We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, friendly service, charms weren't always "charming"”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa De Sao Mamede

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa De Sao Mamede
Ranked #147 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly service, charms weren't always "charming"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We booked this hotel based off positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were looking for a boutique hotel in Lisbon that would provide a little charm and romance.

Pros: Great location just above the Barrio Alto,near the Principe Real and several metro stops. Easy to get into the action of fun neighborhoods very quickly.
Accomodating service- we had trouble with the noise in our first room and they switched us with no problem.
Good free breakfast for the rate- included pastries, toast, croissant, ham and cheese.
Cute decor

Cons: Room 002 (our first room) was on the corner of a ground floor location, with intolerable street noise at night (drunk pedestrians, etc).
Difficult to get hot water from shower.
Weak wi-fi connection
Both beds were hard as rocks.

Overall, hotel was affordable. Not a perfect hotel for us "honeymooners' but tolerable especially if you're on a budget or quick stay.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rskatz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadesaomamede, Manager at Casa De Sao Mamede, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear madm,sir,
First of all thank you for your review.
We are going to do our best to correct the points you considered not so good.
We hope you can come back and give us a better classification.
For honneymooners the better rooms are 001, 004 , 101,103,106 and 109.
M.Marques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    79
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
96
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

If you are looking for a small boutique hotel in a convenient location - with a personal touch - this is it!!!

Room Tip: Very helpful staff - excellent English
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bootleggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

Room 109!! Dreadful drainage smells. We had unpacked before we decided we must change rooms. Room 002 was excellent and very modern. Side street rooms are very quiet because of shutters and very good aircon.
Good breakfast. Excellent location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blakeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa OK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

We went on joint business/leisure. I chose this place as we wanted an experience that didn't depend on large corporate hotel chains. Partner had work at the University so this was a nice quiet area away from business, not far by taxi. We stayed here just over 2 weeks total, with a week break between the two. The staff were absolutely fantastic and if you have a genuine interest in picking up Portuguese and exploring the immediate area they will take care of you.

Breakfast was very nice and the hot steamed milk for coffee can spoil one. The diniing room is kept very clean and one can lean out the balcony doors and watch the street below. When we were there we witnessed the last of one of their best traffic 'cops' in his starched uniform blowing his whistle and directing traffic.

Across the street is a Catholic church and small plaza where we visited during one of the religious festivals - it is quite fun and the booth foods were very good; we found everyone so friendly. Also across the street is a cafe where we could get cold drinks, cookies, sandwiches - all very good and reasonable.

Head directly across the street and keep going (about 1.6 kilometer?) and you end up in the business district, turn right and you are in the heart of Lisbon with the shops, port, sights, etc. A great walk and full of interesting views. Turn Right out of the hotel and go to the botanical gardens; keep walking and you can access more sights. Not far down the street on the same side of mamede (our nickname) is a corner patiserie which is amazing when you step inside. THey have a few chairs and tables outside, keep going and you come to a park with huge trees and a cafe..every walk takes you somewhere new. Head left out of the hotel and you come to a traffic circle with post office, jewelry store and various streets taking you to different sights and places.
We walked everywhere as you would otherwise miss to much and the staff were very helpful with maps and directions. If things are too far taxis are cheap and a reliable way to get back to a hotel or business meeting.

Our first week the room was very small and beds were hard - really hard. As it was full we could not relocate therefore folded blankets to sleep on for padding. We were able to choose our room for the end of the trip which was larger, had a larger bath, view of the side street, and much more comfortable beds. We only needed the 'air conditioner' a few times being lucky in having very good weather.

Naturally the food in Portugal is fabulous, we ate at a variety of places. At no place did we run into any problems. Lisbon is one of the few places I would return to and this hotel would be one I would definitely return to...however, I'd ask for the softer beds!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeeJL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

It was a Lonely Planet pick and the last accommodation we had during our two weeks in Portugal, and happened to be a lovely surprise. Beautiful breakfast room, antique interior, friendly staff, and not a bad location.

  • Liked — original features
  • Disliked — outdated bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kocka0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

My wife and I arrived on Christmas eve day and enjoyed the hospitality of the owner at a lovely Christmas eve party. We stayed for a week. Our room was spacious, spotless, and quiet. The location is excellent. Right near the Rato metro line and walking distance to downtown. The staff was courteous and unfailingingly helpful. Due to the length of our stay I believe we received a small discount on one of the renovated rooms. The feel, as reported elsewhere, is more of a private residence than hotel. We would definetly stay here again.

  • Liked — The staff, ambience, & location
  • Disliked — Quite a few stairs may prove diffucult for the infirm
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jtk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

The Sao Mamede is a delightful guest house in a quiet Lisbon neighborhood near the Botanical Gardens. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We arrived quite early in the morning due to our flight to Lisbon, and the night manager, Jose, let us have the room immediately. Jose was very helpful with suggestions for our stay, and looked over our car rental contract at our request. The hotel also kept our purchases for us so we didn't have to schlep them around Portugal; they were there waiting for us on our return to Lisbon. The rooms (we had two, one at the beginning and one at the end of our stay in Portugal) were immaculate, if a bit on the drab side. The breakfasts were nothing special, but the breakfast room was very bright and cheery. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk to the Barrio Alto and Chiado, and is also just a few hundred meters from the Rato Metro station. I would highly recommend the Sao Mamede.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank BullwinkleJMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Alegria
#134 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Residencial Florescente
Residencial Florescente
#84 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#89 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
#19 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
HF Fenix Music
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
HF Fenix Garden
#61 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Sao Mamede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Sao Mamede

Property: Casa De Sao Mamede
Address: Rua da Escola Politecnica 159, Lisbon 1250-100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#46 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa De Sao Mamede 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Casa de Sao Mamede" is a small family hotel (26 rooms). Built in the XVIIIth century as the residence of a magistrate. This beautiful building has maintained all the charm of an old family home. It is one of the first buildings to be constructed in the traditional system of "birdcage" - earthquake proof construction used after earthquake of 1755. Having been adapted to a hotel unit in 1948 it knew how to keep throughout the years, the treatment, the tradition and the atmosphere of a true family house. Always trying to preserve the past we did not relinquish however the comfort requirements that contemporary life demands so all the rooms have: private bathroom, telephone, digital safe, satellite television, double glass and air-conditioned with individual command. The fact that we're dealing with a small hotel type unit allow us to grant a more personalized treatment to each customer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa De Sao Mamede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sao Mamede Hotel Lisbon
Casa De Sao Mamede Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing