We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desk Staff were helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Ranked #102 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As others have noted, this hotel is away from the madding crowd but it is right be the railway station. We must have had a different desk staff because they were very patient to us. We left Cascais & SIntra to our last day and wanted to see both. The young woman at the front desk gave us detailed instructions and we had no problems.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldRose62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
There are newer reviews for TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with my family. The location is quite good. The hotel is just next to the railway station also few good bars and restaurants around the place. The hotel has free wi-fi. Nice breakfast . A bit far from the city center . The only drawbacks were the front desk service, that depends on who happens to be at the desk at the time. The ladies at the front desk are really rude and unable to be friendly at anytime, can’t help with a simple tourist information or any other information .Overall a good place to stay for value. Only thing to improve is to have more pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JulianaGoetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

We are sorry that you feel this way about our staff, but that is not the general opinion, and we always give our best to try to make our guests feel at home. We will try to check what happened and keep this from happening again.

Thank you for your words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Location is great. Just a couple of minutes away from the airport. Best way to get to the hotel is using Lissabon's easy to grasp underground transport. The "Red Line" takes you from the airport to "Oriente" station in less than five minutes. The hotel is just two minutes away from the station. Just opposite of the underground station you will find the "Vasco da Gama" shopping mall, with plenty of shops, restaurants and cinemas. Lissabon's aquarium is just a short walk away and public transport to Lissabon's city centre is quick and easy, again using the "Red Line". The hotel itself is clean and modern. Ask for a top floor room with view to the river and to the bridge. The view to the other side is quite dull and you get some noise from the nearby railway station. All in all, it's a great option to spend a couple of days in a comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the top floors with a view to the Tejo river and the Vasco da Gama bridge.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Excellent location, good service and very good sleep quality.

I stayed for two occasions within one week and for several days, and during this time I do not have a single thing to point against the quality of service, all the people were very nice and willing to help.
The rooms were kept very tidy, as well as the hotel’s common spaces, and the view the view over the river is definitely one of the best extras of this Hotel. Additionally, the complementary internet service is also a good added value when comparing with other four star hotels in the same area.
Location wise, this Hotel offers one of the best locations in the city, it is close to a big mall, public transports, the airport, restaurants, etc… and if you choose a front facing room, the view is amazing.
The breakfast buffet was probably one of the weakest points, being used to stay in Hotels all over the World, the limited choice and average quality of the breakfast buffet left something to desire.

All in all, a good choice for a short or medium long stay, and I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I always prefer a high room, and here try to go to the front facing rooms with the river view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos

Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a weekend stay, room was great and good views.
Nice and near the airport and the metro so easy to get around.
It is a good place to stay if you don't want to be in a busy part of the city but it is easy to get on the metro to get to the main part of the where it is all going on.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Downpool1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos

Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at the Tryp in mid-May for half of a 9-day trip. The first half of my trip I spent at a hotel in the city center, and for this half I stayed at the Tryp while attending a conference at the nearby FIL.

This hotel is well placed for the conference center, mall, metro stop and the oceanarium. The style of this hotel is stark, with hardwood floors and tile instead of carpet in the rooms. I booked the "fitness" room, which meant that I had an elliptical machine at my private disposal. It also meant my room was larger than the average room, and being on the 9th floor I had a great view of the river side of Lisbon.

Other than the location, the costs at this hotel make it a sensible choice. I was able to do several pieces of laundry for 8 EUR, the minibar prices are very acceptable, and it includes free wifi and has a hotel bar/restaurant onsite. The wifi was slow the first few nights but was improved after they increased bandwidth for all the conference attendees.

Now, if your goal is to explore the Lisbon city center, this is not the hotel for you. While it is conveniently located near the metro, it will take you ~30 minutes to get into the city center stations of Rossio or Barrio Alto. There are limited restaurant options along the waterfront. Some part of me wished I had stayed in the city center and just taken a 30 minute commute to the conference center for my business tasks.

Here is a breakdown of my pros/cons of this hotel.

PROS:
- Cheap relative to other city center lodging
- Fitness room is a great option; nothing like getting up to use an elliptical whenever you want
- Close to the metro station (a few stops from the airport)
- Laundry services
- Free wifi
- Clean rooms
- Spacious rooms, opportunity for good views

CONS:
- Location is far from city center
- While there is a safe in the room, you actually have to go to the front desk and "check out" a lock to insert into the safe before you can use it
- Less frills bathroom (no bathrobes or body lotion)
- Safe does not fit a laptop
- Limited number of outlets for charging

Room Tip: If you want to work out during your trip, book the fitness room. Very convenient!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluff_astrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

We thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services.

You have made a fairly good description of our Hotel. Regarding the "CONS", we have to stress that as in all hotels there are some things that aren't perfect, as our safe in the rooms. However it is a system that doesn't malfunction and is very easy to work with. The rest we feel that we can take care of.

Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos

Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here just 1 night as we flew in & needed to get the train from the Oriente station to Coimbra. The room was lovely considering the price & very clean. The bathroom had an amazing view through the massive window by the bath over the rooftops of Lisbon. Not for the faint-hearted though. It is very centrally located for the park they built for Expo & also the tube & train station at Oriente. I would definitely recommend friends & family to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services. Looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#103 of 254 in Lisbon
3,703 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#85 of 254 in Lisbon
910 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria dos Olivais
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
#186 of 254 in Lisbon
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel

Address: Avenida Dom Joao II | Parque das Nações, Lisbon 1990-083, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#59 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $112 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Parque das Nações, the Hotel Tryp Lisboa Oriente was recently refurbished with "Expo 98" and the Oceans as its background. At the entrance, visitors are met by a series of ocean aquariums together with a canvas, in the reception area, representing the great architectural landmarks. The rooms emphasise elegance, modernity and comfort, and are characterised by the marine environments and the harmony of the sea smell, alternating between the blue of the rooms looking out towards the Tagus and the coral red of those which lend a view of the heart of the city. They have free Wifi access, a Television with satellite channels, a lounge area, telephone with a direct line and air conditioning. The "Bistrô&Tapas" Restaurant, which extends out to a pleasant esplanade, displays the most iconic symbol of Expo 98: panels which reflect the universality of the event and convey the popular Exhibition passport. The restaurant serves international breakfasts and offers an à la carte service and a dish of the day, based on the "Bistrô&Tapas" concept. For a light meal, take advantage of the bar where organic forms give body and soul to the drinks bars and you can admire a reproduction of a Portuguese stone-paved roadway. Located close to the FIL - Lisbon International Fair, the famous Oceanarium and Lisbon Casino, and just a few minutes away from Lisbon International Airport, the Tryp Lisboa Oriente is situated around 15 minutes away from the historical city centre. Just a short walk away you can find a full transport network, including the metro, buses and trains. The Parque das Nações is an excellent choice for visitors interested in culture, history, food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Hotel Lisbon
Sol Melia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing