We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Ranked #42 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A safe choice”
Reviewed June 25, 2008

I stayed at the hotel for three nights and found the hotel to be rather bland, but a good and functional choice.

The room size was ok and the cleanliness impeccable - good sized bathroom. The reception staff was helpful and friendly, Breakfast was not terribly impressive, but adequate. The breakfast room was a rather small, dark and crammed space.

The hotel lies on a wide avenue with quite a lot of traffic and some upmarket shops. However, there was no traffic noise in my room (5th floor towards a sidestreet.) A well functioning aircondition system was also a plus.

Not a hotel to get overly excited by, but definately a safe choice if you are looking for a central and clean hotel in Lisbon.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — lack of personality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Oslo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    673
    82
    7
    2
See reviews for
246
863
68
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

One of the best hotels in Europe. Great value for money. Clean & comfortable rooms. Great breakfast.

  • Liked — Clean & comfy.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DanGro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

A very solid performer, there aren't any superlatives one can use for it but conversely there is nothing one can complain about either.

Its conveniently situated on Avenida Da Liberdade, about five minutes from a bus and Metro stop (the airport bus stops there), about ten minutes from Placa Restaurades one of the main squares, and the same from the Funiculare that takes one to the Bairro Alto for restaurant selections.

The hotel itself is relatively bland, the hallway walls are faced in 1980's style red wood (not redwood however) but the lighting is cheerful. The room is medium sized by American standards with a side table and two easy chairs plus work desk and didn't feel crowded. The bathroom is a good size with a full sized tub including a shower emitting hot water and good water pressure, and the shower doesn't leak onto the floor. Their is a sink, toilet and bidet, along with better than average shelf space for toiletries.

The work desk in the bedroom is a good size for working on and has two desk height electrical outlets, for laptop and other accessories such as a mobile. Broadband is vai Internet and is free, the hotel advertises Wi-Fi in all public rooms but I didn't try that.

The bed was comfortable with extra pillows provided in the closet. The room had the usual European requirement to insert the key for electrical use. The one problem this caused initially is that the rooms air conditioning resets to 20 degrees Celsius and turns off each time one leaves. If one doesn't notice or remember to turn the A/C on each time one returns it can get warm. Unusually the windows open and even though our room was facing Liberdade we weren't bother by street noise, with the window closed it was total silence from the street. The only minor issue I had was that the bed reading lights were pretty ineffective.

The breakfast is either buffet style until ten thirty or continental in the bar until 12 noon. The buffet was okay, nothing special but acceptable. We didn't try either the bar fro drinks nor the restaurant so I cannot comment.

For someone on business it might be attractive as it is convenient to get to from outside the city and it has it's own underground car park.

The staff were generally helpful in making reservations or suggestions. The degree to which they were helpful was closely correlated to their knowledge of English. In addition we noticed that there were at least two receptionists that were fluent in Italian.

Overall I'd say the hotel has little charm or panache but it is a good solid performer that delivers a clean, functional good sized room in which everything worked and was convenient for transport and access to the major tourist spots.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TiburonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Conveinetly located on the Avenida da Liberdade at the top end (near the big roundabout)/nearest to Eduardo VII Park, Lisbon

the hotel is very clean and modern. It is not on the "plush" end. If you want plush try the Sofitel (in the same price range) that has a grand, luxurious entrance which is about 5 minutes walk from the Pombal Hotel.

the lobby is clean, marbled floor but a bit too small for my liking. Reception very friendly.

The breakfast lays on an average spread including english breakfast. Not much of a great selection and the breakfast area is a little small.

Rooms are clean and tidy. We stayed in a standard twin room - functional, simple and rather clinically. Pity these rooms do not have a kettle. I like to have a cup of herbal upon waking and sleeping.

Good points about the hotel is that it is very central to all major sights and is located in a safe enviroment. This hotel would suit a business traveller because it is an extremely functional hotel. Metro just outside. Metro is Marques de Pombal (blue line) which i find connects to all other attractions quite easily. The biggest shopping centre in Lisbon - "Columbo" is about 7 stops away - 10 mins.

if you use "Restauradores" as the centre point/meeting point then If you do not like hiking to the hotel every night then i suggest staying on the Avenida street but perhaps in the middle or at the other end of the street nearer to Restauradores which is where the centre starts which are where the majority of cafes, restaurants are.

If you want something a little cosier or has that luxurious feel then i suggest the Sofitel.

All in all a good functional hotel and at the centre for all major sites and attractions.

  • Liked — Very clean, good location - metro outside hotel.
  • Disliked — functional hotel
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lillian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#26 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#35 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#19 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#49 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marques De Pombal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marques De Pombal Hotel

Property: Marques De Pombal Hotel
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 243, Lisbon 1250-143, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marques De Pombal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most prestigious quarter of central Lisbon - Avenida da Liberdade, this brand-new first class hotel boasts of its distinguished and contemporary atmosphere and decoration, while offering a perfect blend of excellent accommodation and service, together with the traditional Portuguese hospitality. All the 123 rooms provide, full soundproofing, individual air conditioning, hairdryer, make-up mirror, satellite TV, ihome, work desk, two direct-dial telephones with voice mail, individual safe box, minibar, Free Wi-Fi, High Speed Internet Access Free, nightly turndown. The accommodation offer is supplemented by our Buffet Breakfast, the BLU All Day Dining Bar with Meals "a la carte" from 12h30 to 00H30, Bar from 10h30 to 01h00 and 24 hour room service. Additionally, we offer 2 meeting rooms, 1 business office, audiovisual equipment, fitness centre with gymnasium, personal trainer, sauna and steam bath, hairdresser, esthetic studio, private garage, valet parking, 24 hour concierge, rent-a-car, laundry and dry cleaning service, ironing service, wake-up call and daily newspapers. Metro station - Marques de Pombal - at 20 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marques De Pombal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Pombal Lisbon
Hotel Marques De Pombal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing