We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frade dos Mares

Frade dos Mares
Reserve with
Frade dos Mares is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 3,811 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Delightfull, savoring proposals of fish, meat and vegetarian dishes in a welcoming, peaceful atmosphere.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Although I was expecting it to be good, I was happily surprised.
Excellent food, excellent service.
Excellent value for money.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fjgcorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,243
    342
    82
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner in this restaurant. Although the interior is a bit cold (modern could be another word to describe it ;), the staff was very warm and helpful. The housewine was excellent and the main course (local dish of octopus from the oven with potatoes and lots of garlic) was superb!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nut_was_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Aside from the almost familiar enviroment, that captivates you on the spot, the food is superb! If you are travelling to Lisbon, a visit to the "Frade do Mares" restaurant is mandatory.
To the staff I'd say: "Congatulations and keep up the good work!"
Cheers

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EuricoFrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
1 review
“Cool, Relaxing and Excelente food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Been there several times and alwyas the best result, fantastic ambient, nice people serving and the food is the "mus" for all of it. From fish dishes, always fresh, delicate recipies and amazing taste...For meat, also wonderful and a very pleasant wine card. Deserts? the final touch, delightfull and fantastic...I come back evry time i can.

Pedro

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulous food in the Santos design district”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

While shopping for furniture at Paris Sete in the Santos design district we stopped by chance at a wonderful small restaurant frade dos mares.
The waiter was extremely friendly and helpful in guiding us through the menu suggesting wine pairings for each course and splitting our choices so we each of us could try what the other had chosen.
We had grilled salmon in an orange and chive reduction cooked to perfection paired with a side of local vegetables diced and done as a ratatouilli, we then had the best octopus I have eaten in Portugal, done to mouth watering perfection in olive oil and caramelized garlic- lots of garlic! with tiny roast potatoes, the kind of dish you find on nearly every menu in Portugal but by the chefs magic it was raised to a new high.
Finally we were tempted by a belgian white chocolate and orange mousse to finish
Cost with wine 50 Euros for two
Will certainly be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidadamso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frade dos Mares also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Frade dos Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing