We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good BUT visit 2 or 3 room options BEFORE unpacking!!”
Review of Casa De Sao Mamede

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa De Sao Mamede
Ranked #146 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Room 109!! Dreadful drainage smells. We had unpacked before we decided we must change rooms. Room 002 was excellent and very modern. Side street rooms are very quiet because of shutters and very good aircon.
Good breakfast. Excellent location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blakeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 193 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2010

We went on joint business/leisure. I chose this place as we wanted an experience that didn't depend on large corporate hotel chains. Partner had work at the University so this was a nice quiet area away from business, not far by taxi. We stayed here just over 2 weeks total, with a week break between the two. The staff were absolutely fantastic and if you have a genuine interest in picking up Portuguese and exploring the immediate area they will take care of you.

Breakfast was very nice and the hot steamed milk for coffee can spoil one. The diniing room is kept very clean and one can lean out the balcony doors and watch the street below. When we were there we witnessed the last of one of their best traffic 'cops' in his starched uniform blowing his whistle and directing traffic.

Across the street is a Catholic church and small plaza where we visited during one of the religious festivals - it is quite fun and the booth foods were very good; we found everyone so friendly. Also across the street is a cafe where we could get cold drinks, cookies, sandwiches - all very good and reasonable.

Head directly across the street and keep going (about 1.6 kilometer?) and you end up in the business district, turn right and you are in the heart of Lisbon with the shops, port, sights, etc. A great walk and full of interesting views. Turn Right out of the hotel and go to the botanical gardens; keep walking and you can access more sights. Not far down the street on the same side of mamede (our nickname) is a corner patiserie which is amazing when you step inside. THey have a few chairs and tables outside, keep going and you come to a park with huge trees and a cafe..every walk takes you somewhere new. Head left out of the hotel and you come to a traffic circle with post office, jewelry store and various streets taking you to different sights and places.
We walked everywhere as you would otherwise miss to much and the staff were very helpful with maps and directions. If things are too far taxis are cheap and a reliable way to get back to a hotel or business meeting.

Our first week the room was very small and beds were hard - really hard. As it was full we could not relocate therefore folded blankets to sleep on for padding. We were able to choose our room for the end of the trip which was larger, had a larger bath, view of the side street, and much more comfortable beds. We only needed the 'air conditioner' a few times being lucky in having very good weather.

Naturally the food in Portugal is fabulous, we ate at a variety of places. At no place did we run into any problems. Lisbon is one of the few places I would return to and this hotel would be one I would definitely return to...however, I'd ask for the softer beds!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeeJL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

It was a Lonely Planet pick and the last accommodation we had during our two weeks in Portugal, and happened to be a lovely surprise. Beautiful breakfast room, antique interior, friendly staff, and not a bad location.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Slavata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

My wife and I arrived on Christmas eve day and enjoyed the hospitality of the owner at a lovely Christmas eve party. We stayed for a week. Our room was spacious, spotless, and quiet. The location is excellent. Right near the Rato metro line and walking distance to downtown. The staff was courteous and unfailingingly helpful. Due to the length of our stay I believe we received a small discount on one of the renovated rooms. The feel, as reported elsewhere, is more of a private residence than hotel. We would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jtk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

The Sao Mamede is a delightful guest house in a quiet Lisbon neighborhood near the Botanical Gardens. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We arrived quite early in the morning due to our flight to Lisbon, and the night manager, Jose, let us have the room immediately. Jose was very helpful with suggestions for our stay, and looked over our car rental contract at our request. The hotel also kept our purchases for us so we didn't have to schlep them around Portugal; they were there waiting for us on our return to Lisbon. The rooms (we had two, one at the beginning and one at the end of our stay in Portugal) were immaculate, if a bit on the drab side. The breakfasts were nothing special, but the breakfast room was very bright and cheery. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk to the Barrio Alto and Chiado, and is also just a few hundred meters from the Rato Metro station. I would highly recommend the Sao Mamede.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank BullwinkleJMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We stayed at the Casa De Sao Mamede for four nights at the end of June, beginning of July 2008, and then returned after touring for one night before flying back to the U.S.
We loved everything about our stay. The hotel, a lovely
18th century building with 25 rooms, is well located in a real neighborhood (supermarket, bakeries, etc.) We paid 85 euros for a senior rate.
We walked to most sites and also took cabs which are available right outside the hotel. Don't miss the
nearby Church of the St. Rock (A Igreja de Sao Roque) on Largo Trinidade Coelho. We found the walking tours in Rick Steves Portugal guide book very good.
The hotel is on a busy street . The rooms facing the street have double paned windows and shutters which keep the noise out. We had room 9 which was a good size with good closet and drawer space, nice quality towels. The air conditioner worked well and was quiet. There is also a free safe in the room. There is no elevator ,so if stairs are a problem ask for the first floor.
The staff is friendly and helpful especially Palo and Joseph. \We rented a car from Algarve Rental agency (algarve-rental.com) through the internet. They delivered the car to the hotel and picked it up at the hotel when we returned. (new Citroen) We were very pleased with their service and would rent from them again.
Joseph, the night manager offered to guide us out of Lisbon onto the highway the day we left. He drove his car and we followed. Now that's what I call service!
We had dinner at Rodos on Largo do Rato, a neighborhood restaurant and enjoyed their grilled fish. We also liked the Brazillian restaurant Comida de Santo at Calcade Eng. Miguel Pais 39. The stewed beef with rice and beans served with a fried banana and poached egg was excellent.
What would I like that they didn't have? Real jelly and jams at breakfast, instead of the individual packed ones (picky picky). Computer in the sitting room for guests to check email.
I would highly recommend Casa de S. Mamede for a great stay in Lisbon

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2007

This hotel is perfectly located next to the metro station (RATO) and close to many bus stops. At the top of the Barrio Alto and next to the Botanical Garden.

The night manager speaks perfect English and is knowledgable about history, directions, restaurants, etc. He is really kind and friendly.

The rooms were big; lots of hot water; quiet; breakfast continental, but fine.

Take the metro. If you take the trams and light rail, beware of pickpockets. Belem is the place to head for...

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrieae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
America Diamonds Hotel
#116 of 255 in Lisbon
1,058 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#47 of 255 in Lisbon
356 reviews
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Hotel White Lisboa
#82 of 255 in Lisbon
103 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#94 of 255 in Lisbon
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Sao Mamede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Sao Mamede

Address: Rua da Escola Politecnica 159, Lisbon 1250-100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#46 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $73 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa De Sao Mamede 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Casa de Sao Mamede" is a small family hotel (26 rooms). Built in the XVIIIth century as the residence of a magistrate. This beautiful building has maintained all the charm of an old family home. It is one of the first buildings to be constructed in the traditional system of "birdcage" - earthquake proof construction used after earthquake of 1755. Having been adapted to a hotel unit in 1948 it knew how to keep throughout the years, the treatment, the tradition and the atmosphere of a true family house. Always trying to preserve the past we did not relinquish however the comfort requirements that contemporary life demands so all the rooms have: private bathroom, telephone, digital safe, satellite television, double glass and air-conditioned with individual command. The fact that we're dealing with a small hotel type unit allow us to grant a more personalized treatment to each customer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa De Sao Mamede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sao Mamede Hotel Lisbon
Casa De Sao Mamede Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing