We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy restaurant outside the main tourist areas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cantinho Lusitano

Cantinho Lusitano
Ranked #22 of 4,047 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Principe Real
Description: Small restaurant dedicated to the Portuguese cuisine with careful choice of snacks, wines and delicatessen
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant outside the main tourist areas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

During our recent trip to Lisboa, we wanted to experience some traditional Portuguese food. This place fit the bill. We loved it so much we went back again. The place is small and the tables are filled based once the Chef's schedule. This insures that the food is perfectly timed for each table. Silvia, the waitress,is fantastic. She is fluent in English. Everything she recommended was fantastic. The goat cheese, honey, and rosemary should not be missed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jphilli3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    212
    57
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Outstanding flavours,good variety and an amazing price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

A series of typical dishes were served,each complimenting the previous one.Pork,beef cheeses were served in a variety of imaginative ways.A small but delicious selection of desserts and great wine and coffee served to demonstrate why this tiny establishment has been so praised

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked in advance through email. Very easy and efficient. For two people, we shared four plates, bread, one dessert, and a bottle of wine all for a reasonable price of 60 euros.

Started with the bread and olives. Garlic butter was a nice touch. Goat cheese with honey and rosemary was as good as everyone stared. Put onto little toast points which nicely soaked up the honey. Chorizo and grilled black pork were both sausages but very different flavors and textures. Wonderful. Rosemary roasted potatoes were also delicious. The only thing that just just okay was the shrimp. Not that is was bad, it just wasn't extraordinary like the other plates. I was too full for dessert but hubby declared the lemon tart a winner.

Service was excellent and the tiny dining room was intimate and cozy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pdrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Read some reviews on tripadvisor before visiting. Really was a positive surprise! Very good tastes and the goat cheese was amazing. Recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Charming...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Learned of this highly popular and recommended restaurant at roughly 17:00 on a Wednesday. After emailing the establishment immediately with no hope of getting a table quickly, my boyfriend and I received a prompt and warm response inviting us to the restaurant that very night. Upon arrival the owner herself greeted and sat us at our table, then graciously helped us choose from the many wonderful tapas available on the menu. The black pork sausage platter and the goat cheese with honey and rosemary should not be missed. What a fantastic evening and a great eatery. My only regret-that we were leaving to head back home to the US the next day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mybeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinho Lusitano also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cantinho Lusitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing