We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with pool.”
Review of Palacio Ramalhete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio Ramalhete
Ranked #35 of 238 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with pool.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with friends. The decor and rooms are lovely, as is the pool and outside areas. We paid extra for a superior room which I don't think is necessary as they are not very different from the standard one I also saw.

Overall a lovely hotel which is about 20 minute walk to the main part of town or around 6 euros in a taxi. Nice and quiet part of town.

Room Tip: Go for a standard room rather than a superior, and ask for a view of the terrace rather than the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cgbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest:

thank you very much for your time in writing your comments about your stay with us. About your comment for the difference between a Standard room and a Superior room I'd like to inform you that the reason is the view to the courtyard that you can see in the Superior Rooms, and also because are a bit bigger than the Standard.

Above all we are happy that overall your experience in our hotel had been pleasant and we hope to host you again in your next trip to Lisbon.

Kindest regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    83
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
51
261
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff-by-the-Sea
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were tremendously pleased that we chose to stay in this B&B. It is a lovely hotel, with character everywhere you look. The staff was most welcoming and the breakfast was just right. We stayed in the main suite overlooking the river. It was quite large--almost a little house! It could be a bit noisy at night, but it was worth it to us to have the view. It was easy to catch the bus to take us to sites in both directions, either to Belem or town. The staff suggested a wonderful fado restaurant that was quite close. We had a memorable evening there as well. A day trip to Sintra is another must. We can't imagine a better choice for our stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DebbietheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Mrs. Debbie:

Thank you very much for your review about your stay with us. We are delight that you have found the choice to listen Fado and your evening has been a great experience.

We hope to host again in the future,

Kindest regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The ambience of the hotel is cool chic. It is beautifully decorated and furnished and the staff go out of their way to be helpful and informative.We stayed in a suite which overlooked a busy road, but had to keep the windows closed to shut out the road noise. The big drawback of this hotel are the steps. It is unsuitable for anyone with walking difficulties. There is no lift. Access to the pool is up more steps to a very compact area completely dominated by a huge palm tree that blocks out the sun from 1pm onwards.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Philip:

Thank you for your time in write your review about our hotel. I am sorry that your experience hasn't been so grateful due to our steps, but as you can understand, and we always advice to our guests, the hotel is a house from XVII Century, and the lift is not a part of the ambience, and also because we don't have a place to put it. The only thing that we are not completely agree with you is about your comment about our sun deck because our palm tree is not blocking out the sun from 1 pm. The palm tree is big, not huge, and give a shadow only in one part of the terrace, and you can enjoy the sun around the swimming pool until more than 7 pm (in summertime). The access to the swimming pool is with stone stairs but if you consider that is too narrow we are sorry for that, but that is the first time that a guest tells us something similar.
We want to thank you also for your words about our service and staff, and for us that is very important.

We would like to host you again in the future, and in that case we will offer you another suite, but in our courtyard, that is more quiet than in the first floor.

Kindest regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

everything was perfect from the location to the service
the hotel is a magnificent old building
the breakfast is one of the best ones I ever had
it is a very personal experience and you feel like a king!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Guido:

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. The new breakfast has been our bet for this year, and it seems that we have gotten the goal.

And yes, our goal is the our guests will be the King in Palácio Ramalhete.

We hope to see you again in the future, and you can recommend us to your friends and relatives.

Kindest regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place was such a treat. Just a simple doorway off the main street, it may be hard to find at night so keep an eye on the house numbers as there is no obvious sign. We stayed in Room 2 which overlooked the patio area and had an off shoot room with a sofa, TV and desk.... it was huge! The property has so much character. We had breakfast both days on the sunny patio and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they epitomized excellent customer service. I even came back to the room and found a lovely bottle of wine that the hotel staff had put there for my birthday. The pool is lovely but be warned, it was very cold when I had a dip so not for the faint-hearted. The breakfast choice was excellent - smoked salmon, pate, lovely choice of meats & cheese. The only thing that needs to be taken in to consideration is that in Room 2, you can hear everything, particularly the inconsiderate group of girls upstairs who decided to have a party at 2am and walk around the room wearing high heels - not great on the wooden floors when you are underneath. I'm sure this isn't typical for the hotel so don't let it put you off but maybe ask for a room on the top floor if you are easily woken. All in all, we had a wonderful weekend in a gorgeous little property with very welcoming and knowledgeable staff.

Room Tip: Room 2 is very large and overlooks the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Stephanie:
First at all thank you for choosing us to spend your birthday, and for us was a pleasure to put the bottle of wine to celebrate it.

Regarding the noise with the girls in the upper floor you are right and we don't have that situation normally, even it had been the first time.
About the pool that you found it a bit cold, let me check that because we have made the maintenance during your stay and the company in charge of that confirm us that the heater pump is working perfectly, but maybe we had a problem during those days, and we didn't notice. I'd like to apologize for this. Today the temperature was fine (23º C).

Also I'd like to thank you for your pictures in your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Palacio Ramalhete was simply a wonderful place to stay in Lisbon. There are three sitting rooms, each beautifully furnished with antiques, and fresh roses in each area. Original features of the palacio have been restored, and the bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable. The rooms at the back overlook the terraced patio and pool area. The hotel is located along a bus route, giving easy access to the city centre in one direction and Belem in the other. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented in the gorgeous dining room. It was lovely to come back after a long day of walking around Lisbon and sit in one of the living rooms with a book, and have a pot of tea or a cold beer. The staff are exceptionally pleasant and helpful. They answered all our questions, gave us great recommendations for restaurants, and made sure we had some breakfast available at 5:00 a.m. before we had to leave for the airport. The only thing that might be difficult for some is that there is no elevator, so this won't work for those who have trouble with stairs.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back patio are quieter than the ones facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Kathy:

Thank you very much for your words about your stay in Palacio Ramalhete. Also about our breakfast that we have modified to put more fresh food and with a better presentation for our guests.
We serve the early breakfast always upon request but there is not a problem to us to give that service because the most important for us is the satisfaction of our guests.

We hope that you have had a nice flight back home, and we hope to host you again in the future.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a super stay at this Hotel, as all the other reviews mention. The attention to detail from the Manager Francisco is phenomenal. He is there at every turn to lend a hand, he has a wonderful manner and nothing is too big a deal for him to help with. He volunteered to park our car across from the hotel in an awkward space, recommended and booked an amazing restaurant Sea Me (that I also review), offered to change us to a superior room on our second night; he really couldn't do enough for us.

This hotel is so so charming, I have no idea why its under B and B's in Tripadvisor! Its surely a high star Hotel. It is over 200 years old in terms of architecture and has been renovated but in keeping with its priginal tiles and fearers. You really feel so relaxed here even though you are right in the centre of a busy City, that really impressed me.

The pool and lounge area raised up at the back of the garden really helps to achieve this Zen mood on youre stay. We used it each day as it was very sunny in Lisbon during our stay.This area is all brand new with a cute sized pool with beautiful old tress blowing over you. Its so chilled. It overlooks the original terraced courtyard style out door areas. Magic!

The superior room we stayed in on the 2nd night was lovely, it was HUGE and over looked the garden and pool area. There was also a door that went in to an additional desk, tv and seated area. This room so peaceful and we got a great nights sleep.

We only had a continental breakfast (there is also hot on offer) and it had a good selection. The indor and outdoor reception and lounging areas were beautifully done, inside there were high ceilngs and period features with really classy interior design, outside lovely terraced areas with candles.

This is a wonderful sanctuary that would be ideal for a special occasion, having some time out or a city break we ourselves were there on business; in theory! Enjoy!

we WILL be back....

Room Tip: not a fan of attics myself, if you're the same book a different type of room. Rooms at back ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scenarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, General Manager at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear guest:

First a all I want to thank you your words about me, but it is not only me but also our staff who could do all the best in your stay. About the parking it was only luck to find the right place, and also it was a pleasure to do it.

Your descriptions about our rooms and facilities have been very extended and all of us want to thank you for those magnificat details that you have written, that we hope to other visitor to consider Palacio Ramalhete as the best option in their trip to Lisboa.

As a Senior Contributor in Trip Advisor we are very proud to received such as wonderful comments about our hotel, and we will wait to host you again in the future.

Kindest regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#12 of 247 in Lisbon
893 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
883 reviews
York House
#158 of 247 in Lisbon
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
memmo Principe Real
#72 of 247 in Lisbon
121 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Ramalhete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Ramalhete

Property: Palacio Ramalhete
Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 92, Lisbon 1200-692, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Ramalhete 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Lisbon’s most stylish neighborhoods, Janelas Verdes, Palacio Ramalhete is a beautiful example of 18th century Portuguese architecture, where all original features have been preserved to maintain its timeless charm.Having undergone a caring and thorough renovation, our aim was to offer our guests a taste of the authentic Portugal, tradition combined with the comfort and modern luxuries to make your stay as pleasant as possible.Our 12 rooms and suites, each with their unique features and motifs, will captivate your imagination and take you on a journey of discovery, starting from the Palacio to the narrow and colorful streets of Lisbon.Through commitment to service, privacy and wellbeing, combined with the uniqueness of the surroundings, our staff will do everything for your stay to be an unforgettable one.Lounge by our pool, tan on our sundeck , have a drink in our bar, relax in our spacious 300m2 common areas or just enjoy the sanctuary of your over sized room, enter into the mood of the Palacio Ramalhete, where all your needs and wants will be catered for. An oasis of peace in the center of Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Palacio Ramalhete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing