We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st night in Portugal--excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marques De Pombal Hotel
Ranked #42 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“1st night in Portugal--excellent choice”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

After 30 hours of air travel to Lisbon, this was a wonderful and comforting place to arrive at. Comfortable, clean, personable (not too large an establishment). Very helpful staff, answering questions the next morning on how to get to the train station. Excellent breakfast. I loved the view from our room, affording me my first glimpse of this absolutely gorgeous, charming city. I was on a sketching holiday in Portugal. I did my first sketch from our room's window, looking down on the Avenida da Liberdade with Lisbon’s signature ochre-colored, red tile roofed buildings beyond.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room with a nice view & got it. It was facing the side street, not the Aveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sea-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    675
    82
    7
    2
See reviews for
246
865
68
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here in 2008 and really liked the hotel. I also chose it as conference hotel for conference I was co-organizing. Quite satisfied with it. The rooms are very adequate--not spacious but big enough, clean etc, nicely decorated. Free wifi which is important to us. Breakfasts are nice--luncheon meats, cheeses, eggs, juices, coffee/tea etc and the bkfst room pleasant. Very reasonably priced and good value. It's conveniently located on tree-shaded broad blvd and a subway entrance (yellow and blue lines) right in front of the hotel (although you have to walk through the station a bit). Close walk to large park and in other direction cafes and restaurants. Not a bad walk to Baxia area either.

I'd give it a 5 star but not luxurious and I only give 5 stars to the very best extraordinary places. They also fouled up some of our conference participants' reservations (told them they'd have to check out a day prematurely).

But a really great, comfortable, affordable base for exploring Lisbon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were very pleased with this hotel. The room was spotless and a good size, the breakfast very good (especially that Nespresso machine), and location very convenient (a metro stop right out the door, and walkable to so much) and the staff very helpful (general questions, restaurant reservations, etc).

For the quality, and I thought this hotel was very reasonable. There are many nice restaurants nearby as well. We mostly walked but did resort to the metro and cable car on occasion. Lisbon is a VERY hilly city, and the cobblestones can be tough on the feet, so sometimes you do need a break.

We really liked the city, and thought this hotel was just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Excellent choice in lisbon! Breakfast was not very good but really excellent compared to cost in general! Will stay there next time as well!

Norway

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlend_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Just came back from Lisbon and stayed in the Marques De Pombal. First the good: The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Always smiling and eager to help. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The restaurant has excellent food and a nice view of the park across the street so you can watch people going about their everyday routines. Even though there isn't a taxi stand in front of the hotel, there is one a half a block away and the door man is always eager to flag one down for you and tell the driver where you are going. Most taxi drivers will speak some english. The front desk will remember everything about your plans and ask you upon your return how your day went.
Now, the not so good: The hotel is not centrally located so you must take a taxi or other means of trans. When I told the front desk that I was going to visit the Museum of the Azulejos they neglected to tell me that all museums are closed on Mondays. I had cabbed it all the way over there only to find it closed! Make sure you ask for a non-smoking room if you don't smoke. My first room stunk of smoke but they very quickly moved me and were happy to do it.
It's a 15 minute ride from the airport, about 8 euros. Oh, and free wifi in rooms. It's a good business hotel and there were many business people there. If you plan on doing alot of sightseeing I don't think this would be a good location for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Good clean accommodation. Friendly staff, internet and nearby metro station. Very good value for Money. Made our stay enjoyable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Great location and the hotel is perfectly suited for those who want a clean room, internet access and a central location to see Lisbon. Only complaint is that the front desk recommended a horrible restaurant nearby. Normally I would not complain, but they handed me a business card for the restaurant with the hotel's stamp on it, suggesting they get some form of kickback from quests who eat there. Free internet access works well, either through a cable hookup in the room or the wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willlytle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#26 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
SANA Lisboa Hotel
SANA Lisboa Hotel
#35 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#20 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#49 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marques De Pombal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marques De Pombal Hotel

Property: Marques De Pombal Hotel
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 243, Lisbon 1250-143, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marques De Pombal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most prestigious quarter of central Lisbon - Avenida da Liberdade, this brand-new first class hotel boasts of its distinguished and contemporary atmosphere and decoration, while offering a perfect blend of excellent accommodation and service, together with the traditional Portuguese hospitality. All the 123 rooms provide, full soundproofing, individual air conditioning, hairdryer, make-up mirror, satellite TV, ihome, work desk, two direct-dial telephones with voice mail, individual safe box, minibar, Free Wi-Fi, High Speed Internet Access Free, nightly turndown. The accommodation offer is supplemented by our Buffet Breakfast, the BLU All Day Dining Bar with Meals "a la carte" from 12h30 to 00H30, Bar from 10h30 to 01h00 and 24 hour room service. Additionally, we offer 2 meeting rooms, 1 business office, audiovisual equipment, fitness centre with gymnasium, personal trainer, sauna and steam bath, hairdresser, esthetic studio, private garage, valet parking, 24 hour concierge, rent-a-car, laundry and dry cleaning service, ironing service, wake-up call and daily newspapers. Metro station - Marques de Pombal - at 20 m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marques De Pombal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Pombal Lisbon
Hotel Marques De Pombal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing