We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palacio Ramalhete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palacio Ramalhete
Ranked #34 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marvellous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had to attend a congress, and my husband and 13 year old daughter accompanied me to Lisbon. I chose Palacio Ramalhete from booking. com based upon it's location and the reviews. And it was the right choice. The hotel is in an old palace, beautifully decorated with traditional Portuguese tiles, shabby chic style. The room and the bathroom are spacious, full of light and clean. The rest of the hotel is also very cosy and nice, with several rooms and small terraces to breakfast, or just sit and enjoy. My husband and daughter also enjoyed the pool. Breakfast is very good. The bus stations in both directions (center and congress center+Belem) are very near. And, the most important of all, the staff speaks good English, is extremely helpful and friendly. Thank you, Rodrigo & Daniela. If I have a chance to return to Lisbon, I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 1 that we stayed in is fantastic (I was told it used to be a chapel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Mrs. Marina:

We are truly happy when we have read your review about your stay with us, and give the opportunity to other visitors that we are a good chance to stay with us when your coming to Lisboa for business.

Daniela and Rodrigo want to thank you for your words about their work, and for me, as manager, is a proud to work with them too.

We are delight that you husband and daughter had enjoyed their stay also, and the time in the swimming pool and other areas in Lisboa, had been a great experience for them.

We hope to see you again in your next visit to our city.

With our warmest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other members of the staff in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    77
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
253
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very beautiful hotel in a quiet and safe area, opposite the dutch embassy, in a nice neighbourhood with excellent restaurants, bus stop in front of the door and fresh wind from the Taag.
The rooms are beautiful decorated with beautiful and antique furniture, azuros legos on the wall and very spacious. The pool is lovely situated on the roof and alying on the sofa under the palm tree is very relaxing. The breakfast was lovely, served with attention on details and of high quality.There are 3 livingrooms for guests, well decorated with comfortable chairs.
The personell is very kind, helpful and correct.
The hotel is very clean.
We spent a lovely 5 days and nights in this hotel and I can recommend this to everybody. It is also suitable for families travelling with children, because the rooms are actually suites.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XYXXXXXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are absolutely delight that you have felt a princess during your stay in our hotel. That is our idea of hospitality when you are coming to our Palacio. All descriptions that you have written will be very helpful for other guests and visitors in Lisboa, and for us have been a real pleasure to host you and serve you.

We want to thank you for recommend our hotel to your friends, and also your personal reviews about that we are also suitable for families with children.

We will wait for your next visit to Lisboa, and host you again in Palacio Ramalhete.

Kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other members of the staff in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Based on the great reviews on tripadvisor, I booked 3 nights at the Ramalhete to surprise my girlfriend. Unfortunately the whole experience didn't even come close to what I expected. I've been to a lot of luxury hotels and B&B's before and I'm really not the complaining kind of guy (check my other reviews).
First of all on first arrival we were not helped with our luggage (big suitcases, lots of stairs, no elevator), something I only experienced before at 2 star hotels or worse.
Secondly the bed in our room (which was a beautiful room btw, the old oak room) was not comfy at all, both me and my girlfriend had a hard time sleeping here and woke up with pain in our neck/body. Next to that the room was very noisy, we could even hear the people in the room next to us cough in their sleep! In the morning I had to put on some music on my laptop so we didn't had to listen to all the sounds coming out of the other rooms all the time.
Furthermore the worst part of the palacio was the overall service level and the breakfast. The whole staff seemed to be quite bored and acted really strange when asking them for simple things like a coffee in the morning or some fruits. We asked to make us some scrambled eggs which took them about 30 minutes and they tasted so bad we didn't even bother eating them, so we ended up eating breakfast at some other restaurants close to the hotel every morning.
When leaving the hotel (while I was carrying my own suitcase down the stairs AGAIN!), instead of asking me if I enjoyed my stay, the only thing that was asked if I paid my bill for the minibar already....how rude can you possible be?!

Stay far far away from this hotel......if you want a really top class experience, check my next review, a hotel that's even cheaper and absolutely will blow your mind.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iwert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Iwert:

We are very surprised about your bad experience in Palácio Ramalhete and we, as the owners of the hotel, would like to get in touch with you personally. Please contact us via email you can see in our webpage, and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

With more than 100 excellent reviews, mainly talking about our good service and the quality of our breakfast, we are obviously very surprised about your extremely bad comment. We have had only two negative reviews in 2 years, and one of them by someone who didn't even stay in our hotel.

As your case is so strange , unique and unusual, we as the owners would like to speak with you, to understand what really happened during your stay. We take all comments very serious especially the negative comments to see what we have to improve in our hotel. But in your case and due to the nature of your comments we think that only a personal contact can help us understand what really happened during your stay.

We are looking forward for your contact and hope that we can solve the problem you had with our facility and service.

Kind regards

Owners, Ralf and Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited Lisbon for the first time and after looking at many hotels we chose Palacio Ramalhete as it ticked all the boxes for us. We weren't disapointed.It is a lovely homely place, really stylish and spotlessly clean.Matching the old and the new perfectly.We had a great room at the top of the house with lots of space a comfy bed and nice bathroom with great shower.
The outside area is lovely and peaceful and well maintained and we loved using the pool and sun deck.
Breakfast excellent!!!
Also to say many thanks to Rafaela and Rodrigo who were extremely helpful with info directions and putting up with all our requests and questions, and to Lachlan for making the best G&T ever!!
We will certainly be recommending the hotel to our friends and we will be back asap.
Pete & Lisa

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aratschvatzioren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind words about the service that Rodrigo and Rafaela have given to you, and of course on behalf of Lachlad, our bartender. yes, he is very good making G&T, and other drinks!

Your comments are very important for us and we are very happy that you are going to recommend us to your friends. We hope to hist them in the near future.

Wishing to see you again in our hotel,

Warmest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other members in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Traditional building has been tastefully renovated with lovely touches like beautiful, fresh roses in the public lounges and nice books to look through.Very friendly and helpful staff. Pretty garden terraces & rooftop pool. Nice breakfasts. In a quiet area about 25 minutes walk to downtown, although public transport is very good & cheap ( as are taxis). Our room was not cleaned until late afternoon which is really the only downside to our otherwise very enjoyable stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Richard:

We are terrible sorry that we did clean your room at the end of afternoon and we are working to avoid this situation in the future. That is not part of our services and we need to be faster and efficiency in our housekeeping. But we want to thank you to notice us this part in order that we can improve our service.

Beside this point we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you have appreciated our decoration and books, and of course our breakfast in the garden.

We hope to host you again in the future, and sure without any downside in the service.

Kindest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other members in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siracusa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

i need to start by apologizing for my long overdue review because Palacio Ramalhete was truly the highlight of our stay in portugal. My husband and I and our grown children stayed at Palacio in June 2013. the house itself is beautiful and wonderfully decorated. the inner sanctum of gardens, greenery and outside spaces let you feel as though the place is yours alone. the rooms were beautiful and spacious. the breakfast was delicious and generous (fruits, cheese, coffee, pastries). The best part of our stay there was the staff. everyone made you feel at home, bent over backwards in every way possible. we arrived after an overnight stay, were tired and hungry and they put out a late breakfast for us. when in the garden area we were offered drinks and towels. everyone was so helpful and genuinely nice. I am looking forward to my next trip when i can stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 142mariannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mariannes:

Only for reading that we have been the best where you have stayed, we are fully proud that our services and attention that we always give to our guests have been enough to.

Your review about our breakfast is very good, and we are sure that helps to other guests to appreciate our quality and service.

We hope that you have had a great journey and keep us as a good memory of your trip to Portugal. We wish to host again in the future, and longer than this time.

Warmest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other staff in Palacio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon. We had a little trouble finding the entrance to the hotel, but once we found it we really enjoyed our stay. The only (small) negative is that the hotel does not have a dedicated parking lot, but it was easy to find street parking for our rental car. The staff was very attentive, friendly, and happy to assist us and suggest dinner options. The staff all spoke English (a plus for us given our limited Portuguese).

The hotel was a great place to relax and a good base for our exploration of Lisbon. The inner courtyard has a small pool and plenty of chairs/lounges. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to explore Lisbon but don't feel like staying in the more crowded and noisy tourist areas!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to request a room overlooking the inner courtyard. We avoided it based on noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leo_in_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Leo:

First at all we have been honored to host you during your honeymoon, and you have really enjoyed your stay with us.
We know that the parking sometimes is not a good point for us, because this part of LIsboa, as you well have known, was built several centuries ago, and there is not many parking places around. We are working on it, but until now we can only offer you to park your car nearby.

Our staff is always trying to be the most attentive an helpful possible and it seems that we did it with you.

We love to be a Hidden Gem, as you have written in your review, but we really appreciate that you comment about us with your friends, :-))

We wish you a wonderful live and we hope to host you in the future, maybe in one of your anniversaries.

Warmest regards

Francisco, Daniela, Rodrigo and the other members of the staff in Palácio Ramalhete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#11 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
York House
#160 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Ramalhete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Ramalhete

Property: Palacio Ramalhete
Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 92, Lisbon 1200-692, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Ramalhete 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Lisbon’s most stylish neighborhoods, Janelas Verdes, Palacio Ramalhete is a beautiful example of 18th century Portuguese architecture, where all original features have been preserved to maintain its timeless charm.Having undergone a caring and thorough renovation, our aim was to offer our guests a taste of the authentic Portugal, tradition combined with the comfort and modern luxuries to make your stay as pleasant as possible.Our 12 rooms and suites, each with their unique features and motifs, will captivate your imagination and take you on a journey of discovery, starting from the Palacio to the narrow and colorful streets of Lisbon.Through commitment to service, privacy and wellbeing, combined with the uniqueness of the surroundings, our staff will do everything for your stay to be an unforgettable one.Lounge by our pool, tan on our sundeck , have a drink in our bar, relax in our spacious 300m2 common areas or just enjoy the sanctuary of your over sized room, enter into the mood of the Palacio Ramalhete, where all your needs and wants will be catered for. An oasis of peace in the center of Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palacio Ramalhete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing