We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't get the ratings . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Ranked #100 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I don't get the ratings . . .”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a clean, 3 star hotel at best. Location is near airport and Oriente train station (get it? Tryp Oriente???) but, it is not luxurious, the free buffet breakfast is bordering on nasty, the front desk service depends on who happens to be at the desk at the time. It is not consistent and some of the personnel simply is clueless. Lots of children (including our well behaved 9yo daughter) who are permitted to run amok throughout the dining room. We are currently at the property and have asked for a U.S. 110volt electrical adapter daily. They cannot seem to find one for us. This may appear petty (we do have one of our own with us but, a 2nd would let my wife and I work in the room). Most hotels have a drawer full of them to lend. We were told today that they are considering buying a few more. Room is kept clean. Basic toiletries are left in bathroom. Our room on the 8th floor overlooks the train line and the trains rumble through all day and night. Not soundproof. Location is void of restaurants. It is essentially a commercial area and the dining options are non existent. Meh

Room Tip: Only take it for great price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elite_Cruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

The fact of having lots of children during the days of your stay has to do with the fact that it was a week with a holiday in Portugal, thereby it may of happened that for this reason it was a bit more difficult to have "order" in the breakfast room.

The electric adapter issue was taken care of, however a bit late, we agree.

Just as clarification, our area is full of dinning options, between the shopping centre next door and a whole street with bars and restaurants, you can find plenty to choose from.

Thank you for your suggestions, which we will take into maximum consideration, thereby improving our services.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    561
    200
    45
    21
See reviews for
288
374
89
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

TRYP Oriente Hotel has a great location. Just 5-min walk from Oriente Station in Lisboa. The staff is helpful and professional. I found a bit crossing a red line while I was asked for an ID of a parson who accompanyed me on our check-in on 22 April at 19:30 hrs.

Anything you might need is in a walking distance from the hotel. Even a great mall called Vasco da Gama.

Room Tip: #604 so called City View Room - basically you will see the Oriente Railway Station and a bit of what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you very much for being satisfied with our service.

Regarding the ID matter, we have to say that if a person stays in a Hotel in Portugal, being a foreigner, by law we are forced to request some form of ID. That is the only reason why we ask every foreign citizen their ID's.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We promptly changed our plan in front of Oriente, and decided to be lavish for a night. So we chose the sea view room in the top floor (109 euro). It was great! You could see all the pretty architectures in the district. The setting sun shining over the sky left the bridge a beautiful curve over the sea. We loved it. What a view! The room, service, were all quite well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingMue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you very much for you kindness. We appreciate your satisfaction and hope to have with us as soon as possible.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is very good. The location is near the train station and also the shopping mall called vasco da gama which is closed at midnight. The service also good. My room has troubled with the hair dryer but the staff respond it very quickly. I only wrote the message in front of door but when i came back to the hotel, they've repaired it. Very satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariamasoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration, always trying to improve our services, aiming to be as efficient as possible. Looking forward to see you in our hotel or in another Meliá International Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The rooms are spacious and with nice decoration. The bathroom is well equipped and also has a fairly decent space.
Didn't try internet or breakfast, but there's a Portuguese patisserie next door and you can get some delicacies over there.
Access to main Portuguese train line and to Lisbon's subway is at 1 min walking distance. There's also a good mall on the other side of the street, so you won't lack entertainment or supermarket food.
The location of the hotel is not on the city center, but on one of the main touristic spots from Lisbon, which happens to be incredibly nice and very interesting. You're in the city centre anyway in some 15 min by subway.
The hotel personnel was very kind and friendly and provided good advices, and exchanged us the room with no problems at all when the toilet flush from our room didn't work.
Get a room in one of the top floors to have a nice view over Bridge Vasco da Gama and over de Parque das Nações.
In Parque das Nações you have plenty of restaurants and museums to visit. It's also a great spot to visit and to exercise without any problems at all. Top notch modern location in one of the world's most beautiful, interesting, glamorous and charming cities!
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuno_the_Curious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words and nice description of our services and of Lisboa.

Looking forward to see you in our hotel or in another Meliá International Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Lisbon with our 2 boys, then aged 3 and 5. We were given a room that looked onto a train station. There was great excitement when every 5 minutes somebody would shout "train"! and the boys would run over to the window. The room wasn't huge but then again, there was a large king sized bed and bunk beds in it and films on the TV for the kids to watch. Getting around was very easy, even though we decided to do alot of walking ourselves. As a family, we have travelled to Austria, France, Italy, Spain, London, Holland and Belgium and we all agree Lisbon was the best. Thanks tryp oriente for the best family holiday so far.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cici58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kindest words. It is this kind of satisfaction that we seek for every single guest that we welcome in our Hotel.

It pleases and completes us having this kind of feedback from our guests.

Looking forward to see you in our hotel or in another Meliá International Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights recently.

Room was very spacious and clean with a cross trainer and view of the sea. Was on 11th floor which gave great view.

Our room was cleaned daily and even asked for change of bedding during short stay which was duly carried out.

There is a good selection of breakfast foods although the hot food could do with being warmer. Good news is that breakfast on Sunday is served until 11am. Handy if you've been out enjoying the bars on a Saturday night.

This hotel is very close to airport. 3 stops on metro or approx €15 by taxi. Coming back from old part of town only costs around €12 by taxi too even late at night or early hours of morning.

Staff here are friendly and helpful. The bar isn't always manned and on occasions you ring bell, wait around then have to get reception to call Staff.

Food in the restaurant was disappointing unfortunately. I had the pasta carbonara which was tasty while my partner had pork dish which looked good but wasn't very tasty especially the side dish it was served with. The cheesecake we shared for dessert was very good though.

There is a relatively good shopping centre nearby and the aquarium only about 5-10 minutes walk away. Metro about 3 minutes walk.

I am a Melia rewards club card holder which gives some good benefits including discount on food in restaurant and where possible later check out of room.

I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quality place to stay with good transport links.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanio1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

We are sorry about the food not being as you expected, we will use your complaint to improve that part of our service. At breakfast and at dinner, as you stated.

We are also sorry that the Bar wasn't manned as it should be,hopefully we will improve that part too.

Thank you for your suggestions, which we will take into maximum consideration, thereby improving our services. Looking forward to see you in our hotel or in another Meliá International Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#106 of 246 in Lisbon
3,569 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#86 of 246 in Lisbon
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria dos Olivais
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
#181 of 246 in Lisbon
1,030 reviews
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#7 of 246 in Lisbon
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel

Property: TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Address: Avenida Dom Joao II | Parque das Nações, Lisbon 1990-083, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#59 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#79 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Parque das Nações, the Hotel Tryp Lisboa Oriente was recently refurbished with "Expo 98" and the Oceans as its background. At the entrance, visitors are met by a series of ocean aquariums together with a canvas, in the reception area, representing the great architectural landmarks. The rooms emphasise elegance, modernity and comfort, and are characterised by the marine environments and the harmony of the sea smell, alternating between the blue of the rooms looking out towards the Tagus and the coral red of those which lend a view of the heart of the city. They have free Wifi access, a Television with satellite channels, a lounge area, telephone with a direct line and air conditioning. The "Bistrô&Tapas" Restaurant, which extends out to a pleasant esplanade, displays the most iconic symbol of Expo 98: panels which reflect the universality of the event and convey the popular Exhibition passport. The restaurant serves international breakfasts and offers an à la carte service and a dish of the day, based on the "Bistrô&Tapas" concept. For a light meal, take advantage of the bar where organic forms give body and soul to the drinks bars and you can admire a reproduction of a Portuguese stone-paved roadway. Located close to the FIL - Lisbon International Fair, the famous Oceanarium and Lisbon Casino, and just a few minutes away from Lisbon International Airport, the Tryp Lisboa Oriente is situated around 15 minutes away from the historical city centre. Just a short walk away you can find a full transport network, including the metro, buses and trains. The Parque das Nações is an excellent choice for visitors interested in culture, history, food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Hotel Lisbon
Sol Melia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing