We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tiny restaurant with a big heart”
Review of Cantinho Lusitano

Cantinho Lusitano
Ranked #26 of 4,146 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Principe Real
Description: Small restaurant dedicated to the Portuguese cuisine with careful choice of snacks, wines and delicatessen
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A tiny restaurant with a big heart”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had tried to get here two nights in a row but they had no seating available so we arranged for a réservation on our return to Lisbon from the North, Once we got to the restaurant we knew why--it is tiny. The couple that runs it is extremely welcoming and helpful. It is all small dishes (petiscos) and you order a few of them, share, and enjoy. You can always order more as they come fairly quickly. The chickpea salad, Strips of Beef with Special Sauce and Fried Sweet Potatoes, melted goat cheese with honey and rosemary (we had to go for a second one!), and the Grilled Chouriço Sausage with Moscatel Sauce were all delicious. Price to quality ratio is excellent. This place is a small jewel worth visiting again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LMF1212_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    214
    57
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great find!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We decided to come to Cantinho Lusitano for dinner having read the reveiws on here, and we definitely weren't disappointed! The tapas dishes were so delicious, and they had a good mix of traditional and unusual dishes to choose from. They were very friendly and accomodating, and we felt really comfortable and well looked after. Definitely try this place out for a relaxed and tantalising restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amardeep81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Well looked after”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We booked into the Cantinho Lusitano for my husband's birthday for our first night in Lisbon. We booked based on the reviews and we were not disappointed. The Cantinho is small, and casual. This is not a high class restaurant. But it is good honest food, well cooked and well presented. We were a party of ten and the restaurant only holds about 18 places. So we filled it with a rowdy family gathering. We were so well looked after. The hostess was very patient with us and spoke excellent English. She explained what the food was, how it was going to be served etc. We had booked the set menu as we didn't know anything about Portuguese food, or what to order. We felt very well looked after, and she even rang for a taxi when we were leaving, as there were none coming down the street at the time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
266 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner - twice!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had reservations here for our first night in Lisbon. It is a small place - set up for five tables that night - so make sure you have reservations! There were plenty of options, even though I'm vegetarian. The baked goat cheese with honey and rosemary was incredible, and the fava bean salad was also exceptional. The wine selections are good and economical. Service was very friendly. After trying to find somewhere for dinner the next day and finding nothing even remotely interesting, we walked back - hoping there would be an empty table. We were in luck - there was one two top not reserved! We gladly spent another evening here.

In addition to the great food, this is a great value. Definitely the best meal for the money during our entire two week trip. I just wish we could have spoken with the chef more - we chatted with him during our second visit - but even five or six tables keeps a good chef busy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, impeccable service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I visited here as part of a large group recently and had a set menu tapas style dinner. That night we ate some of the best food we've ever eaten in our lives. The hands down highlight was a baked goats cheese that had been marinating or sitting in some kind of honey rosemary sauce, it was amazing.

The lady who waited on our table told us a lot about Lisbon and also about the food on the menu. She was passionate about the place and that passion was evident in the food that came out. It was a quite a small restaurant but it had a really relaxed feel about it

The restaurant went out of their way to accommodate my vegetarian friend and make sure he had variety, When it came time the waitress also called taxis for us.

If you have the chance, definitely visit this fantastic little restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roopinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinho Lusitano also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cantinho Lusitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing