We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but would have expected more for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Ranked #111 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ok but would have expected more for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great location, very close to the airport and about 10 mins from the centre of Lisbon.

Hotel was fine but overpriced. The bathroom was clean and what you would expect from a four star hotel.

Room was ok if a little cramped and the view wasn't great. Our view overlooked the railway station opposite.

Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that, however I would imagine that it would be quite expensive.

We paid for hotel parking which cost 12.50 euros a night. If you wanted to use the internet in your room, there was also a charge for this, however there were PCs in the lobby which were free.

I would say our stay here was average and I would probably not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river, not on the railway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbiKuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    1,628
    626
    154
    58
See reviews for
807
603
170
1,580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Although it's outside Lisboa city center, the communication by train is very good. It's very close to the congress area and just in front of a big commercial center and with many restaurants around.
The rooms are standard size of a business hotel. Quite new and nice bar. The main problem is the noise from the train station that is located just in front of the hotel. Don't choose the rooms with views to the station.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JL_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We love Lisbon but only had one night there this time for a connecting flight the next day. The Tivoli Oriente was the perfect choice. Perfectly situated in the modern part of Lisbon close to the Vasco Da Gama bridge. We had a family room, which meant two double rooms with a connecting door and this at an incredibly interesting price. The rooms were big and even had a recycling bin, first time I see this in a hotel and great for the recycling fan I am.
The hotel is only at three metro stations from the airport, a shopping center is close by just like the science museum and plenty of other interesting sites which are at walking distance. The old part of Lisbon can be reached by metro or a quick cab drive takes you there along the Tage.
We only had one night unfortunately and no time to use the swimming pool but we took the time to have a look at it. It is is smaller than what it seems on the hotel's site, but perfectly clean. If the weather is nice you can get a tan whilst watching the train pass by, an interesting alternative for once on a sun deck.
The bathrooms were reasonably big and the small amplify mirror had a soft constant light around it which helps enormously when you need a trip to the loo in the middle of the night; you find it without turning on the light. In the bath tub was a small alarm to be pulled which can be extremely practical if a person has a problem in the bath (obviously we did not test it and have no idea who would have been alerted).
We only had a short encounter with the receptionist staff but on arrival and on departure they were doing a good job. We'll definitely be back, for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very well located, near the Metro (underground) Taxis, Bus Rail...etc etc. Book in advance via their website, in advance, where you can have the best deals. Prices at Hotel desk are much more expensive. Huge food option at breakfast. Hotel restaurant very expensive we did not try it. You can just cross the road to Centro Comercial Vasco da Gama, where you have a big variety of restaurants from Fast Food to good Restaurants. The hotel swimming pool its small but really nice for a quick dive by the end of the day. All staff where really friendly and keen to help you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosePepeMaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
312 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Location
Located about 5-7 minutes drive from the airport. There is a major train station and metro station with steps of the hotel as well as a large shopping mall. The general area is quite pleasant by the river with some restaurants and bars with many shops. It's generally a modern business district with modern designed buildings and closeby is a nice river walk with cable cars- this is the area where the expo '98 took place so there are some modern large conference centres. To get to centre of Lisbon where all the attractions are it takes about 15 minutes in a cab (around 10 Euro's) or Bus which takes about 35 minutes.
Room
The room is quite a contrast to the actual hotel lobby and building. Whilst the lobby looks very boutique and modern the room is complete opposite - with decor that resembles an old english hotel - flowery curtains, wooden cabinets and large lamps. In simple terms there is nothing much modern about the room other than the large samsung flat screen TV. However the double bed though was comfortable and the room is clean. The main issue I had was lack of available plugs (only behind the TV - which was quite inconvenient when using a computer on the bed) however I just unplugged one of the lamps. The room is basically old and somewhat bland- there is no alarm clock which is rare these days- however there is a modern coffee machine and safe. The bathroom though is quite spacious but only offers a bath/shower combo but also a toilet, bidet and hair dryer. There was a good supply of hotel branded amenities. The air con worked ok but again is quite old. Overall the room was quite disappointing for a business standard hotel- although it is just about adequate - the lack of plugs and somewhat limited desk space to work makes it quite unsuitable.
Facilities
The hotel offer WIFI for free only if you sign up to their membership program which requires no more hassle than filling out a form. It works fast with no issues. The hotel offers some nice leisure facilities of a pool, sauna and turkish bath- although inside, there is a sun deck outside to relax on and watch the large trains go by at the station. There is a restaurant downstairs that offers meat dishes (and think it might be Brazillian influenced- but didn't fully check it out). There is also a bar and some computers in the lobby to use.
Breakfast was fairly good standard of both continetental and cooked with plenty of choices
Staff
The front desk staff are really helpful, specifically the female member whom was very helpful with offering a map and providing bus times to the centre of Lisbon as well as recommending restaurants- other staff though seem friendly and enthusiastic and in all the staff are very nice at this hotel.
Overall its a adequately decent hotel if you need to be close to the airport and or major train station. However if I visited Lisbon again - I would much prefer to stay closer to the centre of lisbon where all the attractions and it seems like a lively city at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Rooms and bed: no problems, good to sleep. Clean. I was on the 12th and 14th floors (room changed because of smoking problems on the 12th floor)

Internet is expensive, but works very well.

The location is right next to Oriente station, which is also close to the airport, and in front of a massive mall. Breakfast is very good for a buffet.

Service: the annoying part. The hotel simply wants to fleece you each time you make a request at the reception.

"Can I please pick up a spoon"?
" Please use room service, (charges 5 euros to deliver an empty cup!)"

"Can I please get a cup of hot milk to take to my room"
"We cannot do that. Please use room service !!"

Room Tip: higher floor, facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khandelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
321 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent but one night here, and found it to be a nice business hotel, albeit with few amenities. Easy access using the metro from the airport and with the train and bus station right outside, a perfect location to connect to other parts of Portugal. The room was well appointed, beds comfy. Hotel staff were well trained and friendly. Breakfast buffet in the room price was the best of our 3 weeks in Portugal. The large galleria shoipping mall 50 meters away was convneient and a great place to get our Orage wifi data sim card for our iphones, and the large grocery store was great for drinks and food for the train, Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the train station that is near the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Parque das Nacoes
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
#83 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria dos Olivais
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
VIP Executive Arts Hotel
#181 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Oriente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Oriente Hotel

Property: Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Address: Avenida Dom Joao II 27 | Parque Das Nacoes, Lisbon 1990-079, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#36 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#87 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#89 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Oriente Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning view out over the river and Parque das Nacoes (former Expo site), this 4-star Lisbon hotel reflects the energy, technology, art and friendliness of Lisbon today. Excellent for business meetings or weekend breaks, the Tivoli Oriente can be easily reached from any part of the city or further away by using the Gare do Oriente train station, and it is 5 minutes from Lisbon airport. Take time out to enjoy the magnificent features of this stunning Parque das Nacoes hotel, close to MEO Arena, including the indoor swimming pool, the welcoming Tivoli Caffe Oriente and the Hippopotamus Grill Restaurant, the perfect place for fans of the best in grilled meat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Oriente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Oriente Lisbon
Hotel Tivoli Oriente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing