We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Ranked #44 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was good with lots of fresh fruit and really good coffee. They also had hot food choices too. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was the soundproofing, you could hear people talking however this was when we were awake and it did not wake us. The hotel is well situated-less than 45 mins from the airport by metro. The 3 day Lisboa card was well worth the money. The hotel is also only about a 20 min stroll from the centre. Well worth a visit if you travel to Lisbon

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

The staff at this hotel made you feel very welcome indeed, and could not do enough for you, their English and other languages was first-class.

A tip for other travellers, there is a restaurant called 'the American Disaster' which is very hidden, but around the corner on the same block as the Marquis De Pombal where you can get very reasonably priced meals, and excellent salads, and also a small Bar/Coffee area in the same building that supplies litres of water (well worth knowing). The entrance looks just like a building holding offices, amid the Santandar Bank complex.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is very new, the staff is helful, the rooms are big and clean, the location is great... It could be easily perfect - I had only two things to complain about. First - the breakfast. I never ever tasted something so bad then their scrambled eggs, and the selection was very poor compared to other hotels in Lisbon (e.g. no fresh fruits). The second - they have no iron to lend, so I had to pay for the laundry to iron my blouse for my business meeting...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nettie1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Marques de Pombal for three nights in May 2013. LIsbon was completely unknown to me when I made the booking online but as it turned out this was a convenient choice.

The hotel is your average modern tourist hotel. It's very clean and comfortable, the reception staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English. The room was like dozens of others I've stayed in and it did the job well.

An important feature was the double glazing of the window in the room, a welcome detail considering the fact that Avenida Da Liberdade is a very busy road. The double glazing was very effective (as was the air conditioning) but the window could still be opened for some fresh air if needed.

The breakfast was very good. I didn't use the restaurant for other meals.

Lisbon has an efficient and easy to use metro system and the Marques de Pombal station entrance is rightout side the hotel's front door. (Note that this particular entrance is closed on weekends; there is another entrance about 100 metres to the left.)

The hotel is only a few metro stops from the centre of the old city and the harbour so it was very easy to get to see the major sights. But be warned, Lisbon is very hilly and the metro won't get you to all of them without a bit of foot-slogging.

If you want to use the metro to get from and to the airport you can, but beware that you will often have to use steps. Not every level is connected by escalators or lifts, so if you have heavy luggage this might not be a good idea.

As I was very ripped off by my taxi from the airport (24 euros) I considered taking the metro when I was I was leaving, but the hotel offered a nice service on check out. For 15 euros they would book the taxi, prepaid, giving me a voucher to present to the driver. This took the hassle out of the taxi payment process and the amount was just added to my bill.

However, the taxi's meter came to slightly less than 15 euros so I guess someone is making a little on the side. This didn't bother me though, and it was much more comfortable (not to mention quicker) than using the metro.

There is a taxi stand right outside the hotel (a little to the left from the front entrance) so I was prepared to get my own cab anyway.

I was very happy with this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrahaminAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We just spent 2 weeks here. It was very clean, stylish and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and we had a lovely view from the 8th floor. It was very quiet and the room was a good size. The breakfast was very good with lots to choose from. The location is only a short walk to the city center. There are some very nice restaurants close by. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and have nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brontecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. It was a really good hotel. One of the best we have stayed in.
Clean and good sized room and bathroom. Bed is with a hard mattress (good to know), but you have several different sorts of pillows that helps. There is both a minibar and a free safe Deposit Box in the wardrobe and free wifi connection, very helpful when checking Tripadvisor!
We enjoyed the big buffet breakfast with great Nespresso coffee machine!
Location is good, easy reach to both shopping and great restaurants.
...one more thing. We really liked the double glazed windows. Minimum noise from the street!
Highly recomended hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToPi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

With only 3 days to spend in and around Lisbon, this is an excellent choice in hotels. The hotel itself is lovely, clean and modern. The breakfast is very good. The staff is friendly and very helpful. A special thank you to Bina for arranging our tour and to Carla Simoes for her invaluable help in printing our boarding passes.

It's a very manageable and beautiful walk straight down Ave. Liberdade to Rossio, and then to the neighborhoods of old Lisbon. Because of the hotel's proximity to the Marques de Pombal Square, it's quiet in the evenings, but with many nice restaurants.

The only two very minor drawbacks worth mentioning are spotty WiFi and not much in the way of bathroom amenities. The latter was only important as we were flying TAP and their severe weight restrictions on carryon luggage (17lbs) caused us to leave many personal care items at home.

We liked this hotel very much and would not hesitate to book it again on our next trip to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 255 in Lisbon
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
Turim Av Liberdade Hotel
#125 of 255 in Lisbon
1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#51 of 255 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0.8 mi away
Olissippo Saldanha
Olissippo Saldanha
#37 of 255 in Lisbon
695 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#41 of 255 in Lisbon
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marques De Pombal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marques De Pombal Hotel

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 243, Lisbon 1250-143, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#39 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $110 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marques De Pombal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most prestigious quarter of central Lisbon - Avenida da Liberdade, this brand-new first class hotel boasts of its distinguished and contemporary atmosphere and decoration, while offering a perfect blend of excellent accommodation and service, together with the traditional Portuguese hospitality. All the 123 rooms provide, full soundproofing, individual air conditioning, hairdryer, make-up mirror, satellite TV, ihome, work desk, two direct-dial telephones with voice mail, individual safe box, minibar, Free Wi-Fi, High Speed Internet Access Free, nightly turndown. The accommodation offer is supplemented by our Buffet Breakfast, the BLU All Day Dining Bar with Meals "a la carte" from 12h30 to 00H30, Bar from 10h30 to 01h00 and 24 hour room service. Additionally, we offer 2 meeting rooms, 1 business office, audiovisual equipment, fitness centre with gymnasium, personal trainer, sauna and steam bath, hairdresser, esthetic studio, private garage, valet parking, 24 hour concierge, rent-a-car, laundry and dry cleaning service, ironing service, wake-up call and daily newspapers. Metro station - Marques de Pombal - at 20 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marques De Pombal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Pombal Lisbon
Hotel Marques De Pombal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing