We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but it's worthy to visit once.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cantinho Lusitano

Cantinho Lusitano
Ranked #22 of 4,047 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Principe Real
Description: Small restaurant dedicated to the Portuguese cuisine with careful choice of snacks, wines and delicatessen
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expensive but it's worthy to visit once.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This really tiny restaurant is a bad placed pearl in this city.

The restaurant is off the main touristic paths. But it's worth the visit.

Again, it's very small. It has capability to sit 20 people max. But it's this small capacity that makes this place special. The service becomes more personal, the staff are nicer than in most places.

It's a place that only serves appetizers. Each dish is small but delicious. We were 2 and we ordered about 4 dishes. It's small portions but it's great for sharing.

We ordered Cheese with pumpkin sweet, Scrambled eggs with "Alheira", Baked potatoes with rosemary and stuffed mushrooms. It was €22,50 without drinks.

It's an expensive restaurant but it's worth the visit. If you enjoy a snack instead of a big meal for dinner, this is a place for you.

It's only open at dinner time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PedroNunesMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    212
    57
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited here at Easter really enjoyed the food & wine husband & daughter raved about the goats cheese with honey & rosemary I have since copied this at home with success
I'm not a lover of goats cheese but loved the sausages bread potatoes
A really pleasant evening do book very small lots of people turned away

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jellybabe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All around great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The food is unique with a traditional flair. Great personal service, warm atmosphere, delicious inexpensive wine, Go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNAFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Book early and enjoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We loved Cantinho Lusitano. It has maybe 6 tables so booking is a must (we booked via email before arrival in Portugal). Very cute and cozy inside with a server who is super friendly (I think her husband is the chef?) We wanted to try everything on the menu and asked our server for recommendations. We ended up with: goat cheese with honey/rosemary (nice, but too rich to start with), cod cakes with rice/beans (awesome!), and a dish of chicken gizzards that were to die for. Best thing we ate in Lisbon! Seriously.

Yes, it is a bit difficult to find, but totally worth it. No, it is not expensive at all. Yes, get several dishes to share and a bottle of wine.

Fantastic evening. Thank you, Cantinho Lusitano.

You can see a few pictures of the restaurant and food on our blog here: http://buencamino1.wordpress.com/2013/03/23/its-good-to-be-queen/

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Divebugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic, rustic and personal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

You have to book this restaurant as it only has a few tables and is so busy you can't actually just walk in - the owner has to open the door for you (probably because they have to turn so many people away). It is set in the most improbable of locations but do make the trip if you can - the food is very good, simple but delicious and the wine is good too (try the red Terra - very easy drinking and great value). Do not leave without trying the goats cheese with honey and rosemary - so simple but fantastic! Our best meal in Lisbon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinho Lusitano also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cantinho Lusitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing