We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Ranked #40 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while in Lisbon. Great location by the metro station and many restaurants just walking down the avenue towards the downtown center. Our room was clean and bright. No coffee machine although we were happy to have a bath tub! The breakfast was fine, I have had better but at least the coffee was better than in Spain. The staff were very friendly and helpful in giving out tourist information. While I did not like Lisbon, I did like the Belem area but if I had to stay in Lisbon again I would consider this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pottylorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    662
    82
    7
    2
See reviews for
243
852
66
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in August after seeing previous recommendations from Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed and the hotel lived up to all our expectations.
Was in very convenient location with the metro station right outside the door and major tourist bus stops a short distance away.
We loved the area and the shops and restaurants were all within walking distance or a short taxi drive away if wanting to sample different areas such as Alfama.
The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and our room was very comfortable and clean.
The buffet breakfast was substantial and very adequate to start your day before leaving to see the sights of Lisbon.
All in all would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure and would certainly return if holidaying in Lisbon again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanttoflyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
240 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel has the perfect location to transportation, metro station in front of the hotel, close to banks, restaurants shops, etc.
The room we got 208 concern was street noise, with the doble windows noise was none existent, the curtains did not let any light in also a great feature, beds and pillows very comfortable. size of the room and bathrom was perfect, big by european standards.
everything felt and looked clean.
Breakfast was included it was ok, not great but good, cereals, eggs, toast, juices enough to get you started for a busy day.
customer service was excelent very accomodating, would stay again in this hotel, and recomend to others.

Room Tip: I dont think you can get a bad rooms since noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergiorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Jadida, Morocco
Level Contributor
412 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I don't think I can add much to the rave reviews of this place. I couldn't fault a single thing. Clean, efficient, nice breakfast, good location, great staff, good restaurant. The underground stop is just metres from the door. The staff give excellent advice on where to go and eat. I shall be going back in 3 months when I'm next in Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 549JohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Well situaded near to metro with walking distance to the " city and shopping areas" and great service in reception and the restaurant. They helped us with booking of restaurants etc. The cleaning in the bathroom could have been better. The breakfast buffe was okay but I missed vegetables and better coffee. I can recommend this hotel and hope you get a great visit in this fantastic city.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jannalenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It is a superb location for all major tourist attractions and ideal for city centre exploring. The welcome was friendly and efficient, being provided with a local map and suggestions of places to vist and eat. There was no 'hard sell' at all, this was genuinely wanting to help and offer assistance. The rooms are typical of a city centre location but clean. The bathrooms are very clean but a little dated. We stayed on the second floor and despite being located on the main road out of the city the double glazing was very effective, no traffic noise at all. I would suggest rooms on a higher floor as the trees outside did make it a little dark. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety and plently of choice. The only downside is that the breakfast room is an internal room so there is no natural day light. The bar is ideal for a drink after a long day of sightseeing and is located with lovely views out over the main avenue. We would also recommend the hotel restaurant for dinner, the food was excellent with plenty of choice and to a very high standard. It was just a shame that more guests did not eat in the restaurant to add to the ambiance etc. Both bar and restaurant prices are very reasonale for city centre location. Aprox 70 euros for 2 people, having 2 course dinner, water, glass of wine and coffee. Even when arriving at 5.30pm, the journey from the airport was only around 25 minutes and the metro stop is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Would suggest hop on hop off bus tickets are bought from the hotel as theyare cheaper. The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the main starting point for all tour busses so again, an ideal location. When purchasing the bus tickets, would suggest you opt for a two day pass and suggest the red and green route. The green route gives access to the castle and cathedral and avoids a very very steep walk up to them.

Room Tip: Higher floors are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3BTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just coming to the end of a five night stay here. Hotel is excellent with a very convenient location and good facilities. Rooms are to a good standard, albeit that bathrooms are a bit dated.

The staff here are all friendly and helpful, speak good English and do their best to make your stay a pleasant one. The gym is small but well maintained and the bar is OK but lacks atmosphere.

Breakfast is good, made better by excellent N'expresso coffee machine.

Room Tip: As with all hotels ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#34 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#21 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#47 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marques De Pombal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marques De Pombal Hotel

Property: Marques De Pombal Hotel
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 243, Lisbon 1250-143, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marques De Pombal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most prestigious quarter of central Lisbon - Avenida da Liberdade, this brand-new first class hotel boasts of its distinguished and contemporary atmosphere and decoration, while offering a perfect blend of excellent accommodation and service, together with the traditional Portuguese hospitality. All the 123 rooms provide, full soundproofing, individual air conditioning, hairdryer, make-up mirror, satellite TV, ihome, work desk, two direct-dial telephones with voice mail, individual safe box, minibar, Free Wi-Fi, High Speed Internet Access Free, nightly turndown. The accommodation offer is supplemented by our Buffet Breakfast, the BLU All Day Dining Bar with Meals "a la carte" from 12h30 to 00H30, Bar from 10h30 to 01h00 and 24 hour room service. Additionally, we offer 2 meeting rooms, 1 business office, audiovisual equipment, fitness centre with gymnasium, personal trainer, sauna and steam bath, hairdresser, esthetic studio, private garage, valet parking, 24 hour concierge, rent-a-car, laundry and dry cleaning service, ironing service, wake-up call and daily newspapers. Metro station - Marques de Pombal - at 20 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marques De Pombal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Pombal Lisbon
Hotel Marques De Pombal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing