We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Lisbon
Ranked #50 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
401 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights prior to boarding a Wind Star cruise. Hotel is upscale in design and service. It deserves a five star rating. Very lush linens and bath amenities. The only draw back for us was that there was no outdoor area to sit and enjoy the view of the city. It is located on a hill so the walk back could be difficult after a long day of sightseeing. Skip the restaurant for breakfast, visit local cafes instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the park or river...it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy011351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    820
    161
    49
    31
See reviews for
388
1,183
110
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a visit to Lisbon and wasn't disappointed. The hotel is very nice, rooms good and the staff very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast was a big disappointment though, very little choice and everything cold.
The location of the hotel is quiet but close enough to the main attractions and night life areas, but not too close. We chose to walk most places but taxis are very cheap and the metro is very close by so very easy to get around.
The concierge was very helpful with recommending where to go and we were able to purchase tickets to the Aquariam (would recommend) at the hotel which if you are going I would recommend you doing as the queues can be quite long.
Really enjoyed our stay here and really liked Lisbon

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tipptop_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is great and deserves a 5 star rating. Especially the beds are very comfortable and very spacious. The check in desk could be better located as you really have to look for it. Also this 5 star hotel should get a swimming pool as summers in Portugal can be quite warm. The breakfast is really amazing and you have a lot of choice. The location of the hotel is quite okay, a cab will take you to the main streets in about 3 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego_Caeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Previously a regular visitor to this hotel for business travel and was more than happy to recommend it. Stayed in September for a personal leisure trip.

Normally I chose to stay at Lisbon city centre (near Roisso) for leisure but based on the pleasant experience I had during my business trip I decided to give Tiara a try. It turned out to be a fantastic choice.

I am a light sleeper and the problem with city centre hotel is the traffic noise. Tiara hotel is extremely quiet, yet it is only about 5-10 minute walk into the shopping and dining area. The walk itself was very pleasant and not a hard work at all. The rooms are well equipped, with probably the best view of Lisbon from your window. The rooms are bright and airy, which is what you need in a city full of sunshine.

Service in the hotel has been consistently good. I was especially impressed with the breakfast. Tania was the waitress serving our table and she was very friendly and caring. This is also the case to all the breakfast staff in the restaurant. What a way to start your day with good choice of food and a smile! I also had a lunch at the hotel restaurant with friends and everyone was very happy with the food and service. I read some previous comment on the high price of breakfast. In fact during my trips in Portugal I feel it’s good value for money – a lot of bread, cooked food, cold food, various juice (love the watermelon juice) and fresh juices, sparkling wine. It’s lavish!

I have no hesitation recommending this hotel for both business and leisure purpose. This is the place that you feel comfortable and keep coming back.

Room Tip: Get an executive room with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jtung74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and were delighted. Our room was clean, classy, and spacious. The staff were also helpful and knowledgeable. They also have a business center with free internet access (my husband and I traveled stayed at two other hotels in Portugal as we were traveling cross-country and in London) and all our other hotels charged for usage. The hotel is situated a bit on a hill and unless walking was difficult for someone, we didn't mind it at all because you walk down a main road which is quite pretty and has lots of shopping. It was about 10 min. to the old town. Taxis to just about anywhere from the hotel were 5 euros. The only downside to the hotel was the cost of the breakfast (10 euros for sliced meat, breads and jams) and increasingly more for other items. Besides that, we loved it and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I had booked an Executive Suite (When my wife and I travel we like to do it infrequently but in style) and I was absolutel gutted to be told that the room was not available. How the hell can a hotel not meet the contractual obligation that we entered into 3 months ago? Luckily we were upgraded as a result into a Junior Executive Room, I didn't really care, I just wanted a separate sleeping and relaxing area (love is one thing but come one snoring is another). The room was absolutely fantastic, a separate living area with large lounge, separate business area and a chaise longue to boot. Two tv's two mini bars and a super bathroom all added to the sense of luxury.
We decided to breakfast away from the hotel, based on previous reviews about the price, and found some pretty nice food but to be honest after eating at the hotel at breakfast two days out of 5 we both decided that to go elsewhere was a false economy. Even the Continental breakfast at 10 € plus was nicer than walking for a substandard breakfast elsewhere.
Following colleague advisors reviews we decided to eat in one night and have the 'taster menu' with wines at €49 per person. It was absolutely incredible. I'm a bit of a fat person and like a good amount of volume in my food but found myself not only thrilled with the taste of the dishes but also quite pleasantly full at the conclusion. The quality was fantastic!!!! I'm not a wine drinker by nature, preferring good beers, I had a pint of ' Super Bock' ' as an aperitf, which was well received. I have to say that the wines were superb. My wife, normally very abstemious with alcohol loved each of the wines, to the extent that we searched supermarkets for similar wines, loved the selections of the waiter. In short Go For It !

With one day to spare we decided to visit the town of 'Sintra'. The concierge advised that we take a priVate tour, something I viewed with terror both in respect to price but also liking to do my 'own thing' The cost of two of us on a tour bus was only slightly less than the €170 that the 'Concierge' at the hotel advised we pay for a private Mercedes Car and a driver/guide. It was money well spent as Paolo, our guide/driver, was knowledgeable, fun and a constant source of information. I highly advise this tour!!!

I will review different restaurants etc in other posts but as far as I am concerned the hotel is perfectly positioned, most cab fares are €6 or less to all parts of th citiy, quiet and with a great view.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonUKPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We got a good deal when booking at the Tiara Park Atlantic and we definitely got our money's worth out of it. I would not, however, call it a 5-star hotel. All of the little things that you would expect from a 5-star place just weren't quite right (e.g., the pedal to lift the trashcan lid didn't work, the towel bar would fall off, etc.). It is also located near the top of the hill. Thus, walking to the old town area is doable, but walking back (especially after a meal) was not the funnest thing I ever did!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Liberdade
PortoBay Liberdade
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#43 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Lisbon

Property: InterContinental Lisbon
Address: Rua Castilho, 149, Lisbon 1099-034, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#25 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Eduardo VII Park, Marques de Pombal Square and the luxurious Avenida da Liberdade, InterContinental Lisbon sits at the heart of Lisbon society. With discreet refinement, contemporary design and expansive views of the Tagus river, this stylish new addition is the ultimate choice for experiencing Lisbon. Experience Portuguese heritage from the cosmopolitan flavours at L'Appart restaurant to the exemplary service of our concierge team, who will help you bring insider Lisbon to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Tiara Park Atlantic Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing