We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming boutique hotel”
Review of Palacio Ramalhete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palacio Ramalhete
Ranked #36 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Palacio Ramalhete was the perfect place for our four night holiday in Lisbon. The rooms, lounges and the courtyards were beautifully decorated as befitting a merchant's palace. A very tranquil setting. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, including freshly squeezed orange juice. Food and beverages were available at all hours to enjoy in the lounges or courtyards. Recommendations for restaurants were excellent. Old Lisbon within walking distance or taxis or public transport at the doorstep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest:

First at all we want to thank to have chosen our hotel for your long trip to Europe, and we are very happy that your stay with us have been so pleasant. All your comments about our rooms, lounges and services will be very helpful for other guests, and your recommendation is very appreciate.

We hope that you have had a nice trip back home, and we will be happy to see you in the future.

With kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other members of the staff in Palácio Ramalhete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 422 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked a room in Palacio Ramalhete as a treat for the end of our long trip in Portugal.
After paying an average of 60€ for a night along our trip in lovely hotels/Quintas/flats, we expected something tremendous paying almost 3 times more.

Don't get me wrong, the hotel in general is fantastic and beautiful. The service is good with all the right manners, the pool and public spaces are lovely, the breakfast was delicious and fresh (with little problems such as burnt Croissants and badly made cappuccinos).

The standard room was quite basic and therefore disappointing, and too noisy at night. Not being able to sleep properly at night ruins the overall experience...(There was a nice river view though.)
I complained and got an apology and a compensation (that I will not be able to use but still better than nothing).
I am sure that the more expensive rooms/suits make a wonderful stay. Be prepared for a lot of stairs...

Room Tip: Room in the front was too noisy, don't expect to sleep with your window open. Lisbon's roads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veevtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your time in write your review about our hotel, and we are terrible sorry that you have had those small problems that could disappointed your stay with us. We have seen that you have given us 5 points in our service, and it is true that the hotel doesn't have a lift, because the property is 200 years old, and also is part of our charm.

We take care your considerations about the breakfast, and we want to thank you that you have found positive the compensation that we gave to you.

We hope to host you again in the future, and you can enjoy a better time with us.

Kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other members of the staff in Palácio Ramalhete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice boutique hotel with extremely nice and efficient staff. Excellent breakfast with capuchinos a go go. Beautiful old mansion in a good location within walking distance of the older parts of Lisbon. Short cab ride a bit further afield costing five or six euros the trip.

On a less positive note, bathroom a bit on the old side - tub wasn't changed during the renovation of the rooms and the pool is fine to cool off but not swim.

The quality of the service, the beautiful building and easy access to Lisbon sites make the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globilux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff and the service that they provided to you. We are sorry if you have considered a problem with the tub in the room, and your comments help us to improve this part, also the swimming pool, because we try always to keep it a average temperature, according with the requests of our guests.

We hope to have the chance to host you again in the future, and we wish you a nice trip back home.

Warmest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other members of the staff in Palácio Ramalhete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful haven in the city! Fantastic, warm, friendly staff, wonderful public areas, terrace and lovely pool. We were in rm 6 in the attic which was a quiet white-painted retreat after several days sightseeing. Can not recommend highly enough - if I could give 6 stars I would!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MAPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear MAPlane:

What a wonderful words about your stay in our hotel. For us is very proud to be consider as a 6 star hotel, and we thank you for your recommendations.

We wish o host again in the future, and you can enjoy again of a wonderful service and time in Lisboa.

Warmest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other members of the staff in Palácio Ramalhete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This charming hotel is a hidden gem in Lisbon. A bit off of the tourist routes, on a more remote street, it makes up for it's location the minute you step through the doors.
The rooms are each unique with their own history and the common areas are beautiful, an old mansion/palace really. The tile work throughout is outstanding and the patio is magical. We spent a lot of time there, for breakfast, sitting by the little pool, and just relaxing from sight seeing.
Breakfast was quite nice and they were very helpful with logistics, taxis, etc. It is quiet and romantic.
The staff is young and a bit inexperienced or just very relaxed, don't expect American organization. At first they directed us to a quite different room than we booked. But in the end we loved the place, and would certainly return again if in Lisbon.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different, make sure which one you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monty36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Mr. Monty:

Thank you very much for your time in write your review about your stay in Palácio Ramalhete. We are delight that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and mainly because you have spent a lot of time in our facility, so you might appreciate our decoration and services.

Our staff have done all their best to provide you the best comfort and if in any time we could not give you what you did expect I want to apologize for the inconveniences, but it seems that overall you have your whole stay with us.

We hope to host again in the future, and we hope that you have had a nice trip back home to US.

Warmest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other members of the staff in Palácio Ramalhete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was there with some friends for a congress. We were warmly received, the staff was very helpful and what I never experienced in a hotel, we got a guided tour by one of the staffmembers. I travel a lot, but this hotel was one of my best experiences. The room was excellent kept with an antique equipment. Nice garden, little swimmingpool, a good place to relax after an exhausting day.
I got far more than I expected.

Room Tip: I had the biggest and most beautiful space with a big sittingroom and a large bedroom. Ideal for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Anne:

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel, and more because this has been your first review in Trip Advisor, and considering that you are traveling a lot, we feel very proud of it.

We are delight that you have enjoyed the tour with us (yes, we can arrange tours for our guests personally), and it has been a pleasure to host you and your friends in Palácio Ramalhete, and we hope to see you again in the future.

With warmest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other members of the staff in Palácio Ramalhete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The Palacio Ramalhete was one of the highlights on our trip to Portugal. The place is simply beautiful with several small courtyards with flowers and typical portuguese elements a pool with view to the Atlantic. You feel like being a guest in an old Portuguese palace, everything is beautiful decorated the palace with all the portuguese tiles and lovely elements its just breathtaking. the team treated us like very special guests in a way that we felt like friends of the house. We will definetly come back to Lisbon and to the Palacio Ramalhete !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Levith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Mr. Levith:

Thank you very much for consider our hotel as one of your highlights during your stay in Lisboa. With so much places to visit and stay, to be consider one of the best part during your trip is our goal.

We did this place to remain the old Lisboa, keeping its essence in our rooms, common areas and decorations, and your comments about this help us to show other guest that the stay with us will be a wonderful experience.

We hope to host again in your next trip to Lisboa, and we wish you a nice trip back home.

With warmest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other members of the staff in Palácio Ramalhete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
976 reviews
memmo Principe Real
#28 of 255 in Lisbon
175 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#3 of 262 in Lisbon
411 reviews
Torel Palace
#11 of 262 in Lisbon
488 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Ramalhete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Ramalhete

Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 92, Lisbon 1200-692, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $165 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Ramalhete 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Lisbon’s most stylish neighborhoods, Janelas Verdes, Palacio Ramalhete is a beautiful example of 18th century Portuguese architecture, where all original features have been preserved to maintain its timeless charm.Having undergone a caring and thorough renovation, our aim was to offer our guests a taste of the authentic Portugal, tradition combined with the comfort and modern luxuries to make your stay as pleasant as possible.Our 12 rooms and suites, each with their unique features and motifs, will captivate your imagination and take you on a journey of discovery, starting from the Palacio to the narrow and colorful streets of Lisbon.Through commitment to service, privacy and wellbeing, combined with the uniqueness of the surroundings, our staff will do everything for your stay to be an unforgettable one.Lounge by our pool, tan on our sundeck , have a drink in our bar, relax in our spacious 300m2 common areas or just enjoy the sanctuary of your over sized room, enter into the mood of the Palacio Ramalhete, where all your needs and wants will be catered for. An oasis of peace in the center of Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palacio Ramalhete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing