We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking,this is the place...”
Review of Palacio Ramalhete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palacio Ramalhete
Ranked #38 of 246 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop looking,this is the place...”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Like everyone looking for a place to stay, we all do alot of research to be sure we manage our expectations.Will I get a good price ? Will it be clean and safe ? But no matter how much research we do we never know how we will feel upon arrival...the intangeable ! Let me tell everyone that Palacio Ramalhete will exceed your expectations in everyway. The room, the pool, the lounges, the complimentary breakfast, the ajoining restaurant, the proximity to the city, the personalized attention...did I mention "everything" ? Stop your searching you have found the right place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Bob:

I have only good words for you after I read your review about our Palacio Ramalhete. That is one of the best review that we have had, and all of us want to thank you for your kind words and clear explanation about our work.
This is the best reward that we can get, and we are very delight to hear from you.

We hope to host you again in the future, or maybe your friends will follow your recommendation and they will contact us directly. Just tell them that say "we are friend of Bob".

Warm regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    83
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
51
264
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently enjoyed four nights at Palacio Ramalhete, in Lisbon. We booked an executive room and were given room 1, at the front of the restored building. The room was large and beautifully decorated, with a large ensuite to one side. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfasts were delicious and filling (you can choose to eat breakfast on the private terraces behind the hotel) and the public areas of the hotel were lovely elegant and spacious. The hotel is situated on a cobbled one-way street a little way from the old city centre, but there are buses to the city on the street outside. A lot of cars also use the street during peak hour, so the rooms overlooking it (1 and 3) can be noisy if you like to leave the windows open. Rooms 1 and 3 are also adjoining, so there can be some noise through the doors from guests in the adjacent room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the private rear terraces and pool are probably quieter as there would be reduced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyFlight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear guest:

As a senior reviewer in Trip Advisor, we fully appreciate your comments about your stay in our hotel, and all your perceptions about your room 1 (Dove Room). Only one thing is to inform that the adjoining room with our Dove room is our room 5, not room 3. Our room 5 is our suite Old Oak room. As you have said, if someone leaves the windows open during the day, it could be a bit noisy but normally our guests take that time to visit Lisboa or even to stay laying in our sun deck in the swimming.
We appreciate your comments about our staff too, and we hope to host you again in the future.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

a bit hidden away. Really a nice experience to stay at the hotel. Personnel very friendly and helpfull to find the authentic Portuguese restaurants. Highly recommended. Location is close to some nice bars and restaurants. On foot you can easily go to the harbour or Center

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jentoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, General Manager at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your recommendation about our Palacio Ramalhete, and for our staff and all the things that you can see around.
We are located, not in the main city center, but as I have said, the transportation (taxis or buses) can leave you in the main touristic sites in less than 10 minutes.

I have seen than you have scored 3 points in Sleep Quality, and I would like to tell you that if you have problems to sleep in the hotel we will do our best to change the room, in your next time with us, and offer you (if we have availability) a quieter room.

Thanks again for your time in writing your review, and we hope to host you again in the future.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodríguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a very enjoyable & relaxing stay at the Palacio Ramalhete hotel. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed plus we had a view of the river. The staff were very attentive and the breakfasts a highlight. We made use of the terrace garden & small pool - good after a day's sightseeing. When we return to Lisbon we will definitely try and stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose a room at the front of the hotel for a river view - the vehicle noise on the cobbled road a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Stephen:

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel. For us is the best award if our guests have enjoyed their stay, and they want to share their experiences with more possible visitors.

We will be delight to host you again in the future.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent a wonderful time with our family ( parents and teens 12+14 y.) at the palacio.
The palacio is a very well done location, the interior designer did a very good job by keeping the old and making it comfortable and nice.
The team was wonderful. Sympathetic,helpful people- all of them.
Sure- we will come back !!
Thank you again for the wonderful week !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elisabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Elizabeth:

Thank you very much for your time in writing your review about our small Palace. Yes, we remember you and your kinds, and it was a pleasure to serve you and host you.
I will inform to our staff your kind words about them, and we hope to see you again in another trip to Lisboa.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A frequent traveller to one of my favourite world cities and the Palacio Ramalhete is one of the 'Gems of Lisbon'.
As soon as you walk through the door you step back in time to a wonderful, traditional, classy hotel. If you want to escape the hustle and bustle of modern living this is for you.... Pure relaxation!
Greeted by warm, friendly staff with a smile on their face and always willing to help and share their Lisbon experience.
We stayed in one of the attic rooms overlooking the historic Lisbon rooftops, opposite the Museum Nacional De Arte Antiga and with the distant views of the River Tagus....Addictive viewing watching the ferry crossing, cruise ships & Tallships pass your window!
Excellent buffet breakfast laid out in the traditional bar area with the option of a cooked breakfast on request.
Sadly we suffered the autumn Lisbon rain but lovely lounge areas with wonderful art, photography books to take your mind away from the weather or make the most of the free Wi-fi throughout the hotel. When the sun came out the courtyard, patio and swimming pool is a suntrap amongst lovely plants, pots, lemon tree, lavender etc Just stunning sipping a drink in this little oasis!
The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood but Santos train station is 5-10minute walk which takes you down the coast to Estoril and Cascais or back into the city with one stop to Cais de Sodre and the underground metro all within 20 minutes to the heart of the city. With the wonderful metro down at the airport we took the train and metro to the airport which only takes around 35-40minutes.

Once again a wonderful short stay and a big thank you goes to the attentive staff!

Col & Lynn, Liverpool, England UK

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Snapperlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your review about your visit to our small Palace. It was true that we had several days with a heavy rainy days, but that is part of the charm of the hotel, and you have enjoyed our living rooms, and also you had the chance to enjoy the sunny days in our small courtyard.
Thank you very much also for all the pictures that you have posted in this review, all of them are very nice and it will be help to other visitors to choose us, as a place with charm and tranquility.
I hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Francisco Rodríguez

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

First of all - this is not really a B&B (we almost did not stay there because of this "false status"); it is really a boutique hotel - and a beautiful one! (We were told that the hotel has been fighting with the Portuguese Travel Bureau/Association this status as a B&B; hopefully they get hotel status soon so they are easier to find when doing internet searches for hotels.) We had a suite, which was very lovely - with the old wood floors, tiles on the walls, plaster molding trim on the ceiling, etc. It really made you feel like you were in Portugal - unlike so many other hotels that could be almost anywhere in the world due to lack of character. The only negative was the lighting in the bathroom. I had read a previous review before going and thought the person could have been "extreme" by claiming the light was so bad, but after staying there, I have to admit, this is a correct review. At least my accidentally applied extreme make-up gave me some laughs when I saw myself later in natural light! Yes, annoying trying to see anything in the bathroom, but as the room was so nice, one ignores/forgets these things. Just don´t drop a contact lens and hope to find it!
We were only there for a weekend, but we wished we had more time to enjoy the downstairs Sitting Room - really gorgeous. The owner and employees were extremely helpful and friendly, so it was a shame when our last breakfast there went not very well. The service was extremely slow and missing/un-refilled items on the buffet bar (and there were only two tables, with 5 guests total). We would have overlooked this, as everything else had been so nice, but... the employee was so unfriendly and he had no interest to be there. He even ignored the other table, who had patiently tried asking him for something they needed for about 10 minutes. If he had really been busy, running around, I can understand. But this was not the case. As it was Easter Sunday, maybe that was why he was in such a foul mood?? (although he had been similar the day before). His sour attitude almost made me review this hotel as "very good" instead of "excellent" (as he really ruined our outstanding impression of the hotel); however, everyone else had been so nice, I figure 3 extremely helpful and friendly employees out-weigh the one "bad egg". Finally - I found the location ideal, as close enough to walk to the downtown area but still in a nice neighborhood where it is quiet and charming, with authentic restaurants within a couple minutes walk. I would stay at this hotel again and would suggest it to any friends or family going to Lisbon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ExpatriateNomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco R, Director General at Palacio Ramalhete, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your review about your stay with us in April. After I have read carefully your comments about Palacio Ramalhete I would like to tell you that we are putting a new make-up mirror in the rooms, not only in the Ramalhet Suite (where you have said that it was your room) but also in other rooms in the hotel, so I'm sure that in next visit to Lisboa you can see that change in the rooms.
Regarding the bad attitude of one of our employees I have to say that we had noticed that during those dates, and that person is not working with us any more since middle of April.

Finally I would like to expalin you that Palacio Ramalhete is a "Alojamento Local", not a hotel. That is a portuguese calification for establishment like ours, so I think that someone inform you wrong about that we were waiting for a cualification as hotel. That is a category that only exist in Portugal, and that is the reason that you have found us as B&B. But we really appreciate your review abotu that Palacio Ramalhete is like a boutique place where the staff is always friendly and trying to do our best to offer you the best service.

I hope that we can host you again in the future, and you get even a better impression about our services and rooms.

Kind regards

Francisco Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#13 of 248 in Lisbon
911 reviews
memmo Principe Real
#70 of 248 in Lisbon
130 reviews
York House
#158 of 248 in Lisbon
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
898 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
521 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio Ramalhete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Ramalhete

Property: Palacio Ramalhete
Address: Rua das Janelas Verdes 92, Lisbon 1200-692, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio Ramalhete 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of Lisbon’s most stylish neighborhoods, Janelas Verdes, Palacio Ramalhete is a beautiful example of 18th century Portuguese architecture, where all original features have been preserved to maintain its timeless charm.Having undergone a caring and thorough renovation, our aim was to offer our guests a taste of the authentic Portugal, tradition combined with the comfort and modern luxuries to make your stay as pleasant as possible.Our 12 rooms and suites, each with their unique features and motifs, will captivate your imagination and take you on a journey of discovery, starting from the Palacio to the narrow and colorful streets of Lisbon.Through commitment to service, privacy and wellbeing, combined with the uniqueness of the surroundings, our staff will do everything for your stay to be an unforgettable one.Lounge by our pool, tan on our sundeck , have a drink in our bar, relax in our spacious 300m2 common areas or just enjoy the sanctuary of your over sized room, enter into the mood of the Palacio Ramalhete, where all your needs and wants will be catered for. An oasis of peace in the center of Lisbon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Palacio Ramalhete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing