We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Ranked #100 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Clean, excellent service, comfortable bed, good a/c, the breakfast is delicious with plenty of choices. Located conveniently close to a metro and train station. Im on the third floor but i think the highest floors would probably have a nice view of the water. I highly recommend it and would gladly come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank northernheather
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen us and having also the time to evaluate us.

We invite you to revisit us sometime soon!

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    561
    200
    45
    21
See reviews for
288
374
89
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on our last night in Lisbon after a 3 week stay in Portugal and we found it to be very average compared with other hotels in the area. See below:
Service- Very good. The concierge arranged for complimentary transport to the airport the following morning and generally was very friendly.
Rooms- we requested a non-smoking room but were given a smoking one anyway. The smell was pretty terrible but we opened all the windows to air it out and that made it a bit better. If it was the beginning of our trip I would have complained but we were too tired to bother. Disappointing nonetheless. Other than this the rooms were okay. The beds were comfortable but the top blanket had weird stains so we removed it from the bed. Bathroom was very good and had a solid bathtub/shower combo.
Location- great location for the airport and regional trains, not so much for getting downtown. Only stay here if you are traveling shortly after your stay (1-2 day max). Also is near the Vasco da Gama bridge which was cool to check out.
Value- very poor. The price was over 100 euros and did not include a complimentary breakfast (could be added for 9 euros). Compared to other stays in Lisbon and area, this was not on par especially considering the cleanliness/comfort aspects mentioned above.
Overall-3.5/5.

Room Tip: Stay here only if traveling via airport or regional train. Stress that you want non-smoking rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We take the opportunity to thank you for choosing us and rating as well.

In what regards the smoking rooms, yes we do have them, and that means that when the Hotel goes full we always have to give them to non-smoking people. And the risk of people complaining is obviously high. It always depends on how much the previous guest smoked and how well the room is aired after that. We can learn from this, though.

We hope that in a near future this matter is bettered and a factor to consider on your satisfaction.

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Let's step back a bit. Before we stayed in this hotel for 1 night, me and my husband was a victim of the Summer 2013 strike at Lisbon. We were coming from Madrid, on a night train to Lisboa and then bam! we were whisked away from our trains, to a bus. It was insane. Good thing is that my husband communicated with the hotel that we will be checking in early, like 10am early. They accommodated that, with a bit of fee. Then at 10am our hotel was ready to go! We hibernated until it was basically time for dinner. We checked out early the next day and it was fast and easy. They have flight status on their lobby so you can always check while checking out if your flight is on time, delayed or cancelled. The rooms blocked out the sun reflecting from, well everywhere (very sunny in Lisboa). The hotel albeit not close to downtown was close to a mall. There was also a nearby pizza place which helped in our hibernation (ordered, picked up and done). Don't mind coming back in this hotel again if we ever got stuck on a Portuguese strike!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnCasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, what an amusing story to tell, obviously after everything going well, as it did.

Apart from the funny side of the story, we are glad to know all went well and you got your deserved rest, as well as everything went according to the expected, having we provided a good experience for you.

Hope that in a near future you can stay again with us, under better traveling circumstances.

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just returned from a couple of nights at this hotel, got the best deal direct with the hotel - all my usual booking websites were more expensive. It is a lovely hotel with very friendly staff, very convenient location for Oriente mainline station. Breakfast was one of the best ever, and the room was very comfortable with large bathroom. I hope to stay there again in the near future.

Room Tip: When booking, try the hotel's website as they usually do have good rates when booked in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações públicas at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your feedback and we also do hope to have you again soon!

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We just spent two wonderful nights at this Hotel. Everything was way above expectations. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. Close to LIS, near the Oceanarium. Walking distance to museums along the river. Nice restaurant, great breakfast buffet, an extra cost, but well worth the money, just a few Euros. Three doors down the block is a wonderful bakery,Namur. Port and pastries after dinner, Cannot beat it.

Room Tip: Get the River-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for your kind words and we surely hope to see you again the future!

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was the only hotel that I booked on my own (without a travel agent). I booked through hotel.info.com and was a little leary given that it was only 91 Euros a night. The room was fantastic! It was quite large, had a fantastic bathroom (with a real blow dryer), and the staff were extremely kind and accomodating. The breakfast buffet was the best of all of the buffets that we had in all of our travels. It's a cheap taxi drive to and from the airport and in the morning when we had to leave to go to the airport, a few taxis were already waiting outside of the hotel. For the price and the convenience, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you very much for your kindness and rating!

We always try our best to provide our guests with the best service and friendliness.

We hope to see you again sometime soon!

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horta, Portugal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Didn't have breakfast,but we had a very early departure and it was nice to have some coffee and biscuits before leaving for the airport. Taxis right outside the door at 6:00 a.m.
Comfortable modern rooms and free wifi, as well as a free complimentary bottle of water in room.
Close to the Vasco da Gama shopping mall, the river and plenty of restaurants in the area. It's about a 10 min drive from the airport or take the metro. The Gare do Oriente metro stop is about a 10 min. walk from the hotel. There are is also a bus station and train station close by.
Can't go wrong.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a quiet room faced away from the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for your contribution on our evaluation and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Just a minor correction, if we may: the airport is about a 5 minute drive, as the Gare do Oriente train/metro/bus station is only a 2 minute walk from the Hotel.

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#106 of 246 in Lisbon
3,569 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#86 of 246 in Lisbon
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria dos Olivais
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
#181 of 246 in Lisbon
1,030 reviews
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#7 of 246 in Lisbon
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel

Property: TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Address: Avenida Dom Joao II | Parque das Nações, Lisbon 1990-083, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#59 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#79 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Parque das Nações, the Hotel Tryp Lisboa Oriente was recently refurbished with "Expo 98" and the Oceans as its background. At the entrance, visitors are met by a series of ocean aquariums together with a canvas, in the reception area, representing the great architectural landmarks. The rooms emphasise elegance, modernity and comfort, and are characterised by the marine environments and the harmony of the sea smell, alternating between the blue of the rooms looking out towards the Tagus and the coral red of those which lend a view of the heart of the city. They have free Wifi access, a Television with satellite channels, a lounge area, telephone with a direct line and air conditioning. The "Bistrô&Tapas" Restaurant, which extends out to a pleasant esplanade, displays the most iconic symbol of Expo 98: panels which reflect the universality of the event and convey the popular Exhibition passport. The restaurant serves international breakfasts and offers an à la carte service and a dish of the day, based on the "Bistrô&Tapas" concept. For a light meal, take advantage of the bar where organic forms give body and soul to the drinks bars and you can admire a reproduction of a Portuguese stone-paved roadway. Located close to the FIL - Lisbon International Fair, the famous Oceanarium and Lisbon Casino, and just a few minutes away from Lisbon International Airport, the Tryp Lisboa Oriente is situated around 15 minutes away from the historical city centre. Just a short walk away you can find a full transport network, including the metro, buses and trains. The Parque das Nações is an excellent choice for visitors interested in culture, history, food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Hotel Lisbon
Sol Melia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing