We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Ranked #102 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The hotel is located at the railway station Oriente with access to the metro. It is just in front of the Parques dos naçoes. It is not far from the airport. It is a good hotel with rooms well managed. The breakfast is good also with a good assortment of products.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Michel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to rate us and give us your feedback on our services.

We hope to improve on your rating as well as we hope you can stay here again sometime soon.

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
There are newer reviews for TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had more than a 10-hour-layover in Lisbon on our way from Brazil back home. We wanted to have a room just for the day at a hotel close to the airport. The location is excellent for this purpose. It probably took us about 20 minutes to get from the airport (with metro) to the hotel. There is also a nice shopping center close to the hotel. The room itself was spacious enough for two people. Even the wifi worked very well. Service at the hotel was not as polite and professional as you could imagine it to be. They made us jump up and down from the room to take photo copies of our travelling documents, and when I requested whether they had massage at the hotel, I did not receive too polite an answer. It was simply, "no". Nothing else. One towel was very dirty in the bathroom, but they replaced it very quickly when we asked for it. I guess that they did not like my t-shirt (Brazil national soccer team) at the reception either.

The location is very good, the price for a day (7 hours) was reasonable, but I guess that there are other good hotels in the same area too. If we ever want to stay a the Oriente area again, we may choose to try another hotel to find out what the options are.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for your contribution on evaluating us.

We are sorry to have made you go up and down from the room, but it is a service that has to be requested at the Front Desk.

We also apologize if we seemed impolite, which we don't consider our selves to be.

Out of curiosity, the matter regarding the t-shirt you had on when you checked in, it was a simple joke our colleague made saying you should be using a Portuguese t-shirt instead, which (as we know) you laughed about.

We sure hope you can stay here again in a near future, even with a different t-shirt, if I may add! :)

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Excelent location, nice rooms, good service with kind employes. I recomend this hotel for a business travel. The restaurant is also fine. Just breakfast could be better, if had a few more fresh items. Anyway, my way was really positive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roteiro Gastron... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for the rating given and we accept the comment on the details, which are important to improve.

We hope that in a near future you can come again and rate us even better, as we think you surely will.

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed here from 25th - 29th March 2014. It was booked through my work's travel agent, at around £92/night. This included breakfast, and I had thought - wifi, as well as a fitness centre.

There was a Hippopotamus restaurant attached (which I loved), and the breakfast was good, with a wide variety of breads, cheeses, cereals, coffees, tea, juice, and some hot food like bacon, eggs, and mini sausages.

There was a fitness centre, but the equipment was dated and was in a dated room. The pool looked nice though, and I wished I had brought my swim stuff.

The room itself was nice, the bed was comfortable and most importantly the window opened! It was nice to have a breeze in the evenings.

The biggest drawback was that wifi was NOT included!!!! I couldn't believe it, that in 2014 you could have a hotel where wifi is not included. I was charged €15/day for wifi, when the majority of the day I was out at the conference. I was not impressed with this, and for this reason will not recommend this hotel to other people. Even if they put the cost up to £95/£97 a night, and included wifi, that would make much more sense.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miraclepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Madam,

We regret to inform you that your review is misplaced, as it should be address to the Tivoli Oriente Hotel, which is just across the square from us, and does not have any relation to us.

Thank you in any case.

We take the opportunity to invite you on trying our services in a near future!

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I´ve spent a few days in Chiado neighborhood and wanted to try something new - also I had a train to catch from Oriente station in a couple days, so I chose Tryp. Its ridiculously close to the station and to many attraction in Lisbon´s "new town", which is completely different from what we see in Alfama or Bairro Alto. You have a good shopping center nearby, a great cafeteria to have breakfast (mine was not included), the teleferico, the Aquarium.

I wouldn't chose this neighnorhood over the "tradicional" Lisbon but if you already know the city or have more than 4 days I would definitely recommend.

The hotel is basic-chic, room is comfortable and silent, bed is really good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pereira01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your short but good description.

We like to think that although we are a business Hotel in its core, we can also be the choice for people who visit the Lisboa on leisure.

Hope to see you soon, again.

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel is located in the north of the city very close to the Oriente train station, the Vasco da Gama shopping centre and the site of the Expo 98. This is a business district and is located a couple of miles away from the city centre. This location is ok if you want to be near the airport, which just 3 metro stops or a 5 minute taxi ride away, or a visiting an event at one of the Expo venues (e.g. MEO arena or the aquarium), but not if you want to be in the heart of the city. As with the other Tryp hotels I have stayed in, this one was well presented with efficient and friendly staff. The room was an average size with floor to celling windows, an easy chair and a small desk area. The room was clean with wooden floors and the bed was nice and comfortable. The bathroom was also clean and in good condition with a bidet and a bath with a shower over it. If you are going to travel into the centre you can take the red line metro from the Oriente station but you need to swap to the green, yellow or blue lines to get to the main tourist areas, and this takes abut 25 minutes because of the change. The metro was clean, cheap and felt safe. If I stayed longer I think I would have explored the buses a bit more.

Room Tip: Join the Melia reward scheme. Points accrue quickly and you can use any amount of points to get mon...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigLighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your fair and kind words, which describe in a good way our location and its surroundings.

We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Quick check in and check out procedures, the personnel is nice and professional.
The room is very large and clean, the noise level is very low.
Good variety at breakfast and very close to the airport (taxi 5 min 5 eur).
Reasonable price.
No special highlight but a really good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tucano71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear guest,

You keep it simple but to the point.

Satisfaction is what our service is all about. Guest's expectations reached, goal achieved!

Hope to see you sometime soon!

Best regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#103 of 254 in Lisbon
3,702 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#85 of 254 in Lisbon
910 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria dos Olivais
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
#186 of 254 in Lisbon
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel

Address: Avenida Dom Joao II | Parque das Nações, Lisbon 1990-083, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#59 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $112 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Parque das Nações, the Hotel Tryp Lisboa Oriente was recently refurbished with "Expo 98" and the Oceans as its background. At the entrance, visitors are met by a series of ocean aquariums together with a canvas, in the reception area, representing the great architectural landmarks. The rooms emphasise elegance, modernity and comfort, and are characterised by the marine environments and the harmony of the sea smell, alternating between the blue of the rooms looking out towards the Tagus and the coral red of those which lend a view of the heart of the city. They have free Wifi access, a Television with satellite channels, a lounge area, telephone with a direct line and air conditioning. The "Bistrô&Tapas" Restaurant, which extends out to a pleasant esplanade, displays the most iconic symbol of Expo 98: panels which reflect the universality of the event and convey the popular Exhibition passport. The restaurant serves international breakfasts and offers an à la carte service and a dish of the day, based on the "Bistrô&Tapas" concept. For a light meal, take advantage of the bar where organic forms give body and soul to the drinks bars and you can admire a reproduction of a Portuguese stone-paved roadway. Located close to the FIL - Lisbon International Fair, the famous Oceanarium and Lisbon Casino, and just a few minutes away from Lisbon International Airport, the Tryp Lisboa Oriente is situated around 15 minutes away from the historical city centre. Just a short walk away you can find a full transport network, including the metro, buses and trains. The Parque das Nações is an excellent choice for visitors interested in culture, history, food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Hotel Lisbon
Sol Melia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing