We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well worth the search” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cantinho Lusitano

Cantinho Lusitano
Ranked #22 of 3,811 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Principe Real
Description: Small restaurant dedicated to the Portuguese cuisine with careful choice of snacks, wines and delicatessen
Kington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well worth the search”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Wonderful small restaurant. Luckily had printed out directions from our hotel as it would be hard just to come across it. We had made a reservation which also was a good move as we arrived early at 7.30 and by 8pm the place was full. The tapas style menu was varied and when the food arrived we were not disappointed. Prices were very reasonable and the lone front of house lady was very attentive with time to chat to everyone in a range of languages. Highly recommend you try to find this wonderful petite restaurant, but book beforehand to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dujaks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    761
    205
    56
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lancs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cosy at home setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Excellent value for money from the tapas through to the wine. Good choice of tapas on menu but limited choice of wine - this did not spoil our evening though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank edenLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming staff and delicious food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Being a wheel chair user in Lisbon is a pain for me and for restaurants! The front of house lady here could not have been more delightful or helpful! The charming little restaurant is in a pretty steep residential hill and given how close cars park to each other I could have had an "interesting" time getting from taxi to pavement if I hadn't had a walking frame with me.... Would have had to travel some way up or down said steep hill to get chair between cars up on to pavement. Once inside (1 step) we enjoyed delicious tapas food (ESP "fava" (broad) beans with cumin... Delicious!) and the Lemon tart and chocolate brownie puddings were both fantastically good!
Personally found the beef and meat balls a little bit bland but we still ate the lot! One more step to small but perfectly functional loo.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great recommendation from Trip Advisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked before departing the UK for Lisbon seeing the popularity of this restaurant and were glad that we had done so. It's very small, we counted about 20 covers so book in order not to be disappointed.

Let's be clear about this though. We are NOT talking about Michelin starred cuisine here. Some reports here indicate that some people may be expecting more than this cantina is able to offer.

If you want michelin starred cuisine, international food or are a 'picky' eater then go elsewhere. However, if you want to sample some fresh, well prepared local food then please go! Oh, it's also excellent value for money and the most expensive wine was only about £14 and very good for the price.

The atmosphere and welcome was warm and we felt very at home. We spoke to the guys on table next to us and they were making a return visit as they had enjoyed it so much the night before. We ate early and the restaurant was only really filling up as we were leaving. The restaurant was really warming up, quite literally and I saw no aircon. I can imagine in the height of summer it would be stifling and could be uncomfortable. That said, I'd still go for a taste of portugal.

Please note, if you are travelling by taxi, ensure you have the address of the restaurant written down. Our taxi first took us to the wrong address, in a quite run down area, and we had to be insistent he found the right place (difficult when we couldn't speak the language). He then had to stop and ask someone the way. Not the only problem we had with taxis finding the right address when in Lisbon. Be prepared!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank janeys60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value and a unique experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great little restaurant - you literally feel like you are sat in someone's front room! It is a small tapas bar with only 5 / 6 tables which ensure the freshness of food, intimate atmosphere and great customer service.

We were delighted with the overall cost of the meal (approx 60 euro for 4 people; few beers each, breads and olives to start, 6 dishes which we shared all of which where generous in size).

All the dishes were lovely but our favorites were the strips of beef with potatoes and stuffed mushrooms.

Well worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyBethWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinho Lusitano also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cantinho Lusitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing