We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to get to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
Ranked #226 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is in a good location to get to the airport yet it is still in town. Some construction is happening in the square out front so it is a bit difficult to see it. The gentleman at the front desk was quite helpful. I stayed in the hotel just for a night to get to the airport early in the morning after a week-long holiday in the Algarve.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 369 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you like the smell of raw sewage in your hotel bathroom/toilet, then this is the hotel for you. If you like ineffective air-conditioning in your hotel room during the summer months then this is the hotel for you. If you like the sound of doors being banged shut well into the early hours of the morning then this is the hotel for you too. For a hotel with the number of rooms that it had, there was just 1 pathetically small lift.

The breakfast, if you can call it that, was as unappetizing as it was hot. If you like eggs, they come at an extra charge.

All in all, a hotel to be avoided!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

lift out of order, were promised parking space in description, this however not available due to subway being built outside hotel. On advice from receptionist we parked elsewhere with parking ticket, but were later informed that this was not necessary in weekends. (We arrived on a Saturday) Were informed when buying room that breakfast was included. However this luxury did not apply to our specific room, we were informed in the morning in the reception. ???
Rate from airport about 7 - 8 euros, but all taxidrivers try to extract double that from you. (Not fault of hotel:-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed for two nights at the beginning of a holiday elswhere in Portugal and three night at the end.
Both times, checking in wasn't a problem with helpful and patient staff. The rooms aren't big, but they are clean and comfortable. Breakfast at the cafe next door, included in our price, is good.
The area is attractive with an abundance of pastelarias and restaurants nearby, Metro on the doorstep and a frequent bus service to the centre. What was really appealing was the cross section of tourists of all ages and natinalities. Good atmoshere and a welcoming place which is definitely worth the money.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you, ask for a room at the back overlooking the car park for residents of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed for a night only in July 12, the hotel is very convenient as it's close to the airport (taxi cost around 7 eur, 10 min) and the Areeiro metro station is just across the street. The hotel is located in an aged building and the room (mine was on the 5th floor) seemed it haven't received any kind of renovation work in a long time. The room had a strong odor of cleaning products, the furniture was very old-fashioned and the bed could be more comfortable. Worst part was the toilette: tiny (barely fits one person) and had no window. The room had a good-size TV, well working air conditioning. Wifi was available at the reception only. Breakfast was definitely the best part as it was served in a nice and cozy next-door cafe. Overall, it was ok as I had a early morning flight out of Lisbon and the convenience paid off, but if I had to do it again I would choose a different place.

Room Tip: Ask for a top-floor room as the roundabout in front of the hotel can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtettamanzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel is very well located, close to the airport and not even 200m from the metroline that takes you to the city centre in 10 minutes. It is located on the corner of two busy streets but we did not have much noise coming in.

The staff is very friendly and will try to help you in any way they can.

Breakfast was basic but ok. It was served in the pub next door but you could sit outside and enjoy the morning sun.

The rooms were big enough and clean. The only negative things are that the rooms are outdated and the carpet was quite worn and the shower was horrible! The shower was very very small and had a shower curtain that stuck to you everytime you moved in the shower.

Room Tip: If you are easily disturbed by traffic, ask for a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Arrived the Pensao with my wife mid afternoon to the sound of an ambulance tearing through the roundabout a few feet away. The desk was courteous and efficient, giving us a key to our room at the far end of the 1st-floor hallway. The hall was dark and musty, The room, upon opening the door, was heavily deodorized, but not sufficiently to mask the oppressive pall of cigarette odor from prior occupant(s). We took the floor fan and placed it up against the window to ventilate without much effect. Another ambulance went screaming by. We decided to take a nap, and to shower before. The plastic shower liner was moldy, and the bathroom smelled of urine. The carpet was badly stained, to the point that we chose to walk about in our slippers to avoid contact. We layed down on our twin beds. The sheets were worn, and a plastic cover sheet had been placed on the mattress (you sweat...). We endured for about an hour, then another ambulance went by (the roundabout is on a a feeder to a major hospital). Talked to the desk about moving us to another room, but they were full. Management was understanding when we indicated our desire to leave immediately, and we were not charged for the room.

Room Tip: Major motivator in choosing this pensao was price - 45 Euros. Sometimes you get what you pay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredrikkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Residencia Mar dos Acores
#232 of 255 in Lisbon
293 reviews
Residencial Horizonte
#201 of 255 in Lisbon
315 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#156 of 255 in Lisbon
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residencial O Paradouro
#154 of 255 in Lisbon
240 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
#225 of 255 in Lisbon
72 reviews
Hotel A. S. Lisboa
#149 of 255 in Lisbon
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Lar do Areeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Lar do Areeiro

Address: Praca Francisco Sa Carneiro 4, Lisbon 1000-159, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $34 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Lar do Areeiro 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residencial Lar do Areeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Lar Do Areeiro Hotel Lisbon
Residencial Lar Do Areeiro Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing