We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, near Parque das Nacoes and The Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Ranked #101 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, near Parque das Nacoes and The Airport”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family missed our flight back home, so we booked one night at the Tryp Oriente. The hotel is more guided towards business travelers. Neverthless the staff is very friendly and they even had a goodie bags for my twin toddlers. The rooms are typical of what you would find in a chain hotel.The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from restaurants and the cable car to Parque das Nacoes. Breakfast is paid, but they have a good array of things to eat. If you are in Lisbon for a couple of days and you don't want to spend to much money, this may be the place for you and your family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your suggestions, which we will take into maximum consideration, thereby improving our services. Looking forward to see you in our hotel or in another Meliá International Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    554
    198
    43
    20
See reviews for
284
368
89
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
127 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Did not know exactly what to expect as Tryp varies quite a lot between countries and date of building.
I knew this property from the Expo era, so it is about 16 years old. There is nothing special about it.
I checked in early (11am) and was given a room on 11th floor overlooking the Expo and the river.
I found the room to be cosy and simple.
One part of it (where the bed is) seemed ok with nice arm chair and the wall painted in red.
The other part however needs urgent upgrade. The furniture and especially the cupboard are ugly and old and do not fit into nowdays traveller's needs.
Tv and Tv chanells were very good.
Bed was also comfortable but the linen seemed half plastic.
The bathroom very standard with basic ameneties. I liked the bathtub glass wall instead of currtain (Sheraton and Hilton take note). This is almost a standard in all Spanish chains.
Staff was helpful but male agents did far better. They speak good English and Spanish.
I am Platinum Meliá member and was not informed about all the benefits I could take advantange of. I do not even know if I was upgraded as this is normal procedure. I defenitely expected better care!
Actually it was just a quick stay so did not say anything.
I also had a free wifi (do not know if this is for all guests.)
Common areas are very small and I had a claustrofobic feeling.
All in all decent 3* hotel but needs to be refurbished as soon as possible.
Being low season with no special events I find the price very high for what they offer, especially as there were10 better and newer hotels for 45 eur per night.

Next tume I am in town, I will try Sheraton for 25 eur more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your suggestions, which we will take into maximum consideration, thereby improving our services.

As a Platinum Meliã member you got the upgrade you are entitled to, for any other questions related to the programme, please feel free to ask any Front Desk agent, we will be glad to help you. You can also look up for information on melia.com

The wi-fi is free for every guest in all Tryp hotels in Portugal, Spain and Brazil.

Looking forward to see you in our hotel or in another Meliá International Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Heights, California
Level Contributor
380 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family of four had two river facing rooms during the first week of January 2013. The location is great as it is only minutes from the Oriente train station and the large Centro Vasco da Gama shopping center. There are a lot of restaurants around with nicer ones by the River walk and simpler places right next to the hotel, such as Namur II. The rooms were clean and WiFi was fast and free. It is only around 8-10 euros to the old town (Baxia/Chiado) area and 10 minutes to the Airport. You can also walk 2 minutes to the train station and take a direct train to Sintra cheaply. The staff spoke excellent English and had no problem checking in or out, but both rooms had problems with the key card. We had to go back to get new card during our second and third day, but the problem was resolved quickly. Highly recommended for a family unless you like to stay at a place that you can walk to the city center.

Room Tip: River view rooms are nice, but probably do not justify the higher charges. Get the cheapest room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigFishDiveClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration. Looking forward to see you in our hotel or in another Meliá International Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've stayed in this paticular hotel about 5 times. My company even booked me in another hotel on this trip, and i changed it to stay in Tryp. I really like the location. It has a mall across the street. Tons of ATM's beside it, close to the airport, a all you can eat chinese buffet down the street, and a 50's diner that offers great milkshakes next door. The rooms are comfy, nice flat screen TV, big beds, speedy elevator, etc.
The staff at the front desk are HIT or MISS. Sometimes they're friendly and smile and help you with whatever, and sometimes, it looks as if you're bugging them, or they just don't look pleased to help you.
Also, they offer a free shuttle service to the airport...HOWEVER, you must book it before 10pm the day before. I didn't know that until after 10pm, so now i have to take a taxi to the airport and pay 6-7E. These taxi's like to charge you 10Euros, and hope you won't argue. It's a no MORE than 7 Euro ride, don't pay anything more. THey'll try and tell you "oh you have luggage so it's more", forget that!
Tryp is nice, just need a friendly staff, brief you better when you come in on the free shuttle service, oh and 3.50 Euro for a can of Coke in the mini bar??? come on now man...other than that, it's 4 out of 5 stars.
Oh yeah, free wi-fi, can't beat that!

Room Tip: 1606 is a good room, right next to the elevator, very top floor, good view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

The mini-bar rates are according to the average of 4 star hotels, however we will take it under consideration.

We would like to state that our Front Desk staff is very helpfull and polite, as you may agree. What happens sometimes is that the volume of work and people going in and out of our Hotel makes that we cannot maintain the helpfulness that we usually have, however we appologize for any lack of attention from our part.

Thank you for your suggestions, which we will take into maximum consideration, thereby improving our services. Looking forward to see you in our hotel or in another Meliá International Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna, austria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Due to a late arrival by plane I was looking for a hotel close to the airport, but still in a nice neighborhood. The 4* Tryp Orient fit that bill and was offering a great rate (EUR 55.-/night tax included w/o breakfast). It is located just three stops from the airport by Metro, now that the red line has been extended to the airport. It is located one block from the EXPO area (Parque das Nacoes), two blocks from the Tejo riverfront and right beneath the Oriente railway station and the Vasco Da Gamma Shopping Center in a modern neighborhood. There is also a Continente hypermarket in Vasco Da Gamma.

The hotel is modern and typical of the Tryp chain. Both check in and checkout was handled in an efficient and friendly matter. Rooms are modern and comfortable with a large bathroom with all the amenities one needs. Everything, including the bathroom seemed clean and housekeeping was definitely doing a good job. Beds were comfortable, although not quite as good as you would see e.g. in a Hilton.

The main problem with the hotel is that the windows are poorly insulated, and given its location close to the railway station, you here trains arriving and departing in the late and early hours, as well as the announcements of the railway station. That is, if you room is at the back side of the hotel, facing the railway station. I stayed here on previous occasions in a room on the front side facing the EXPO area, and do not recall any problems with railway noise.

I did not try their breakfast. As always in Portugal, there are so many other options for a breakfast snack, as a café or pasteleria can be found at almost every corner.

Be aware that although the hotel is a good neighborhood with lots of restaurants, bars, shopping and the Tejo riverfront, it is by no means in a central location. Getting to the historic sites and tourist areas (other than the aquarium and the Parque das Nacoes) will take you 30 minutes by subway or taxi. However, both the subway and bus is system in Lisbon is good, reliable, safe and clean. A 24 ticket cost EUR 6.- and is probably a best deal, as it includes the historic tram and elevador lines. Taxis are also hassle free and comparatively inexpensive.

Given the noise issue in the room I stayed in this time I downgraded the hotel one star, but I would not hesitate to choose this hotel again. Enjoy Lisbon, it is a beautiful and friendly city !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roland_vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your fairly kind words, which we will take into maximum consideration. Looking forward to see you in our hotel or in another Meliá International Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at Tryp Oriente for two nights in December. My friends and I chose this hotel as we were attending an event held in the Pavilhao Atlantico which is just a few short minutes away by foot. The hotel is located close to the Orient train station which is just three stops by Metro from the airport, making it extremely easy to get to. There's also a shopping centre close by.

The room was spacious and very clean, and the strength of the free wifi was excellent. I had a room with a view which was nice, although the windows looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while.

A minor issue was that there were no tea making facilities, and the safe is not an electronic one. You pick up the lock mechanism from reception, and the door of the safe in the room has a slot to slide it into. However, the lock didn't quite fit in my room's safe, but I didn't have time to change it for another one. I hope it was just an isolated problem.

The yellow tourist site seeing bus has a stop a few minutes walk away from the hotel, so you can take that into the city centre for more touristy things. There is of course the normal bus and train options to go for as well. The ride took about half an hour.

Overall I think this hotel is very good, but I would only recommend it if you were intending on going to something at the Pavilhao Atlantico. I found it a little inconvenient for touristy site seeing purposes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecowgoesmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

The room safe lock was in deed an isolated incident, as it never happened, we will check on it.

We are mostly a business/corporate Hotel, not a vacation resort, that's why sometimes people who come on vacation to Lisboa feel a bit dislocated in our Hotel for that reason.

Thank you for your suggestions, which we will take into maximum consideration, thereby improving our services. Looking forward to see you in our hotel or in another Meliá International Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Decent business hotel, reasonable sized rooms with everything you need. Practically across the road from the FIL conference centre - very easy to get to from airport (3 stops on metro) and right next to Metro station. I initially booked one of the cheaper standard rooms, but upgraded upon arrival for 15 euros more, as the room was pretty much on top of a noisy, busy train station. My new, more expensive room to the front of the hotel suffered from noisy car traffic, but this was more bearable, plus it had a nicer view. Felt very much like a 'chain' hotel, without much personality, but was comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front of the hotel if you want to avoid noisy trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mi_mi_mi186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryp Oriente L, Gerente de relações com clientes at TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for selecting our hotel.

Thank you for your comments and your review on our Hotel. Looking forward to see you in our hotel or in another Meliá International Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rui Santos
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#107 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#84 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria dos Olivais
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
#184 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#96 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel

Property: TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Address: Avenida Dom Joao II | Parque das Nações, Lisbon 1990-083, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#63 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Parque das Nações, the Hotel Tryp Lisboa Oriente was recently refurbished with "Expo 98" and the Oceans as its background. At the entrance, visitors are met by a series of ocean aquariums together with a canvas, in the reception area, representing the great architectural landmarks. The rooms emphasise elegance, modernity and comfort, and are characterised by the marine environments and the harmony of the sea smell, alternating between the blue of the rooms looking out towards the Tagus and the coral red of those which lend a view of the heart of the city. They have free Wifi access, a Television with satellite channels, a lounge area, telephone with a direct line and air conditioning. The "Bistrô&Tapas" Restaurant, which extends out to a pleasant esplanade, displays the most iconic symbol of Expo 98: panels which reflect the universality of the event and convey the popular Exhibition passport. The restaurant serves international breakfasts and offers an à la carte service and a dish of the day, based on the "Bistrô&Tapas" concept. For a light meal, take advantage of the bar where organic forms give body and soul to the drinks bars and you can admire a reproduction of a Portuguese stone-paved roadway. Located close to the FIL - Lisbon International Fair, the famous Oceanarium and Lisbon Casino, and just a few minutes away from Lisbon International Airport, the Tryp Lisboa Oriente is situated around 15 minutes away from the historical city centre. Just a short walk away you can find a full transport network, including the metro, buses and trains. The Parque das Nações is an excellent choice for visitors interested in culture, history, food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Hotel Lisbon
Sol Melia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing