We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Wonderful experience.”
Review of Cantinho Lusitano

Cantinho Lusitano
Ranked #24 of 4,140 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Principe Real
Description: Small restaurant dedicated to the Portuguese cuisine with careful choice of snacks, wines and delicatessen
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food. Wonderful experience.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Brought a rowdy crowd of 8 in and we had a great time. Food and wine were superb and our hosts were amazing. Thank you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FizzyLiftingDrinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    214
    57
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Try to go twice”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I would echo other reviews that this cosy out of the way restaurant is outstanding. We went there twice and so tried pretty much everything on the menu and felt only one dish was average, the rest were delicious and I am with those that wax lyrically about the goats cheese with honey and rosemary - and I'm not a big fan of goats cheese. Unless you are very hungry & thirsty it is probably impossible to spend more than 25 euros a head, with some great wine at little above shop prices. An absolute must.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quality and value for money”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

As other reviews note this is a small restaurant in a residential street which is difficult to find but persevere it is worth it! Food was of a very high standard, served by attentive staff and fantastic value for money! We are on a 4 night trip and have already reserved a 2nd night at this gem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judycharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty tapas”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Came here on our last night in Lisbon and so glad we did. Having read earlier reviews on trip advisor we felt we had to try the goats cheese and honey and have to agree that it was a taste sensation. The sausage selection & beef were also fantastic - and the lemon tart amazing. Great value for money. Very small & intimate, so be sure to book - several people were queuing outside for a table. Great service - very helpful in explaining what everything was. Strongly recommend this quaint little restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMarie937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

You must try this restaurant if you are in Lisbon! The place is tiny (seats about 20) and out-of-the-way, but well worth a reservation to ensure you get in. The husband & wife team that run this restaurant are amazing! I was with a party of 8, so we tried almost everything on the menu and it was all delicious. You must get the baked goat cheese with rosemary & honey and the stuffed mushrooms. It is honestly one of the best meals I've ever had...and the 8 of us ate and drank (5-6 bottles of wine) for about 120 Euros!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinho Lusitano also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cantinho Lusitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing