We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best I've ever stayed in Europe.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marques De Pombal Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Ranked #41 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best I've ever stayed in Europe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Well located hotel (walking distance from many turistic places), very friendly and helpful staff, extremely polite btw. Rooms are spacious and silent, clean, tidy and beautiful.
I found the decoration very sophisticated and simple at the same time. "chic".
The rooms have acustic windows, and very big and confortable beds and pillows.
The bathroom size is perfect and features a nice and clean bathtube.
It has a good gym.
Breakfast is good and great in quality and cleaningness. The food I ordered in my room was also of great quality and presentation.
There is free parking and valet service.
Portugal people are likely to be more polite and friendly than in most places in Europe, but in this hotel the service was really outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    649
    81
    6
    2
See reviews for
241
836
64
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

I stayed at this hotel from June 19-21. The front desk staff was wonderful from the moment I arrived. I had made a mistake in my reservation, but they corrected it graciously and efficiently. The room was modern, spotless and newly decorated. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was included and it was delicious. Although the location is in the business district, it is a 10-15 minute walk down the "Park Avenue" of Lisbon where the pavement is a work of art, with black and white cobblestones arranged in different designs in each block. It's fun to walk just to see it. The hotel is also right at the metro which is clean, safe, cheap, efficient and gets you to the tourist areas in minutes. Lisbon is a delightful city--kind of like a combination of Paris and San Francisco, but with nicer people and better weather. I recommend this hotel and a visit to Lisbon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dctiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

The hotel is conveniently located: about a 20 minute walk into the city centre (Rossio) – although it is slower on the way back as it is uphill. There is a metro station entrance right in front of the hotel as well. It is on a very pretty avenue full of expensive shops and some nice seafood restaurants (I’d really recommend Quebra-Mar, a lovely restaurant halfway down Avenue da Liberdade). The area is also very safe for walking around in at night. The bus from the airport stops very nearby, whilst a taxi is also cheap (less than 9 euros).

The hotel staff were extremely helpful in giving us advice and attending to us. The room was a very good size and the bathroom sparkling. The beds were amongst the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and the TV had a good selection of English channels as well as Portuguese. There was free Wi-Fi in the rooms if you have your own laptop, but otherwise they charged 1 euro to use their computers for 5 minutes!

The selection at breakfast was good. There is a gym in the basement and a nice restaurant and sitting area on the first floor (I didn’t use these but they looked clean and welcoming).

It wasn’t the cheapest hotel, but it was very good quality.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights, the hotel was excellent. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, bedrooms and all common areas really clean, seemed newly refurbished. Lots of choice at breakfast. Nice bar area. We didn't use the restaurant (go to the bay area by the bridge for good restaurants) but it looked fine. Concierges got us taxis easily outside the main door. 10 mins walk to main square. Open- top bus tour of city goes from just up the road. Metro stop 50 metres away.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer64Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

The Marques de Pombal Hotel is a very nice choice if you want to be near the historic center of Lisbon. I stayed here for one night at the beginning and one night at the end of a trip to Portugal. My rates were comfortably below 200 euros, which was a nice deal for a hotel of this quality and location. The Avenida de Liberdade takes you right into the historic heart of the city, the only area I wanted to see and couldn't walk to was Belem. Cabs to and from the airport and train station were quick and inexpensive. The staff were very helpful, arranging cabs for me in advance and helping me book a city tour one afternoon. There is a nice breakfast spread downstairs (though they do not open until 7, beware if you have an early flight or meeting). Their all-day dining restaurant serves decent food and inexpensive wine, and was nice to have since many restaurants in Lisbon open late for dinner. The IPod alarm clock in the room was a nice touch (none of the other hotels I stayed at in Portugal provided alarm clocks at all). English language channels on the TVs are a plus for those who don't speak Portuguese.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 042581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

Having seen the previous reviews, we decided to stay at this hotel for our Lisbon break and we have not regret it at all.
The staff were excellent (very helpful in giving advice about how to get around Lisbon). The hotel rooms were spotless and elegant and the hotel in general was very close to all the monuments, city centre. A metro station was opposite the hotel entrance.
A little tip about the floor of the room:Our room was on the 1st floor and late at night we could hear a noise coming from the underground trains (not very loud but we could still hear it). I suggest to get a room on a higher floor.
Overall, great hotel and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
188 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Room spotless and comfortable. Great position, next to the underground stop, but however in 10 minutes you can walk and reach "The Rossio", the centre of the town.
Very Good Service. Great and rich breakfast

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vally81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#47 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#21 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#34 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
#113 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
HF Fenix Music
HF Fenix Music
#29 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marques De Pombal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marques De Pombal Hotel

Property: Marques De Pombal Hotel
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 243, Lisbon 1250-143, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#36 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marques De Pombal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most prestigious quarter of central Lisbon - Avenida da Liberdade, this brand-new first class hotel boasts of its distinguished and contemporary atmosphere and decoration, while offering a perfect blend of excellent accommodation and service, together with the traditional Portuguese hospitality. All the 123 rooms provide, full soundproofing, individual air conditioning, hairdryer, make-up mirror, satellite TV, ihome, work desk, two direct-dial telephones with voice mail, individual safe box, minibar, Free Wi-Fi, High Speed Internet Access Free, nightly turndown. The accommodation offer is supplemented by our Buffet Breakfast, the BLU All Day Dining Bar with Meals "a la carte" from 12h30 to 00H30, Bar from 10h30 to 01h00 and 24 hour room service. Additionally, we offer 2 meeting rooms, 1 business office, audiovisual equipment, fitness centre with gymnasium, personal trainer, sauna and steam bath, hairdresser, esthetic studio, private garage, valet parking, 24 hour concierge, rent-a-car, laundry and dry cleaning service, ironing service, wake-up call and daily newspapers. Metro station - Marques de Pombal - at 20 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Marques De Pombal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Pombal Lisbon
Hotel Marques De Pombal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing