We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to access sites”
Review of Hotel Jorge V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jorge V
Ranked #193 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This reasonably priced smallish hotel is a good location for walking to many of the sites in Lisbon. It's one block from the beautiful Avenida de Libertab and walking south down the Avenida leads to access to George's castle, the ocean and other tourist sites. We enjoyed having breakfast and an afternoon coffee or drink at one of the many cafes along the Avenida and dinner/drinks at Guilty which is around the corner from the hotel. We did not eat at the hotel.
The rooms are small as in many hotels in Europe and the beds are hard. Sometimes the street noise was loud enough to wake us up. The staff was very helpful and politely answered our many questions. For the price paid we were satisfied with this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face the street.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank farish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jorge V
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 501 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Enjoyed our 3 night stay even though the rooms were very small. The front desk staff were so nice and helpful, calling for reservations, recommending restaurants, calling taxis, etc. We didn't do breakfast there, but we did have drinks in the little lounge area each night. The bartender was so friendly and explained to us about Port and Portuguese wines. Great location a couple of blocks from Avenida de Liberdade so away from the noise/chaos but walking distance from everything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyF89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Well-located, close to the main street Avenida da Liberdade and to Metro.
small, but very clean, bright and cosy. Feels as home.
Excellent service, all kind of support, personally handling *they remember my name.

Room Tip: All rooms ending by 04 have an excellent panorama over the town, specially the 604
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Overall it was good, nice spacious room, very clean, good breakfast.
I would have enjoyed more if the hotel hadn't been overbooked at time of my arrival. I had to spend the first night in another hotel. Would have been very disappointing was I coming from a long haul fight. The biggest advantage was the rate. After all I was given a room with a balcony which turned out to be nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexAq61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great location, steps from Avenida and not too uphill. Good for walking/public transportation (subway stations Avenida and Marques de Pombal are few minutes away). OK for car/taxi as well. Nice neighborhood, some fancy places are steps away (Oliver, Guilty by Oliver, D'Oliva), also Cinemateca Portuguesa and Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho. Stayed there twice. Both rooms overlooked Rua Mouzinho and MEDEIROS E ALMEIDA MUSEUM (little-known museum, the former residence of Antonio Medeiros e Almeida, collection of 17th - 20th-century fine arts, great to start the day/ open Saturday mornings). Clean rooms (furniture is somewhat outdated). Nice balcony. Be ware of a tiny bathroom. I liked the breakfast - always fresh fruit (fruit salad), excellent choice of pastry (Pastéis de Nata, as many as you like!). Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IIvaanaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days.

The room is small but cozy, with a balcony. Despite the fact that the windows looked out on the street, it was quiet.

Continental breakfast, so, too, no complaints. Everything was fresh.

Breakfast is charged separately. It seems that 10 euros per person per day.

The only difficulty faced is parking. When we arrived, we parked near the hotel, and a couple of days know that this place is for the Ministry cars in the neighborhood. Well, we were not fined. The hotel itself has very few parking spaces.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a college trip the rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towel and bedding, beds really comfy. Breakfast was ok something for everyone. Staff really friendly. Bar in hotel is ok but basic only down fall no tea or coffee facilities in room

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flossfalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nacional
Hotel Nacional
#177 of 253 in Lisbon
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eduardo VII
Hotel Eduardo VII
#237 of 253 in Lisbon
1,102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#239 of 253 in Lisbon
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#236 of 253 in Lisbon
325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#164 of 253 in Lisbon
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jorge V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jorge V

Address: Rua Mouzinho da Silveira 3, Lisbon 1250-165, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $60 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jorge V 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jorge V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorge v Hotel
Jorge v Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing