We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Lisbon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Lisbon
Ranked #50 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of August 2013. It's modern, clean and professional. The rooms were a generous size and we had a very comfortable stay. One extra special gesture was the complimentary sparkling wine and chocolate cake delivered to our room on the evening of my birthday, this must have been noticed when we checked in.

The location is good as long as you don't mind an uphill walk from the centre. We didn't find there was any noise disturbance which was perfect.

The notable minor downsides were the lack of kettle in our bedroom. Along with the cost of the amenities.

Overall we would stay at the hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mangoandcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    810
    158
    49
    31
See reviews for
381
1,168
109
369
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is an absolutely gorgeous hotel. Very friendly staff. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well proportioned. The reception area is impressive. The dining area is super also as is the bar. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olive3591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2/15/14-2/18/14. Lovely large room, quiet (facing back of hotel), great value & centrally located to all of Lisbon's attractions. Walking distance from Marques de Pombal (tour bus starting point) and metro stop. Less than 30 min ride from the Lisbon airport by metro or a 20€ cab ride if you use the metered fare option. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelChica212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Me and my boyfriend went Lisbon for valentines weekend. the hotel staff was lovely and helpful the room was amazing and so was the bathroom and its very close to the city centre easy access to go around.
All I wish is that the hotel could give us more different choose in food in the restaurants all they had was fish and meat

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemesha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ribeiro93, General Manager at InterContinental Lisbon, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback.We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for a conference. The experience was distinctly average. Twice during my stay my room was not serviced in spite of leaving the sign on the door stating that i was out. The floor in the bedroom wasn't vaccuumed properly for 2 days. Food was not good. Our first morning we had breakfast in the restaurant. The 'hot' buffet was cold. This happened all through our stay for all meals. The hotel used paraffin burners under the food but they were insufficient in keeping the food warm and the smell permeated the whole area. One of my colleagues is coeliac and in spite of notifying the event organisers in advance the hotel could not supply gluten free bread at any stage during our stay. The staff were polite and helpfu but not overly friendlyl.The location was good and within walking distance of a lot of shops. Next time I'm in Lisbon? I'll stay at another hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ykealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ribeiro93, General Manager at InterContinental Lisbon, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
I cannot say I read your feedback without surprise .As you mention several situations, which are really very new to me, I would like to suggest that you contact me directly to my email, that can be found in the hotel's site, so that I really can take the adequate measures with my team.I do apologize for the poor experience and ask to be given the opportunity to correct it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a short vacation of 7 days after Christmas.
Pros: The hotel was localized in a safe neighborhood, next to Hilton, walking distance from a big mall where we could find a store to buy the water. We had about 20 minutes walking to that store that had all the groceries. It was also walking distance from a metro station that we use to take all the time for convenience. we booked our trip very late about 2 weeks before leaving so it was difficult to find a better one.
Cons: The hotel was not well kept, the carpets were dirty, the rooms small but that was OK because we were out most of the time. There was no coffee maker in the room, and that was a huge inconvenience for us, we drink tea often and it was difficult to not have it handy. Also the breakfast was very pricy and they would not serve only tea or coffee if you wanted to. You had to have the whole meal. It was hard to find a good breakfast place around that hotel area. There were not many coffee shops opened. In terms of restaurants we had to walk ourselves to find some, the concierge, although they tried to be polite, gave us only very expensive recommendations. We found a Tibetan restaurant close about 10 minutes by walking around with very good food, and reasonably priced.
After walking through Lisbon I would not pick that area for my next stay. I would choose something closer to the mall or would stay in the modern part of the city close to the water.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ribeiro93, General Manager at InterContinental Lisbon, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
I was quite surprised to read the feedback provided.Undoubtedly we are a walk away from the metro and not in the very centre of Lisbon, although you lose that feeling when looking out of the bedroom window - slighly higher you trace all downtown and the river from there.
But most importantly I wanted to tell you that we have a light breakfast formula in our bar, quite inexpensive including hot drinks and danish, and of course we serve just coffee or tea either at room service, restaurant or bar.I do apologize if you were mistakenly informed and look forward to welcoming you again at Tiara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Well located with great staff who were both friendly and helpful with excellent Englibreakfast very good with a wide range of buffet options and good coffee. Two things would have made my stay just right. : stop the awful Muzak in the dining room and don't give single travellers twin single beds. The second bed is useless and a double always appreciated.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LordH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ribeiro93, Manager at InterContinental Lisbon, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your great feed back and also for your suggestions that we will use to improve our service.See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#32 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lisbon

Property: InterContinental Lisbon
Address: Rua Castilho, 149, Lisbon 1099-034, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Eduardo VII Park, Marques de Pombal Square and the luxurious Avenida da Liberdade, InterContinental Lisbon sits at the heart of Lisbon society. With discreet refinement, contemporary design and expansive views of the Tagus river, this stylish new addition is the ultimate choice for experiencing Lisbon. Experience Portuguese heritage from the cosmopolitan flavours at L'Appart restaurant to the exemplary service of our concierge team, who will help you bring insider Lisbon to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing