We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botanico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Botanico Hotel
Ranked #148 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Perfect Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a find! I booked over the internet and crossed my fingers. I should not have worried; Botanico Hotel was a perfect base for a couple of “girls” to explore Lisbon. Close to everything yet tucked away from the worst of the city noise, we were able to see the sights of the city on foot – and carry our shopping back. Yes, uphill but very good for the waistline! We did use nearby cafes and restaurants for all our meals – just to experience more of city life. Helpful staff, a clean, reasonably-sized room and modern bar/lounge on the ground floor made for a comfortable stay. Free wifi too! Botanico set us up for a wonderful time in Lisbon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Textiletourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    192
    76
    15
    4
See reviews for
68
156
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel one night in June 2012 after a horrendous experience at another "hotel" on a central square. So I might be a bit skewed in my feelings for this place because it felt like a haven to me.

This place has got a great, safe, comfortable mixture of small-european-corporate-hotel feel and some of the warm-fuzzy of having a personable desk person. It's clean and relatively modern. The hotel is just a very short walk from one of the main tree-lined avenues of Lisbon and then on to one of the main squares where you can find tourist offices and post offices and tons of restaurants. The hotel is up a little side street that's up a little incline, away from everything enough that you won't hear a thing.

Just be careful if you walk home at night. There's a tiny little greenspace/park on the street which seems to house one or two of the city's drugged-out homeless. During the day it's a lovely little patch of green; I never felt particularly UNsafe, even at dusk. It's just something to know you're going to see.

The room has everything you need/want: fine bed(s), is super-clean, with a modern if small (not by Euro standards though) bathroom, wonderful air conditioning with remote control, etc. You can pay a little extra for access to the breakfast buffet downstairs which has almost every food you could want.

Downstairs in the lobby/lounge area, you can, if you want, buy a drink or coffee. I needed a computer with internet (didn't need wifi at the time - which I think they had for free) so the desk guy logged me into their tiny little netpad where you have to pay a bit much for each minute. By now, maybe they've got a better system, or really, most people have wifi devices so this is a non-issue.

For the price, comparatively, I would definitely stay here again if ever I'm in Lisbon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickelHooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Into nosebleed territory here. Botanico is at the top of a cul de sac with either a zig-zag road or a challenging set of steps to reach the summit.

Rooms are a bit poky and not the cleanest. Bathroom was tiny. Breakfast is served in the basement, a good selection available. My tariff said breakfast included. At checkout I was told otherwise. Hats off to the receptionist who deleted the bill for 4 breakfasts without any argument.

In the vicinity are some great restaurants and the nightlife is over the summit- less than 10 minutes stagger away.

You won't be spending much time in the hotel other than sleeping so I can't really fault it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Situated at the very top of Bairro Alto and overlooking Avenida da Liberdade this is a prominent location in Lisbon within 10 minutes' walk to the Metro and nightlife (about 20 minutes' drive to the airport too).

Friendly and amenable service from the outset and for €50 for a double room (including a very reasonable breakfast) this hotel offers good value for money.

I was moved from my original room (21) as the safety deposit box was broken; it also had signs of damp behind the curtains. Room 23 was offered as a replacement which provided a much nicer environment; the only problem being street noise from late night revellers passing back from Bairro Alto.

Amenities included basic toiletries and a good choice of TV channels as well as a reasonable mini-bar and welcome drink (Port, obviously). WiFi and air-con throughout.

Overall a satisfactory stay for a 2 night, first time trip to Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hotel Botanico is wonderful. We were there with my son in September 2009. The hotel has very good location - close to downtown, but on a small quiet street. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast was rich and delicious. The staff is very nice and helpful. I would like to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant0anet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is my fourth time staying at this hotel the staff are excellent rooms are clean and large breafast is good and fresh there is a. choice of two metro stations within five mins excellent indian restaurant fifty meters from hotel and a wine bar nearby.

Room Tip: Two lifts the one for cleaning staff starts at 7.30 am and can be heard from some rooms but not bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derekmillar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Pro's:
-Welcome drink of Port!
-Nice, friendly, 24h staff
-Taxi's in 5 minutes from front desk (with no commission)
-Decent breakfast
-Good minibar in room (although $$ compared to bars)
-Steps away from city centre and main eating / shopping districts
-1.5 hour walk to Belem Tower

Con's:
-Small rooms, no iron (may be available from desk)
-Shower was a little sketchy but overall not bad

I would stay here again. Was in Lisbon for a conference and found this very convenient for Lisboa Congress Center. Definitely check out the snack bar across the street - good port and custard tarts!

Room Tip: Room 12 wasn't bad....but almost street level so some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumbi_Sahel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Travel Park
#100 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Lisbon City Hotel
#152 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#128 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Safira
#173 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#116 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanico Hotel

Property: Botanico Hotel
Address: Rua Mae D'Agua 16 20, Lisbon 1250-156, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Botanico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botanico Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing