be checking in early, like 10am early. They accommodated that, with a bit of fee. Then at 10am our hotel was ready to go! We hibernated until it was basically time for dinner. We checked out early the next day and it was fast and easy. They have flight status on their lobby so you can always check while checking out if your flight is on time, delayed or cancelled. The rooms blocked out the sun reflecting from, well everywhere (very sunny in Lisboa). The hotel albeit not close to downtown was close to a mall. There was also a nearby pizza place which helped in our hibernation (ordered, picked up and done). Don't mind coming back in this hotel again if we ever got stuck on a Portuguese strike!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnCasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at Tryp Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, what an amusing story to tell, obviously after everything going well, as it did.

Apart from the funny side of the story, we are glad to know all went well and you got your deserved rest, as well as everything went according to the expected, having we provided a good experience for you.

Hope that in a near future you can stay again with us, under better traveling circumstances.

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#103 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,417 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#81 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parque das Nacoes
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
#179 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Santa Maria dos Olivais
Tryp Lisboa Aeroporto
Tryp Lisboa Aeroporto
#59 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#97 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Lisboa Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Lisboa Oriente Hotel

Property: Tryp Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Address: Avenida Dom Joao II | Parque das Nações, Lisbon 1990-083, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#63 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Lisboa Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Parque das Nações, the Hotel Tryp Lisboa Oriente was recently refurbished with "Expo 98" and the Oceans as its background. At the entrance, visitors are met by a series of ocean aquariums together with a canvas, in the reception area, representing the great architectural landmarks. The rooms emphasise elegance, modernity and comfort, and are characterised by the marine environments and the harmony of the sea smell, alternating between the blue of the rooms looking out towards the Tagus and the coral red of those which lend a view of the heart of the city. They have free Wifi access, a Television with satellite channels, a lounge area, telephone with a direct line and air conditioning. The "Bistrô&Tapas" Restaurant, which extends out to a pleasant esplanade, displays the most iconic symbol of Expo 98: panels which reflect the universality of the event and convey the popular Exhibition passport. The restaurant serves international breakfasts and offers an à la carte service and a dish of the day, based on the "Bistrô&Tapas" concept. For a light meal, take advantage of the bar where organic forms give body and soul to the drinks bars and you can admire a reproduction of a Portuguese stone-paved roadway. Located close to the FIL - Lisbon International Fair, the famous Oceanarium and Lisbon Casino, and just a few minutes away from Lisbon International Airport, the Tryp Lisboa Oriente is situated around 15 minutes away from the historical city centre. Just a short walk away you can find a full transport network, including the metro, buses and trains. The Parque das Nações is an excellent choice for visitors interested in culture, history, food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tryp Lisboa Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Hotel Lisbon
Sol Melia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing